Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Daytona Sportbike Road America Race 1 2011

Saturday, June 4, 2011
Yamahas Josh Herrin  No. 8  claimed his second win of the season over Suzukis Cory West in Race 1.
Yamaha's Josh Herrin (No. 8) claimed his second win of the season over Suzuki's Cory West in Race 1.
Monster Yamaha’s Josh Herrin collected his second win of the year this afternoon in the first 13-lap Daytona Sportbike race at Wisconsin’s Road America. Second place would go to Vesrah Suzuki’s Corey West while PJ Jacobsen finished in third aboard his Celtic Racing Ducati entry.

At the start of the race it was Latus Motors' Jason DiSalvo with the holeshot from pole position. However his run up front (along with his winning streak) came to an end when he crashed out in the first few laps. He would walk away from the crash uninjured.

This would allow Herrin to take control of the race. But it wasn’t exactly a walk in the park for the Monster Yamaha rider as he along with a number of other riders including Geico Suzuki’s Danny Eslick and Cameron Beaubier all battled it out up front. Herrin and Jacobsen routinely swapped position at the front.

“It was great,” says Jacobsen “Josh was running great I just tried to push same thing as Miller—that last lap it kind of sucked for me but that’s racing. My bike was working great but I definitely want to be up there again tomorrow so I’m looking forward to that. It felt pretty good. I just knew I had to be calm and I just kept working.”

In the end Herrin took the checkers just under a second in front of West.

“It was tough,” said West. “Danny and Tommy [Aquino] were pushing me hard. Every time one of us would get in the front we’d be like ‘let’s go and catch these guys.’ I slowly started reeling in the leaders. Coming into the white flag he made some mistakes and that lapper definitely helped me catch PJ. I feel like we might have had something for him if we had one more lap…”

AMA Daytona Sportbike Race 1 Results:
PJ Jacobsen  No. 9  rounded out the podium in third after swapping the lead a few times with Josh Herrin.
PJ Jacobsen (No. 9) rounded out the podium in third after swapping the lead a few times with Josh Herrin.
1. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
2. Cory West (Suzuki)
3. P.J. Jacobsen (Ducati)
4. Danny Eslick (Suzuki)
5. Tommy Aquino (Yamaha)
6. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki)
7. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
8. Dane Westby (Suzuki)
9. Jason Farrell (Kawasaki)
10. Fernando Amantini (Kawasaki)
11. Santiago Villa (Suzuki)
12. Tyler O'Hara (Yamaha)
13. Huntley Nash (Yamaha)
14. Matthew Sadowski (Ducati)
15. Matt Hall (Yamaha)

2011 AMA Pro Road Racing Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
2011 AMA Superbike Road America Photo
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow

Login or sign up to comment.