Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

2011 GNCC Championships Announced

Saturday, November 12, 2011
Charlie Mullins kicked off the year with a win.
Charlie Mullins snagged his first-ever win in the XC1 class.

FMF/KTM's Charlie Mullins claimed his first XC1 Pro title in the Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series this season, amidst one of the most dramatic championship battles in GNCC history, and XC2 Pro Lites champion Steward Baylor Jr., also a KTM-backed racer, finished in a similar fashion as he dominated his class with six wins in the 13-round series.

But Mullins and Baylor are just part of the 2011 GNCC Championship roll call. In GNCC, the afternoon race consists of not only Pro classes, but also the "A" and "B" classes - housing some of the fastest riders of the afternoon - according to the adjusted time clock. 250 A champion Grant Baylor, younger brother of the XC2 champ, took Top Amateur honors this year by finishing highest of any amateur racer in the overall point standings. However, Open A class champion Adam Bonneur contested Baylor throughout the season in the overall points battle and 4 Stroke A Lites champion Scott Grills also had a hand in the fight. Indiana's Zach Love took home the 200 A class championship, while Phil Smith won the Vet A (30+) class and Dennis Baldwin took the Senior A (40+) title.

Stu Baylor wrapped up the XC2 title with a second.
Stu Baylor had an amazing season in which he won all 13 rounds in his class. 

In the "B" class category, it was Chris McGomery of Ohio that claimed the Open B championship and West Virginia's David Galiano with the Vet B (30+) win, while Willis West took the Senior B (40+) class championship. Pennsylvania claimed the most afternoon championships as Ethan Jaudas won the 250 B class, Tegan Temple with the 200 B title and Bobby Kinsley secured the 4 Stroke B Lites championship.
In the morning race, three-time Women's class champion Maria Forsberg not only dominated her respective class this season, but she consistently finished inside the top five overall on her KTM machine. Forsberg even entered Friday's double-header race in the 4 Stroke A Lites class and finished an impressive fourth place.
Indiana's Austin Lee topped the Super Mini (12-13) class while battling for the Youth overall with Super Mini (14-15) champion Levi Keller. Lee claimed the top honors after a hard-fought battle throughout two days of racing at Loretta Lynn's.
The 2011 GNCC Champions will be honored at this year's GNCC Awards Banquet December 2 and 3 in Morgantown, W. Va. at the Waterfront Place Hotel and Convention Center. The top 10 ATV/UTV racers in each class will receive awards on Friday, December 2 and the bikes will celebrate on Saturday, December 3. Dinner begins at 6 p.m. each night and advanced reservations are required. For more information on the banquet or to reserve a room at the Waterfront Place Hotel, please visit the 2011 Awards Banquet Page.
Congratulations to the 2011 GNCC Bike Class Champions!

XC1 Pro: Charles XC1 Pro Charles Mullins
XC2 Pro Lites: Steward Baylor JR
Open A: Adam Bonneur
250 A: Grant Baylor
200 A: Zach Love
4 Stroke A Lites: Scott Grills
Vet A (30+): Phil Smith
Senior A (40+): Dennis Baldwin Golden Masters
Open B: Chris McGomery
250 B: Ethan Jaudas
200 B: Tegan Temple
4 Stroke B Lites: Bobby Kinsley
Vet B (30+): David Galiano
Senior B (40+): Willis West
Super Senior A (45+): Dennis Decker
Masters A (50+): Randall Riggs
Women: Maria Forsberg
Super Senior C (45+): Nicholas Childs
200 C Schoolboy (12-15): Dalton Cross
Super Mini: (14-15) Levi Keller
Super Mini: (12-13) Austin Lee
85 (14-15): Christopher Williams
85 (12-13): Triston Landrum

85 (7-11): William C. Ruckle
65 (10-11): Zachary Ponder
65 (7-9): Daniel Spurgeon 
Golden Masters (58+): Gordon Stout
Super Senior B (45+): David Lowery
Masters B/C (50+): Fabian Dressler
4 Stroke C Lites: Clay Sullivan
250 C: Dalton Tingler
Vet C (30+): Larry Raines
Open C College (14-21): Zane Skinner
Super Vet C (35+): Brian Villanueva
Open C Junior (22+): Ryan Inman
Senior C (40+): Michael Bryant
200 C (16+): Andrew Powers
Women Junior (25+): Cindy Carpenter
4 Stroke B Lites: Bobby Kinsley
Vet B (30+): David Galiano
Senior B (40+): Willis West
Super Senior A (45+): Dennis Decker
Masters A (50+): Randall Riggs
Women: Maria Forsberg
Super Senior C (45+): Nicholas Childs
200 C Schoolboy (12-15): Dalton Cross

2011 GNCC Racing Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow

Login or sign up to comment.