Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

RMR Buell 1125R Daytona SportBike Review

Monday, July 20, 2009
Geico RMR Buell 1125R
Overall feel—especially the bike's front-end is one area where the racebike is significantly improved over a stock machine.
For an avid motorcyclist, one of the biggest question marks surrounding AMA Pro Road Racing’s Daytona SportBike class is what it’s like to ride one of these “SportBikes” in full factory race trim. Recently, Motorcycle-USA received just such an opportunity, piloting the Geico Powersports Richie Morris Racing Buell 1125R racebike around Road America’s 4-mile road course in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.
 
In our Daytona SportBike street bike comparison we determined that, indeed, a production 2009 Buell 1125R has a performance advantage when compared to its class rivals - including the 2009 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R and Aprilia RSV1000R. But how does it compare to the stock motorcycle which it’s based off of? To our surprise, it isn’t all that different.
 
In order to create better parity within the class, the DSB series rules don’t allow a whole lot of engine modifications. (To view the current 2009 rules click here.) Instead the rules package gives more leeway for chassis modifications. Thus many of the team’s modifications are focused in that area.

Most apparent is the bare finish on the racebike’s aluminum frame and braced swingarm, which also allows for a conventional chain/sprocket final drive as opposed to the stock belt drive. It’s also surprising how much different the bike looks with race plastics. The lower fairing and tail sections make the 1125R racebike look closer to a Japanese or European sportbike, until your eye catches those two huge air scoops on either side as well as its oversized upper fairing, which remind you it’s all Buell
 
Hop aboard the machine and notice its hard, slightly shorter seat. Designed to not only lower the rider’s center of gravity, the racing perch enhances feel between the rider and the back end of the motorcycle. Reaching forward to the handlebars, the rider feels more tucked in with the torso angled more closely to the bike. Placing feet on the footpegs, knees will tuck up into the bike's pseudo fuel tank much tighter than in the stock position. While the ergonomic changes aren’t exactly radical, they do enable the rider to direct more of his or her weight towards the front of the motorcycle.
Geico RMR Buell 1125R
The Geico RMR racebike’s powerband is not only broader but it hits harder too.

 
Poke the starter button and the engine gurgles to life with a deeper, scarier rumble courtesy of its $1799 exhaust system. Lift up on your left toe (reverse shift), notch the transmission into first gear and you’re ready to roll…
 
Maneuvering out of pit lane and onto Road America’s finely paved surface, one notices its limited steering radius due to the steering lock limiter. Fitted as a safety precaution, the device reduces the likelihood of severe headshake, which could cause the rider to lose control.
 
Slam open the throttle and, unlike its production brethren, the front wheel actually has a little easier time staying in contact with the road. This is most likely due to the way in which the controls keep your weight pushed ahead. With the throttle wide open, simply press down on the shift lever and the RMR 1125R jumps into the next gear courtesy of its quick shifter. Despite its final drive power delivery method being converted from belt to chain, gearing felt roughly the same with a tall first gear followed by closer gear-sequencing as you move down through the remaining five gears.

By the end of pit-lane you’re easily going well over 100 MPH before braking and merging onto the racing line as you go through Turn 1. Dial in full throttle and drift the bike wide onto the newly erected white and blue curbing on the outside. The front end gets light cresting a small hill, labeled Turn 2. From there, hug the left side of the track while accelerating in preparation for the right-hand corner ahead .
 
When entering Turn 3 it’s important not to downshift into too low of a gear, as its exit leads onto the first of three long straights. To get a decent lap time, it’s better to keep corner speed up and get on the gas early. Upshift into fourth, followed by fifth gear passing underneath the Sargento Bridge. The pavement bends slightly to the left, then right and is labeled as Turn 4 (though on a bike it’s not much of a turn at all). Only a soft touch of the handlebars is required for the bike to follow the curve of the road. It’s easy to appreciate the relative tranquility afforded by the 1125R’s humungous front fairing and raised windscreen. It’s almost ridiculous how much calm and comfort the pilot enjoys while blasting down the road at speeds of nearly 160 mph.

Geico RMR Buell 1125R
One of the biggest differences between a production and racing version of the 1125R is its braking performance.
The track slopes downward while grabbing the brakes for Turn 5, a slow-speed left-hander. Slowing from almost 160 to 50 mph is no easy feat, yet pulling back the front brake lever delivers a substantially higher level of brake feel and power compared to stock, due in part to the Superbike-spec Nissin radial master cylinder. In fact, closing in on the apex of the turn we quickly realize how much of a squid we are for braking so early.
 
