Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Shoei X-Twelve Helmet Review

Friday, December 4, 2009
Shoei X-Twelve
Shoei's all-new X-Twelve helmet. Can the best get better?
If ever there was one piece of rider protection that shouldn’t be skimped on, it’s unquestionably the helmet. And in the world of lids, there are two brands that continually sit atop as the benchmarks for which all others strive. Both are Japanese and one is Shoei. And Shoei has just released a new top-of-the-line street and roadracing helmet: The X-Twelve.

Replacing the previous X-Eleven, the new dome features Shoei’s proprietary AIM+ technology, which combines fiberglass with organic fibers to make a composite that is said to be so strong they can only cut it with a laser. The shell is available in five different sizes for improved fit across the XS-XXL size range. For improved aero effect its new Aero Edge 2 Spoiler helps minimize lift at high speeds. As a result we found both overall fit and high-speed buffeting to be noticeably better.

Inside sits a dual-layer EPS liner, which is quite comfortable as well as very snug without any pressure points; long-term use came headache-free. As for the shield, it features Shoei’s latest QRSA (Quick Release Self-Adjusting) base plate system, which includes a locking mechanism that allows one to swap shields without any tools. This was easy to do, even while wearing the helmet, something very few lids are capable of.
Whether you love or hate the design of the S1000RR once you ride one  it will no longer matter.The S1000RR may weigh in at a claimed 455 lbs. wet  but with a low center of gravity  it doesnt feel like it.
Putting the all-new lid to the test on BMW's S1000RR. The helmet proved to be better in nearly all areas with the exception of weight, which comes from its ability to meet Snell 2010 standards.

The CW-1 shield itself is new as well and features a larger open area for improved viewing. Though we never noticed any issues with the old helmet, no doubt the X-Twelve is even better. Ventilation is noticeably improved as well, without sacrificing noise damping, something this new helmet excels in. The only downside we saw was that it’s slightly heavier that the X-Eleven, though hardly noticeable, which is a result of changes made for it to be able to meet the new Snell 2010 standards – a good thing if you ask us.

Adding to the appeal, we had our lid sprayed by the always-talented Tagger Designs to really set it apart from the crowd. The paintwork was flawless and gets loads of compliments from all who see it. If standing out from the crowd is your thing, custom paint is the only way to go. Not to mention Tagger turned it around in less than three weeks – very impressive. Although if the added cost of custom paint isn’t for you, it comes in a host of stock solid colors as well as various designs from Shoei.

All told, it’s impossible not to give the X-Twelve two thumbs up – better ventilation, quieter and less buffeting at high speeds. Doesn’t get much better than that…

Product: Shoei X-Twelve
Available sizes: XS-XXL
MSRP: $649.99 – $799.99
Tagger Design Paint: $600 – plus

Check out more Shoei Helmets and Motorcycle Helmets at Motorcycle Superstore.
Recent Sportbike Product Reviews
Wulfsport Kit Bag Review
If you're looking for a bag big enough to fit all your racing gear and then some, check out the Wulfsport Kit Bag.
Puma Roadster V3 Motorcycle Boot Review
It’s tough finding a motorcycle boot for petite lady riders. Fortunately Puma offers a solution with its Roadster V3 motorcycling boot, with MotoUSA’s contributing editor offering her review.

Login or sign up to comment.

