Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

AMA Superbike Road Atlanta Results

Sunday, August 31, 2008
Aaron Yates captured the AMA Superstock Series with a valiant ride in front of his hometown fans on Sunday at Road Atlanta in Braselton  Georgia.
Aaron Yates captured the AMA Superstock Series with a valiant ride in front of his hometown fans on Sunday at Road Atlanta in Braselton, Georgia.
Michael Jordan knows a thing or two about championships but now the NBA legend can add an AMA number-1 plate to the mantle, as rider Aaron Yates claimed the satellite Jordan Suzuki squad's first ever AMA championship.

Geoff May took the win for the Jordan Suzuki squad in the Road Atlanta AMA Superstock race, with teammate Aaron Yates taking second. M4 EMGO Suzuki's Blake Young rounded out the podium.

Honda's Jake Holden was fourth on the day, followed by Suzuki privateer Ryan Elleby.

"I'm really excited to give Michael and his Jordan Suzuki team their first championship," said Yates. "My guys Rich, Karl, Pete, Ryan, DJ, Jesse, Chris W. and the rest of the crew have all been great, my Suzuki GSX-R1000 has been awesome and we've had a blast!"

Road Atlanta Superstock Results
1 Geoff May Suzuki GSX-R1000
2 Aaron Yates Suzuki GSX-R1000
3 Blake Young Suzuki GSX-R1000
4 Jake Holden Honda CBR1000RR
5 Ryan Elleby Suzuki GSX-R1000
6 Ben Thompson Suzuki GSX-R1000
7 Chris Ulrich Suzuki GSX-R1000
8 Chris Caylor Suzuki GSX-R1000
9 Hawk Mazzotta Suzuki GSX-R1000
10 Seth Starnes Suzuki GSX-R1000

AMA Superstock Championship Points
Just when it looked like Mladin was unbeatable  Ben Spies came out and smoked him in Race 2 to solidify his grip on the championship.
Just when it looked like Mladin was unbeatable, Ben Spies came out and smoked him in Race 2 to solidify his grip on the championship.

1 A. Yates 310
2 J. Holden 269
3 G. May 255
4 B. Young 233
5 C. Peris 184

AMA Superbike Race 2

Although Mat Mladin's quest for an unprecedented seventh AMA Superbike title seemingly over, teammate Ben Spies is still not resting on his laurels. The Young Texan got back on top of his elder teammate with a Sunday victory at Road Atlanta. Joining the two factory Suzukis on the podium was none other than third Yosh rider, Tommy Hayden.

The Yoshimura bikes have been the subject of intense scrutiny of late, with all three being picked over by AMA officials but nothing could stop the 1,2,3 finish at R.A. Following the Zooks was Honda rider Miguel Duhamel in fourth, with Yamaha's Jason DiSalvo and Eric Bostrom in the five and six spots. Duhamel's American Honda teammate, Neil Hodgson was seventh.

Mladin actually held the lead throughout much of the Sunday affair before Spies was able to track down the Aussie and dispatch him for the win. With the victory Spies can focuses on the Indianapolis GP, where the two-time AMA SB champ will ride for the Rizla Suzuki squad.

As it now stands, Spies has a remarkable 101-point advantage after the AMA disqualified Mladin's VIR victories. Even if the decision is overturned upon appeal, Spies is still up on his rival by 17 points.
Riders snake through the bends of the Road Atlanta course.
AMA Superbike at Road Atlanta

AMA Superbike Road Atlanta Sunday Results
1 Ben Spies Suzuki GSX-R1000
2 Mathew Mladin Suzuki GSX-R1000
3 Tommy Hayden Suzuki GSX-R1000
4 Miguel DuHamel Honda CBR1000RR
5 Jason DiSalvo Yamaha YZF-R1
6 Eric Bostrom Yamaha YZF-R1
7 Neil Hodgson Honda CBR1000RR
8 Aaron W. Yates Suzuki GSX-R1000
9 Matt D. Lynn Honda CBR1000RR
10 Geoff May Suzuki GSX-R1000

AMA Superbike Championship Points
1 B. Spies 620
2 M. Mladin 519
3 J. DiSalvo 440
4 J. Hacking 421
5 E. Bostrom 420

Josh Hayes has been on a tear recently  winning the Formula Xtreme and Supersport races in Atlanta.
Josh Hayes has been on a tear recently, winning the Formula Xtreme and Supersport races in Atlanta.
AMA Formula Xtreme Results

Erion Honda's Josh Hayes won his third consecutive Formula Xtreme race Saturday at Road Atlanta. But it wouldn't be enough to prevent his teammate and runner-up Jake Zemke from winning the championship.