Even on a warm, dry afternoon Turn 5 can be a slick. Fortunately, the bike’s smooth, yet copious, corner-exiting thrust is paired with a wide 5.75-inch magnesium wheel, which is lighter and also enhances the rear tire’s contact surface area to keep you in control. When the rear end does start to squirm finishing the corner and accelerating uphill into Turn 6, it’s surprisingly easy to control.

A 90-degree left awaits you at the top of the hill. Here it helps to have a bike that can change direction fast and the RMR 1125 continues to impress, no doubt due in part to Buell’s fundamental engineering principles, which include minimal weight and mass centralization not to mention the racebike’s lighter magnesium front rim. Ending up on the right side of the track on the exit of Turn 6, swing the bike over to the other side without letting off the gas, preparing to dive into Turn 7, a fast right-hander taken under acceleration in third gear. While really pushing it through this section, we notice the increased amount of front-end stability courtesy of the steering head cups which alter rake from 21 to 22-degrees.

Geico RMR 1125R Parts List
Geico RMR Buell 1125R
Magnesium Front Wheel Kit (G0110.04AH) $954
Magnesium Rear Wheel Kit (G0309.05AH) $1011
Rear Wheel Spacer Kit (G0635.08AZ) $275
6mm Front Brake Rotor (H0201C.08AZA) $169.95
Rotor Mounting Hardware (H0201C.08AZA) $241.20
Nissin 19x17 Master Cylinder (H0046.08AZ) $715 Race Kit Brake Pads (H0300.1AME) $368
GP Quick Shifter Linkage (N1620C.08AZ) $279
Programmable ECM Kit (Y1152.08AZ) $775
Race Wiring Harness (Y0200.08AZ) $129.95
Chain Drive Swingarm Kit (G0625.08AZ) $1779
Ohlins 25mm Kit Forks
Ohlins TTX Shock
Race Subframe (L1090.08AZ) $129.95
Race Battery Pan (Y1576.09AZ) $241.95
Race Exhaust (S2110A.08B2) $1,799.00
Steering Stop Limiter (J0001.08AZ) $16.95
Steering Cups (1-degree) $232.95
Vortex Clip Ons $140
Bodywork Kit: $1640
Ohlins Steering Damper Kit (J1402.08AZ) $495
Now it’s time to motor down another hill, termed Hurry Downs. Hitting the rev-limiter signals it’s time to brake, downshift into second gear, trail lightly on the brakes (this corner can be a bit slick, too) and hustle through Turn 8.
 
Steer the bike across the track and pass underneath the Johnsonville Bridge. Short shift into third gear and then dive into a long right-hand downhill arching turn, appropriately named, the Carousel. Here a considerable amount of time is spent on the right edge of the tires, so it’s important the bike not only stays planted but delivers enough feedback through the handlebars thereby allowing the rider to rail the corner as hard as possible. And the level of feedback delivered via the Ohlins-equipped fork is simply astounding. Where the stock set-up wistfully glides over pavement, the Ohlins units forces you to feel every crack, bump and pavement ripple, allowing the bike to be ridden hard and extort near maximum performance from the tires.

Barreling through the Carousel be sure to hold and inside line and gently work the throttle as the exit nears. Having a clear view of the exit, bring the bike in tight, close to the red-yellow curbing which serves as apex point, hit that, then dial in full throttle and let the bike drift wide before bringing it back over and setting up for Turn 11.

Previously known as the Kink, Turn 11 was modified a few years ago for safety reasons. In its previous configuration, the bend would be taken on the gas in third or fourth gear, depending on the bike. A solid concrete wall broke your fall if something were to go wrong and, unfortunately, quite often it did, thus the need for the revised chicane.

And despite what some say, it’s actually a fun section. Yet another hard braking section requires the rider to trail the binders heavily all the way to the apex of the entrance. The 1mm thicker perimeter-mounted ZTL2 brake disc, kit racing brake pads, and superbike-spec master cylinder deliver a superb amount of power as well as braking sensation. And when paired with its Ohlins-equipped front fork, all the ingredients are there to aggressively load the front tire into the turn.
 
As soon as you enter the chicane, it’s time to pickup the bike and swing it over, clip the curbing then pick up the throttle as hard as possible. Here the Ohlins TTX shock keeps the rear end from squatting too much, yet it allows the rear tire to dig into the pavement like a oversized paddle tire in sand and shoot you forward into RA’s second forested straightaway. It’s incredible how good this motorcycle gets off the corner. Yet even with all of this traction, there isn’t a hint of headshake.
Geico RMR Buell 1125R
It’s unreal just how efficiently the 1125R racebike puts its power down to the pavement.


