Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

SuperSport Road America Race 1 Results 2012

Saturday, June 2, 2012
Jake Lewis scored a Race 1 win in Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport.
Jake Lewis came out on top in SuperSport Race 1 after a tough battle against the top four riders.
Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki’s Jake Lewis took home the win in Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport Race 1 at Road America. Kneedragger.com’s Stefano Mesa claimed second thanks to a final lap pass of Celtic Racing’s James Rispoli, who settled for third. Castrol Triumph’s Dustin Dominguez held onto fourth-place and was followed by Yamaha’s Tomas Puerta in fifth.

The battle for first was neck-and-neck up to the final laps of the race. Early on, it was Lewis and Rispoli trading position out front, with Mesa keeping pace in third. A red flag with five laps to go paused the action after Outlaw Racing’s Hunter Coffin went down. When the riders returned, Rispoli regained the lead but soon began to trade position with Dominguez, Lewis and Mesa. Once the Vesrah Suzuki ace got hold of the lead again though, he held steady and ended over three seconds ahead of Mesa.

Puerta looked to be in position for a podium finish before and just after the red flag. The Yamaha rider held the fastest lap time until Lewis bested it on the penultimate lap. Road Race Factory’s Hayden Gillim managed to move up the timesheet in the final laps of the race as well, scoring sixth place ahead of SuzukiScoop’s Elena Myers. Myers sat as high as fifth place during the contest, but began to slip in the final laps.

James Rispoli remains at the top of the SuperSport West division. Road Race Factory's Hayden Gillim remains second in the West division. Lewis and Mesa are first and second in Eastern division points and will have the opportunity to add to their totals during the next Eastern Division AMA Pro SuperSport round at Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama June 22 - 24, 2012.

AMA Pro SuperSport Road America Race 1 Results 2012:
1. Jake Lewis (Suzuki)
2. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
3. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
4. Dustin Dominguez (Triumph)
5. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
6. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)
7. Elena Myers (Suzuki)
8. Tyler Linders (Yamaha)
9. Ryan Matter (Yamaha)
10. Devon McDonough (Yamaha)
11. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
12. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)
13. Travis Ohge (Suzuki)
14. Charles Weaver (Yamaha)
15. Rocco Horvath (Yamaha)

AMA Pro SuperSport West Points:
1. James Rispoli, 166
2. Hayden Gillim, 139
3. Elena Myers, 99
4. Travis Ohge, 57
5. Tyler Linders, 54
6. Sebastiao Ferreira, 54
7. Ryan Matter, 47
8. Colter Dimick, 34
9. Rocco Horvath, 32
10. Devon McDonough, 31
2012 AMA Road America Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Road Racing Championship Points
AMA Superbike
Daytona Sportbike
AMA Pro Supersport West
AMA Pro Road Racing Riders
Josh Hayes
Josh Hayes is a dedicated road racer who started in 1994 and won the AMA Superbike Championship in 2010. Read more about Hayes' racing career on the Josh Hayes bio page.
Blake Young
Riding since the age of four, Blake Young has become an important fixture in the AMA Pro Road Racing Series and is still searching for his first title after coming just shy in 2011.
Roger Hayden
Learn more about Roger Hayden on Motorcycle USA's Roger Hayden bio page for career highlights, pictures, and news.

Login or sign up to comment.