Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Motocross Steel City Results Rnd 12/12

Saturday, August 30, 2008
James Stewart - Budds Creek
James Stewart became the second rider in history to sweep all 24 motos in the outdoor series.
Ricky Carmichael is no longer the only man to ever sweep an entire Motocross Championship series. Monster Energy Kawasaki's James Stewart tied the unthinkable mark by posting another 1-1-1 at the season finale at Steel City Raceway. The win also gave Stewart the added bonus of the Monster Energy Kawasaki Triple Crown of Motocross.

It was a wire-to-wire affair for Number 7 in Moto 1 as his teammate, Tim Ferry, rode into second place and battled with Yamaha's Broc Hepler for the entire race. In the second outing, Ferry again bested Hepler after passing into second place on Lap 11 of 15. Ferry was second on the day with Hepler third and Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Michael Byrne fourth with a 4-4 tally. Andrew Short finished fifth overall on his Red Bull Honda.

"For me, it was (a relief for the season to be over)," explained Stewart, who led 369 of the 382 laps completed this season. "After the last few (years) I've had in outdoors, I've had a really tough time finishing the season. It was just a lot of weight lifted off my shoulders, especially after coming off the surgery."

Ferry held down second for the season in front of Short and Byrne with Cody Cooper a distant fifth.

Motocross Results:

1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 1-1
2. Tim Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 2-2
3. Broc Hepler, Kittanning, Pa., Yamaha, 3-3
4. Michael Byrne, Newnan, Ga., Suzuki, 4-4
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 5-7
6. Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Honda, 7-6
7. Sean Hamblin, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 6-9
8. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Yamaha, 11-5
9. Ivan Tedesco, Tallahassee, Fla., Honda, 9-8
10. Matt Boni, Geneva, Fla., Honda, 13-11

Motocross Overall Standings:

1. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 600
2. Timmy Ferry, Largo, Fla., Kawasaki, 414
3. Andrew Short, Smithville, Teas., Honda, 392
4. Michael Byrne, Newman, Ga., Suzuki, 377
5. Cody Cooper, Tallahassee, Fla., Suzuki, 266

Motocross Lites

Ryan Dungey - Millville
It was a perfect day for Ryan Dungey who swept the Lites class for the first time this season. It was his third overall victory while champion, Ryan Villopoto, cruised to a 20th-place finish.
Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey stopped Ryan Villopoto from capturing the Triple Crown in the Lites division. Dungey won both motos while the Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider barely made the top-20.

Josh Grant led early in Moto 1 aboard his Geico Powersports Honda but was overtaken by Dungey at the halfway point. Grant ran second until two laps to go when he DNFed. Matt Lemoine took over the spot followed by Brett Metcalfe in third.

Moto 2 again saw Grant chasing Dungey, only this time it was from the get-go. The early pace took its toll and the Honda rider dropped to eighth at the finish. Dungey held strong, however, and Metcalfe looked to have second locked up before a mistake dropped him to sixth. Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Nico Izzi and Grant's teammate, Jake Weimer, snared the final podium positions.

"To get both moto wins was awesome," said Dungey. "I almost led every lap too. I haven't really had that (chance) to be out front and it was just a great experience to do that."

With his three wins on the season Dungey finished second overall, 72 points behind champion, Villopoto. Metcalfe was third, Weimer fourth and the rookie, Izzi, an impressive fifth in the championship standings.

Motocross Lites Results:

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 1-1
2. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair, Mich., Suzuki, 5-2
3. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 6-3
4. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 3-6
5. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 9-4
6. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 7-9
7. Matt Lemoine, Pilot Point, Texas, Yamaha, 2-32
8. Phillip Nicoletti, Cochecton, N.Y., Kawasaki, 8-13
9. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Kawasaki, 18-5
10. Steven Clarke, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki, 16-7

Motocross Lites Overall Standings:

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 540
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 468
3. Brett Metcalfe, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 382
4. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Honda, 321
5. Nico Izzi, Saint Clair, Mich., Suzuki, 292
2008 AMA Motocross Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Motocross Point Standings
AMA Motocross Rider Bios
Jake Weimer Bio
Jake Weimer was one of the more underrated 250 riders before nailing down the West Coast SX Championship in 2010. For 2012, he'll aim to recover from a difficult season plagued by injury.
Kyle Regal Bio
Based out of Kemp, Texas, Kyle Regal is a former rookie who skipped the Loretta Lynn’s amateur nationals in favor of turning pro during the 2009 season.
Justin Barcia Bio
Justin Barcia is one of the most highly touted amateurs to come from American motocross breeding grounds. His recent showing in the premier class has proven he's a real contender.

Login or sign up to comment.

cindi ?s caleb -dirt bikes  November 26, 2008 11:59 AM
dirt bikes are the bomb baby get one totally. hahahahahahaha
Corbin -dirtbike racing  November 3, 2008 03:23 PM
i like racing dirtbikes. do you? i think dirtbokes are Awesome!
corbin -dirtbikes  November 3, 2008 03:22 PM
I Like the race.