While in stock form the 1125R’s engine is no slouch, the race pipes and updated fuel and ignition maps make for more robust mid-range power. From as low as 6000 revs, “Steamroller” pulls much harder and it just gets stronger as revs increase. However, reaching its rev ceiling it doesn’t have the same rush of power one might expect given how stout its mid-range is.

It feels like you’re in a blurred green time warp when clicking into third, fourth and then fifth gear zooming toward Canada Corner. Reaching the brake marker, pull back on the front lever, while rapidly downshifting into second gear. Buell’s Hydraulic Vacuum Assisted (HVA) back-torque limiting slipper clutch works perfectly here and is a carbon-copy of the one found in Danny Eslick’s No. 9 racebike.

Back on the power, run the bike all the way to the curbing while pointing it to the right edge of the track just before Turn 13. The bike smoothly turns to the right under full power, then as the corner nears steer the bike and nail the apex. Dial in full throttle without actually seeing where you’re going and the bike runs out over top of this small hill and into the final corner and start of RA’s final straightaway.

Turn 14 could be one of the trickiest corners on the track yet it’s my personal favorite. You can go ridiculously deep into the turn, so it’s important to stay on the gas until the last possible second - still turning while transitioning from gas to brake. Get into the front brake lever, grab a downshift and feel the rear end of the bike coming around. Continue to trail the front brake, but don’t go crazy as keeping corner speed is vital to maximizing drive onto the straight. Get on the gas as early as possible and Steamroller drifts outside as you put your head down in anticipation for a 20-second blast through the gears.

Geico RMR Buell 1125R
Imagine being in a blurred green time warp, that’s how you could describe zooming down one of Road America’s forested straightaway’s on Buell’s 1125R sportbike.
And that, my friends, is a lap around Road America aboard Danny Eslick’s RMR Buell 1125R Daytona SportBike.

Probably one of the coolest things about this RMR 1125R is every single part on the machine is available from Buell. So anyone can turn their Buell 1125R sportbike in to a full factory racer, no joke. Even better, the prices aren’t ridiculously out of line. In fact, including the cost of the bike you can build one of your own for under $25,000. And that’s the real deal - the same bike that factory-supported riders Eslick and Barnes pilot in DSB.

Given how solid of a platform Buell has in the base 1125R, it’s hardly a surprise just how good the RMR 1125R is. Not only does it deliver much sharper performance, it does so without sacrificing one of the 1125R’s most important hallmarks—ease of use. Simply put, this is one of the most user-friendly racing motorcycles we’ve ever ridden.
VideosOur Sponsor
RMR Buell 1125R Daytona SportBike Review
Click to view video
RMR Buell 1125R Photos 
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
Recent Sportbike Reviews
Cheap Track Yamaha R6 Project - Part I
MotoUSA contributing editor Neale Bayly happens on a lightly crashed 2005 Yamaha R6 - an ideal platform upon which to build into an affordable, real-world trackday bike.
2015 KTM RC390 First Ride
KTM is bringing its single-cylinder RC390 sportbike to the States in 2015, and MotoUSA gets an early sampling on the backroads of Italy followed by laps on the Modena circuit.
2015 Honda CBR300R First Ride
Honda ups its game in the small displacement sportbike segment with its 2015 CBR300R, which features more juice than the outgoing CBR250R and styling to match its larger CBR siblings.
2015 Energica Ego First Ride
Motorsport and aerospace engineering group, Cevolini Rapid Prototyping (CRP) joins the electric motorcycle race with its Energica Ego Superbike.
2014 Honda VFR Interceptor First Ride
After a multi-year hiatus from Honda's US line-up, the VFR Interceptor returns to the American market with notable revisions in 2014. See how the new iteration fares on road in this First Ride.
Buell 1125R Dealer Locator
Inside Buell Motorcycles HQ
Geico RMR Buell 1125R
One of the hottest topics in the U.S. road racing scene is the legality of Buell’s 1125R sportbike in AMA Pro Road Racing’s Daytona SportBike class. Whether it belongs in the Daytona SportBike class or not, the 1125R is Buell’s first legitimate racebike. Credit belongs to the design, engineering and production team at its company headquarters in East Troy, Wisconsin (not to mention its Rotax Twin).
 