Hayes and Zemke battled for most of the race with Hayes eventually edging out this years Formula Xtreme champ by less 0.5 seconds. A distant third, over 7 seconds behind the Erion Honda riders was M4 EMGO Suzuki's Martin Cardenas, who finished in front of the Attack Kawasaki's of Steve Rapp and Chaz Davies.

AMA Formula Xtreme Race Results:

1. Josh Hayes, Honda CBR600RR
2. Jake Zemke, Honda CBR600RR
3. Martin Cardenas, Suzuki GSX-R600
4. Steve Rapp, Kawasaki ZX-6R
5. Chaz Davies, Kawasaki ZX-6R
6. Larry Pegram, Ducati 848
7. Aaron Gobert, Honda CBR600RR
8. Michael Beck, Yamaha YZF-R6
9. Taylor Knapp, Yamaha YZF-R6

AMA Formula Xteme Championship Points:
1. Zemke, 299
2. Hayes, 254
3. Rapp, 249
4. Pegram, 240
5. Gobert, 202
2008 AMA Superbike Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Superbike Point Standings
AMA Superbike Race One Results
Mladin tied Spies  record for consecutive AMA Superbike victories with his seventh win in a row.
Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Mat Mladin claimed his 71th win today during Saturday's 25-lap AMA Superbike race. Mladin led the entire duration of the race crossing the finish line over 5 seconds ahead of teammate Ben Spies.

"I'd like to thank my Rockstar Makita Suzuki crew for working so hard and giving me a good bike in the GSXR1000," said Mladin. "Today, it was a good race for us, though it was fairly uneventful. Ben got the meatball flag (because of the AMA penalty) and I just put it on cruise control and brought it home. Hopefully, we'll have a better race for the fans tomorrow."

AMA Superbike Sunday Race 2 Results:
1. Mat Mladin, Suzuki GSX-R1000
2. Ben Spies, Suzuki GSX-R1000
3. Tommy Hayden, Suzuki GSX-R1000
4. Aaron Yates, Suzuki GSX-R1000
5. Eric Bostrom, Yamaha YZF-R1
6. Jason DiSalvo, Yamaha YZF-R1
7. Miguel Duhamel, Honda CBR1000RR
8. Geoff May, Suzuki GSX-R1000
9. Ben Thompson, Suzuki GSX-R1000
10. Matt Lynn, Honda CBR1000RR
AMA Superbike Rider Bios
Ben Bostrom
Ben Bostrom has truly rode his way to international stardom. After winning the hearts of American race fans, Ben took his show overseas.
Larry Pegram Bio
Larry Pegram was born in Columbus Ohio and has been racing as a professional since 1988.
Jake Zemke Bio
All the hard work paid off in 2008 when Jake won his first AMA Superbike series championship by claiming the Formula Xtreme title that has eluded him for all these years.
AMA Supersport Results
The Supersport podium included winner Josh Hayes  runner-up Jake Zemke and third-place finisher Ben Bostrom.
Erion Honda's Josh Hayes ran another strong race aboard the CBR600RR, with the Gulfport, Mississippi, rider collecting a win at Road Atlanta. Hayes was joined on the R.A. Supersport podium by teammate Jake Zemke and Yamaha's Ben Bostrom.

AMA Supersport Road Atlanta Results:
1 Josh Hayes Honda CBR600RR
2 Jake Zemke Honda CBR600RR
3 Ben Bostrom Yamaha YZF-R6
4 Martin Cardenas Suzuki GSX-R600
5 Cory West Suzuki GSX-R600
6 Josh Herrin Yamaha YZF-R6
7 Michael Beck Yamaha YZF-R6
8 Joshua Day Yamaha YZF-R6
9 Aaron Gobert Honda CBR600RR
10 Dane Westby Yamaha YZF-R6

AMA Supersport Championship Points
1 B. Bostrom 328
2 J. Zemke 304
3 J. Hayes 282
4 J. Herrin 234
5 B. Young 231

Login or sign up to comment.