Comments
B Dunk -Nice, except  August 24, 2010 04:42 PM
Great looking but what's with that stupid "Affliction" on it? Why not "Tap Out" too? That way maybe more d-bags and Armenians will start riding.
tik -shoei  March 16, 2010 01:15 AM
Damm it looks cool with bmw s1000rr.It suits the bike,it looks beautiful to me.
Ninjabot -shoei  December 8, 2009 11:41 PM
I tried the new Rf1100 (coming from the now-$299 TR-R Lance) and it felt very good. You feel the quality of this helmet all over. They even showed me how to flick a switch on the side so that the shield doesn't fully close, so that I can get a bit of air in there in hot weather. I also tried a few cheaper helmets, including a HJC and while they were significantly less expensive they just felt cheaper. They shields were looser, the vents also. BTW, asking why a Shoei (or Arai) is so much more money than a $100 helmet is like asking why a Roll Royce costs more than a Kia when they are both cars!
herman gomez martinez -weigth  December 8, 2009 08:32 PM
what about weigth is not important.
Hogtied -Shoei numbah 1!  December 6, 2009 06:50 PM
I used to wear a beanie (stupid me).. then I bought a HJC open face helmet for hot weather riding and a HJC modular helmet for when the weather was cold. I wore the lining out on the HJC Symax, so I replaced it with a shoei MultiTec. Absolutely worth ever penny I paid. I've since replaced the HCJ open face with a Shoei RJ Platinum open face helmet. I'd consider an Arai, but my punkin's too big. I now find that I ride nearly all the time with the full face modular helmet (I'm 60 - we grew up riding with no helmets at all).
Jeffery W -Where to Buy  December 6, 2009 12:26 PM
For good prices and fast, free, shipping go to www.motorcyclesuperstore.com. No question they takes the cake. Killer service as well!
LOU -PRICING  December 6, 2009 09:16 AM
thanks bought from new enough alot. Good return policy as well, very goodprices also thanks again!
thesoapster -Helmet vendors  December 6, 2009 08:20 AM
When I shopped for helmets, I usually wound up choosing Motorcycle Superstore. They have probably one of the best return/exchange policies I've seen as of yet. However, a friend of mine pointed out a site I hadn't been checking called Competition Accessories. The MC Superstore was selling the X-Twelve I was looking at for MSRP, which is about $770. I ended up paying about $563 shipped. A lot of their prices require you to have the quote emailed to you, as they're apparently not allowed by certain manufacturers to advertise the price they do. On the other hand, you may try MC Superstore's price match and see if they'll match the price for you. I decided this time around to give Compacc a try. My friend has liked them so far, so we'll see.
lou -thesoapster  December 6, 2009 06:31 AM
the prices sound good,what site are u buying from,thanks lou
thesoapster -Price  December 5, 2009 10:18 PM
No Lou, you don't need to pay $800. You can get these helmets for cheaper if you look in the right places. First thing I take into account is safety. Sure, all helmets sold in the U.S. have a DOT sticker put on them by the manufacturer. The manufacturer also does the DOT certification. Right there it means a SNELL and/or ECE rating added to the helmet is worthwhile. If it meets those, any more protection you'd get from a pricier helmet would be somewhat trivial. However, that's just considering the shell. The X-Twelve comes in five shell sizes, which is extraordinary, as you'll end up with a helmet that fits much better. More shell sizes means more money immediately because of production cost. Finally, there is the design of the helmet itself and the comfort/engineering many of the higher end helmets have. For me it all adds up to being worth it. I just got the Martyr pattern of the X-Twelve and paid $70 less than I did for my X-Eleven (a great helmet which will fill my passenger helmet slot; a slot that has needed to be filled).
BMW Rider -Cheap Helmets  December 5, 2009 02:29 PM
I was riding my 07 Guzzi Norge last October and a 17 yr old girl made a left turn in front of me while she was text messaging. I broadsided her car and did a flip over the roof and landed on my head and back. If I did not have my helmet on I would be dead. I did not have a real expensive helmet, just a $70.00 special but it worked. I think the more expensive helmets are more quiet and that is really what you pay for. My cheapo helmet was very noisy on the highway. I replaced the Guzzi with a BMW R1200RT but I didn't ride much this year due to back pain and I will probably sell the RT.
Superbikemike -Shoei pricing....  December 5, 2009 01:46 PM
too rich for my blood.......they can keep their over priced products, just my two cents
lou -helmet prices  December 5, 2009 01:28 PM
thank you,thats my point ,alot of great helmets do that for alot less money.when a new model comes out these models will be half that price...just sayin
Johnny H -Tried it on  December 5, 2009 12:08 PM
At the MC show. Man what a lid. When you consider it protects your head and saves your life, that makes $600-$800 seem cheap to me...
lou -helmets  December 4, 2009 07:25 PM
do they really have to cost 600 800 dollars,i ride 11000 a year,wear hjc helmets have for years.The helmets work fine for alot less money.Just hope people not being taken advantage of based on style and fashion!
thesoapster -RF1100, safety, etc  December 4, 2009 04:11 PM
This helmet looks great and I plan on getting one. As mentioned, however, the gap between the RF11000 and the X-Twelve are probably going to be noticed most by sport riders (and even then most would be fine with the 1100). I love my X-Eleven, and will be getting the Twelve for next season. The 1100 already got 5/5 safety rating from SHARP, which is great. My Eleven rated 4/5, so looks like the new SNELL standards have helped a bit.
zx7Ramsay -To Wil...  December 4, 2009 10:03 AM
Then the RF1100 is the helmet you should be looking at. Its designed more for commuters and tourers. Its a great helmet.
will parker -shoei helmets...  December 4, 2009 07:36 AM
i kinda like the Rf-1100..it seems to have the same features, just less venting( i don't need all that, not a roadracer)