With 170 employees responsible for production from design to fabrication, it’s amazing a company with such a limited amount of resources has the ability to do so much. And next to its dedicated workforce, one of the keys to its success is its proprietary information system nicknamed ELVIS (Electronic Linked Vital Information System).

The comprehensive software allows key information to be tracked, reviewed and shared on each individual component on the motorcycle. This aids the company in a number of ways, including being able to more effectively design, implement changes and test a particular part, as well as being able to share this data with the people who need to see it the most (i.e. engineers, suppliers, product evaluators, etc).
 
Not only does the software allow for extensive tracking and cataloging of each and every motorcycle part, it also integrates the manufacturing side of the business. And by keeping everyone in the know (in real-time) as to the production’s line status, this allows workers to address any potential problems before they become bigger and more costly.
 
This infrastructure has undoubtedly played a part in the success of the Buell 1125R sportbike and 1125CR streetfighter motorcycles. Given its sophistication, we can only imagine what’s yet to come from this small American motorcycle manufacturer.

Login or sign up to comment.

Comments
Buell owner -Buell did become a joke  September 3, 2010 07:06 AM
In the end Buell goes out of business thanks to HD, I can’t get parts without waiting a month or more. Stators are frying like hotcakes as well as other electrical problems. I have had over $4000 in warranty work with only 2400 miles. Check out some of the Buell forums and look at the problems and aftermath. I went back to a good old Jap bike. Only positive thing to say was that the 1125R was one fast and powerful machine;it was a blast to ride. I however prefer reliability and service when I need it.
cmac coastie -aero power engineer  February 19, 2010 08:07 PM
I love controversial subjects. Will we have so much fun next year, without the Buells racing in 2010? This was fun, really fun.
toddb -Just buy American  September 20, 2009 04:16 PM
Just buy American. Support where you live and stay out of Wal-mART.
Impartial Observer -Time to Think  August 21, 2009 07:10 PM
First off, I own a Ducati. Not a new, cool, track-ready one. A 1994 Monster. Runs great, does what I need, and looks nice to boot, albeit the least reliable thing in my life. That being said, I've always liked Buell because I like the THOUGHT that goes into them. Each part seems to be reviewed and critiqued and a real attempt is made to make every part of the bike better than the accepted standards: The belt/chain tensioner; the in-frame fuel storage; the underslung mufflers. All built upon solid engineering principals to the ultimate goal of providing a small, quick bike that takes a big bite out of anything it comes near. And I believe they've done that. Some things have been more effective than others, but this company is still new, and it's constantly improving their cycles. Most of Buell's competitors have more than 60 years of experience to Buell's 25 or so. I appreciate that Fred M. took the time to understand the facts. That's the kind of mindful investigation that will someday make Buell a real contender in any class size.
Fred M. -Wait, So Does Buell Suck or Does Rotax Suck?  August 15, 2009 06:15 AM
Leroy, I thought more about your argument and it was so silly that I just had to summarize it here: Buell's engineering sucks because they need 1125cc displacement to compete against 600cc Japanese bikes and Buell needed to have Rotax design and build their 1125cc engine. So what you are actually saying is that Rotax's engineering sucks, not Buell's, because Rotax designed the engine. Ignoring all of your false assertions about Buell not having a hand in the design, that's the gist of your argument. Could you be any more illogical?
Fred M. -Thank you!  August 14, 2009 09:46 PM
Leroy wrote: "Fred M sounds like a buell engineer." Thank you! I am an engineer, but in the aerospace industry, not working at Buell. "Question. Who builds the engine and where is it built?" Rotax in Austria. The same company that builds engines for BMW and Aprilia (which doesn't seem to be winning any races with their Rotax-supplied engine), so I guess that means that BMW and Aprilia lack engineering expertise. "Of course buell had to collaborate. They had to send engine compartment size to Rotax." When you are that ignorant about the collaboration, you would serve yourself well to keep quiet. I'll quote an article from Automotive Design & Production, Oct 1, 2007 (http://www.autofieldguide.com/articles/100702.html): "...dedicated five of his design engineers to the 3.5 year project that eventually resulted in the Helicon engine: A compact 72[degrees] 1,125-cc V-Twin producing 146 hp at the crankshaft. "The 72[degrees] angle turned out to be the best compromise for packaging. We considered a 90[degrees] but that packaging was too difficult to work within our chassis design," Buell adds. The Buell engineering team laid out specific requirements for the overall weight and power band, as well as the design of the crankcase, clutch and shift mechanism. Each is closely related to the chassis design. Rotax, meanwhile, worked on engineering the engine's internal components and transmission configuration. ... Development of the Helicon's piston and ring pack was particularly tricky, Buell says, because of the high durability targets established by the team: "We did a ton of FEA [finite element analysis] work on those pieces to meet the targets." Remember, that the company you are accusing of lacking engineering expertise has patents on the rim-mounted ZTL brake, the underslung muffler (to lower the CG and centralize the mass), and carrying the fuel in the frame -- a frame which is within spitting distance weight-wise of MotoGP frames. "You can say whatever you like, but at the end of the day, it is an 1125 cc bike racing against 600cc bikes. It lacks 75ccs being twice the size." It has half as many pistons. It is racing against bikes which have a redline that is 50% higher. It has been penalized with another 20lbs. of weight. I've tried to explain this again and again: horsepower = (torque x rpm) / 5252 You can spin the crank fast with four small, short-stroke pistons or you can spin it slow with two large, long-stroke pistons. Either one will make horsepower. Neither is more praiseworthy or a sign of engineering superiority. When I go to buy a bike, I evaluate how it works. How heavy is it? The Buell is competitive with the Japanese 600cc fours. How much wind protection does the fairing provide? The Buell embarrasses the Japanese 600s. How comfortable is it on the street? The Buell's ergos are far better and the press has said so. How does it handle? The Buells have long been considered some of the finest handling bikes made. How tractable is the engine -- does it have a wide, linear powerband or is it peaky and needing constant rowing through the gears? If going with a 600cc engine does not result in a bike that's much lighter and better handling than the Buell 1125R, why buy the 600? When you ride around town, through the mountains, on canyon roads, and on the highway, are you expecting some tech inspector to jump out, tear down your engine, measure the displacement, and disqualify you?
Killer Coastie -Wamping about the Buells  August 9, 2009 09:41 AM
"IF" the Buells are so dominant and have such an "unfair advantage", why aren't Taylor Knapp, Shawn Higbee and the other Buell riders all finishing in the top 10 every week??? They aren't. Knapp may sneak into the top 10 from time to time, but that's it. Maybe, just maybe, Danny Eslick and the Bruce Rossmeyer team (Geico Powersports) have something to do about it. Eslick is consistent on his bike and it fits his Dirt Track racing style. The rest of the Buell riders aren't finding the same "unfair" advantage. So, your whinning story has holes in it, a lot of them. Japanese bike riders are the sorest losers on planet, because you're used to having a superior product all the time. Now you don't and you don't like it. Why isn't anybody belly-aching about the Aprillia RSV 1000??? Because it isn't winning. Win one race and watch out..."UNFAIR ADVANTAGE!" How about the Duc 1198 beating all the 1000's this past race. Where's the whinning about dispacement. You might as well whine about 450 four stroke dirt bikes racing 250 two-strokers too. Keep whinning and posting about the Buells, cause I'm loving it! BTW, have you test rode one yet??? That's right, you can actually test drive one, unlike the import dealer's bikes. Might change your mind. Peace!

Leroy -rotax  August 4, 2009 05:51 PM
Fred M sounds like a buell engineer. Question. Who builds the engine and where is it built? Of course buell had to collaborate. They had to send engine compartment size to Rotax. You can say whatever you like, but at the end of the day, it is an 1125 cc bike racing against 600cc bikes. It lacks 75ccs being twice the size.
BeenThereDunThat -cc vs ci  August 2, 2009 11:18 PM
Having been in most kinds of motorcycle racing for many years I got use to the AMA and the backwards "HD wins at any cost" theory. Why not just let cars run with them also...if it's just a power/air/weight rule. Displacement dictates the class, not the air/weight/power. So it's just plain wrong from a professional standpoint. But I do have to admit it sure makes for some good racing. A few formula one cars in there with restrictor plates would really spice it up. Maybe some go carts too..or my garden tractor with a turbo........
Fred M. -Corrections  August 2, 2009 01:08 PM
Leroy wrote: "In case everyone screaming about how wonderful the Buell is and being an American bike, Rotax is located in AUSTRIA. The v twin Harley engine wont cut it." First off, the air-cooled Buells don't use a Harley engine. That's a myth. The engines in the Buells don't even spin the cranks in the same direction. Also, you seem to be of the mistaken belief that Buell set out to create a race bike. They didn't. They air-cooled Buells are designed for street riders. And any decent street rider on one of those will go faster, and be more comfortable, than someone on a repliracer 600. When you grow up, you'll learn why the area under the torque curve is more important than the height of the horsepower peak. Secondly, the engine in the air-cooled Buells is not a Rotax. It's manufactured by Rotax, but the design was a collaborative effort between Buell and Rotax. It became economically advantageous to team with Rotax once Aprilia stopped using them. Bruno wrote: "Buell is a joke.. Hey i want to see an American Sportbike succeed as much as anybody, but double the displacement? Buell and DMG are a joke.. and Alex wrote: "What an embraasment![sic] USA needs twice the displacement in order to compete with foreign motorcycles. Well... At least Buell is trying!" No, dumbasses, you fail. Buell elected to go for horsepower by increasing torque (larger displacement, V-twin, lower redline). The Japanese fours make horsepower by increasing RPMs (short stroke, four pistons). At 6K RPM, an R6 makes around 35hp. At the same RPM, a Buell makes about 80hp. Gee, over double the horsepower with less than double the displacement. But when some guy on a Buell kicks your ass, you can try to make yourselves feel better by whining about the Buell's displacement. For me? I'm buying the bike that works best -- and a 375lb. (dry) Buell that has a much better powerband than your peaky, screaming 600cc bikes is one that will be on my short list.
Leroy -ROTAX  July 31, 2009 11:25 AM
In case everyone screaming about how wonderful the Buell is and being an American bike, Rotax is located in AUSTRIA. The v twin Harley engine wont cut it.
Oh my god -Someone manipulated a ruling body for an advantage  July 31, 2009 08:54 AM
Come on folks, this has been happening for as long as I can remember.
R1RacerJ -Buell  July 31, 2009 06:42 AM
I gotta say as a proud american that I would love to see "our" bikes do well, but if we can only do it with twice the displacement and bending the rules then I'd rather just not see it race...hell, if Buell doesn't win the championship this year let's just let 'em run a turbo too...
Joseph Bentlei -Who cares?  July 30, 2009 07:04 PM
greg1125r what? It not that there scared of competition there scared of the parts that will fall off. And they will Fall off after all its made in america.
greg1125r -bruno is a joke  July 24, 2009 08:20 PM
I think its great to see an American bike do so well if you like jap bikes thats fine. I own an 1125r and its a fun motorcycle to ride. It seems like many of the jap bike fans are scared of competition if buell does well be proud of what the americans can do instead of wasting your time whining about rules. I dont think buell would have spent the time and money building the 1125rr without reading the rule book first
steve -Buell  July 24, 2009 08:02 PM
Gotta wonder why the AMA didn't add weight to Miladin and Spies ..........something like 50 straight wins for the Yosh.
Suzuki. Looked like a 25 lap Parade lap for years. Boring!


steve -buell 1125  July 24, 2009 07:46 PM
It sure makes for some good racing having the big twins in there.
Seems like being a heavier bike the Buell can be a hand full entering tight turns compaired to the 600s. Love seeing Eslick backing that thing in. The Buell gets better drive out of the corners which creats some passing that otherwise would't be there and just as often gets passed entering the corners by the lighter quicker handeling 600s. Some of the best M/C racing i've seen in a long time.

Larry -Buell- horsepower  July 22, 2009 06:58 PM
I see that the Buell website has 146 hp listed for the 1125 but if I'm not mistaken that is measured at the crankshaft which would mean that the RWHP figures would be in the 120 hp range. I will grant you that the Buell's torque figures (80 ft.lbs- but probably closer to 65 at the rear) are where it gaps the I4's in performance. After re-watching the race at Mid Ohio I could see Hacking and Eslick entering the long straight on lap 1 evenly with Hacking getting to the corner first and on lap 2 Cardenas passing Eslick. It took a bonzai pass by Eslick at the end to get the win in one of the best Sportbike, Supersport races in a long time. If Danny was a perennial backmarker doing this then yeah I would say it's an unfair advantage but he's a good veteran racer so I don't see a big enough advantage to ban the bike outright.
MOGMAN -Buell1125R  July 21, 2009 08:25 PM
If you made it through high school mathematics, you could run the numbers yourself and see DMG is correct and you are wrong. Feelings are a poor substitute for knowledge. ... bully on the playground.....? how trite. Just repeat this a few times each day and you will actually look smarter: RULES=BUELLS
mogman -Buell1125R  July 21, 2009 08:13 PM
So many years I had to listen to squids tell me how superior their 600's were to a twin lump. A twin lump gets on the track and the public-schooled rice jockeys show they failed math and never even made it to physics, by whining that the Buell is a bully. Get an education. Then you will see you are wrong and DMG is correct. If you knew how to perform elemental math, their selection criteria would be obvious. Life sucks when you ignore the facts. RULES=BUELLS
anonymous -Buell is as True American Superbike you are going to get!!! Give it time.  July 21, 2009 06:50 PM
Most of you that commented before me look like Japanese, Chinese or Asian bike lovers. Rice cookie cutters. No wonder our economy is bust, your part of the problem with the USA! Buells are like Hot Rods and Muscle cars of the past. Function over form(asthetics) but functional in every way(fuel in the frame, underlung exhaust being copied by many now, ZTL braking system is lighter/unsprung weight,etc).

I have a 2009 1125CR moded with help from Jardine, Mark Dobeck(Superbike genius tuner), K&N filter/airbox lid removed ,etc. that puts out over 150 RWHP! I have owned/ridden many Japanese/Euro bikes. I have done some track time on most of the top inline 4 1000'
s including the Duc 1098, Aprilia Touno R/RSV 1000, Triumph streetfighter 1050,etc and I am a KTM rider in MX/Supermoto.

I have young and old check my bike at bike events/rides and dealerships all over California. I have no major problems as the engine is proven, a Buell 72 degree Rotax motor designed/engineered like no other Rotax(just a reputable source to build). Once you all get your cookie cutter brain out of your ass we might have an even better True American superbike/sportbikes if you stop feeding the foreign markets(Asian) like the cars. I'm American and Proud of it! get over it!...stop thinking your Asian bikes are the bomb! well maybe they are coming from Japan/Korea/China!!!LOL. I have actual Japanese/Korean riders who bought the old school air cooled Buells like the XB12SCG streetfighters also.

I love the racing now(I never cared to watch before with the Matt Mladin/Ben Spies show and others and attendance was low at the races before this year/economy was better), its close and fun to watch the barn burners with Danny Eslick who is a great improved racer who rode flat track/supermoto and GSXR 600's before this year. He is like a Nicky Hayden. So Squids beware. We only need real american sport bike riders or Riders that want to be American!
ducfan410 -the buell  July 21, 2009 04:49 PM
Its all about being competitive my bro's! HP to weight ratio. DMG totally got it wrong at Laguna,but i love the way they have this class set up as far as who's in it. Buell and Aprilia have a chance in this class. and that is great for racing! just be happy that the 1098R is not! last time i checked, Eslick was still in third place.quit you're F'n bitch'n!
Snowscum -whiners  July 21, 2009 03:59 PM
kpaul: So where does the Buell belong? If it were that dominate in sportbike then why are they not way ahead in the standings? They dont win by huge margins when they do win. Its close racing at its best. There is a different winner every week. And people still whine. The bike is heavier so it takes more energy as a rider to keep up with the lighter 600's and you can tell by the end of some of these races. I think it should stay and people just need to quit bitching about it and let them race!
kpaul -No repleacement for displacement  July 21, 2009 12:46 PM
Larry you need to look at horsepower and torque. Buell has the edge in both of those standard measures. When Buell goes up against the Japanese liter bikes or even the GSXR 750 it fails miserably . The Daytona Sport bike category is a joke. Buell has a huge UNFAIR advnatage.
Jim Daniel -An engine is an airpump...and that is all that it is!  July 21, 2009 12:02 PM
It isn't about displacement or HP (apples to oranges), it is about how much air does it pump at max RPMs. When you compare apples to apples, the IL-4 and the V-twin matches up nicely. The proof is in the pudding, in that the Daytona Sportbike Series is as level of a playing field as you will find in racing.
Jim Daniel -An engine is an airpump...and that is all that it is!  July 21, 2009 12:01 PM
It isn't about displacement or HP (apples to oranges), it is about how much air does it pump at max RPMs. When you compare apples to apples, the IL-4 and the V-twin matches up nicely. The proof is in the pudding, in that the Daytona Sportbike Series is as level of a playing field as you will find in racing.
Jim Daniel -An engine is an airpump...and that is all that it is!  July 21, 2009 12:00 PM
It isn't about displacement or HP (apples to oranges), it is about how much air does it pump at max RPMs. When you compare apples to apples, the IL-4 and the V-twin matches up nicely. The proof is in the pudding, in that the Daytona Sportbike Series is as level of a playing field as you will find in racing.
Dave -Just does'nt match larry.  July 21, 2009 04:02 AM
From my observation every time I see a buell vs any yama/honda/kawi/suzuki on the straight, the buell is pulling the jap every time. The jap bikes are slightly better in the corners but in the corners at least you can guard your line a bit. On the straight away there's no way to prevent being passed and that is where the buell has the distinct advantage. It's disheartening seeing a rider do all the work in the corners to gain a position just to see it lost but another rider who simply has to twist his wrist and gain it back.
Russell -rules  July 20, 2009 07:46 PM
straight from the rule book... so an inline 4 1000cc motor can be allowed, correct? 2.3 Displacement Capacities and Weight Limits a. Minimum weight in the exact condition the machine finishes any competition activity (qualifying or race final) without the addition of fluids or other items of any kind: i. 4 cylinder 375 pounds ii. 2 cylinder 390 pounds b. Displacement capacities: i. 4 cylinders 749cc up to 1000 cc 4-stroke. ii. 2 cylinders 901cc up to 1200 cc 4-stroke c. Changes to engine type, configuration, stroke and any modifications of engine components to alter the stock OEM firing order of the cylinders are not permitted. d. The displacement capacities must remain at the homologated size. Stock bore and stroke must be maintained.
TheBrain -No problem with the 1125R  July 20, 2009 07:19 PM
I have no problem with the bike, just putt it in the proper class and that class is not daytona sportbike. Further more the newly announced 1125RR is all good in American SBK, Buel just needs to fallow the rules and have it available to the general public.
John -Thats all well and good Larry,  July 20, 2009 06:52 PM
But you have confused the pushrod Buells with the 1125R. Its like comparing apples and oranges. The 1125R claimed numbers are HORSEPOWER TORQUE 146 HP @ 9800 RPM 82 ft. lbs. @ 8000 RPM The above info is straight off the Buell site Stig Youd have to ride Road America at full tilt down the straight into Canada Corner to understand, but on a big bike that about describes it.
Larry -Buell V2 vs inline 4's  July 20, 2009 06:40 PM
I think what some people lose sight of is the fact that the issue is not so much about displacement as it is about horsepower. I'm guessing that the Buell is making about 120/125 hp which is close to if not equal to the factory Big 4 bikes. Big V twins can't rev out high like the inline bikes so the real issue should be do they have an overwhelming torque advantage. From what I could tell by watching this weekends races is that the Buell did have an advantage powering out of some of the corners but the difference didn't seem to be that big. I understand that the Buells have been weighted down to compensate so maybe a little more tweaking is in order to even out the competition.
I am not saying that the establishment in AMA racing doesn't have a beef because thay have definately expended a boat load of money in R&D and racing over the years. However, I feel that the sport is not going to survive many more seasons if the racing is spread way out and it becomes one long victory lap for the guy who is on the far superior machinery. I know that it's not fair to the guy who really is head and shoulders above his competitors but ask yourself this. Do you enjoy close racing among 7 or 8 bikes or a spread out parade of guys doing practice laps with little or no passing going on. I love motocross but I become deflated when James Stewart gets the holeshot and cruises to an easy victory. Sorry for this long winded rant but bear with me for one more example. Recently, the INDY car series had a race where there was NO passing the entire race and some of the drivers apologized for how boring it was. In this day and age it's all about entertainment value and without that the raw economics of it all just won't add up. BTW I don't work for DMG I just love motorcycles and racing.
Alex -What an embraasment!  July 20, 2009 03:45 PM
USA needs twice the displacement in order to compete with foreign motorcycles. Well... At least Buell is trying!
OMG -I just can't believe it!  July 20, 2009 02:13 PM
Somebody messed with the rules to promote a product, I am so shocked.
KT -DMG  July 20, 2009 11:52 AM
How do they allow the 1125 Buell but disallow the 1198 Duc? Buell should not even be struggling to beat 600 cc machines. Also, why is the Aprilia bring up the rear of this group?
kpaul -Nice article  July 20, 2009 10:49 AM
Hope you get a chance to ride the 1125RR soon. My only beef is with DMR not Buell. If DMR/AMA went to a WSBK class structure and had the Buell only race against the 1000 cc 4 cyclinders and 1198 Ducatis, I would be Buell's biggest fan. As of now though it's hard to root for the bully on the playground who beats up on kids half his size
Jake -Suit  July 20, 2009 09:27 AM
That Shift suit is awesome!
The Stig -What?  July 20, 2009 09:19 AM
What in the world is a "blurred green time warm"?
Bruno -Buell is a joke..  July 20, 2009 09:16 AM
Hey i want to see an American Sportbike succeed as much as anybody, but double the displacement? Buell and DMG are a joke..