Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

SuperSport Road America Race 2 Results 2012

Sunday, June 3, 2012
Stefano Mesa at Miller Motorsports Park.
Stefano Mesa scored his first win of the season in Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport at Road America.
Kneedragger.com’s Stefano Mesa scored his first AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport win of his career in Race 2 at Road America. The Yamaha rider took the checkers after a final lap pass which bumped Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki’s Jake Lewis down to second. Lewis was out front for all but the final portion of the race, though the top three riders were neck-and-neck the entire time. National Guard Suzuki’s Corey Alexander rounded out the podium in third place.

"In the last lap, we all went way too deep," said Mesa "(James) crashed, and it was a bummer for him, but I got the drive out of there."

Celtic Racing’s James Rispoli had been steady out front, battling with Lewis and Mesa, but then made a mistake and crashed which allowed Alexander, Yamaha’s Tomas Puerta and RoadRace Factory’s Hayden Gillim to pass in the final lap.

Rispoli remains the West divison leader in SuperSport, despite his unfortuante fall late in Race 2. Gillim's fifth-place finish ensured that the spread between first and second remained nearly the same as after Race 1. SuzukiScoop's Elena Myers has been unable to repeat her early SuperSport win, but has finished in the top ten consistently and is currently in third.

AMA Pro SuperSport Road America Race 2 Results
1. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
2. Jake Lewis (Suzuki)
3. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
4. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
5. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)
6. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
7. Elena Myers (Suzuki)
8. Tyler Linders (Yamaha)
9. Ryan Matter (Yamaha)
10. Devon McDonough (Yamaha)
11. Travis Ohge (Suzuki)
12. Cody Wyman (Suzuki)
13. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)
14. Zach Herrin (Yamaha)
15. Charles Weaver (Yamaha)

AMA Pro SuperSport West Championship Points:
1. James Rispoli, 181
2. Hayden Gillim, 155
3. Elena Myers, 113
4. Tyler Linders, 67
5. Travis Ohge, 67
6. Ryan Matter, 59
7. Sebastiao Ferreira, 59
8. Devon McDonough, 42
9. Rocco Horvath, 36
10. Colter Dimick, 34

2012 AMA Pro Road Racing Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
2011 AMA Road America Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Road Racing Championship Points
AMA Superbike
Daytona Sportbike
AMA Pro Supersport West
AMA Pro Road Racing Riders
Josh Hayes
Josh Hayes is a dedicated road racer who started in 1994 and won the AMA Superbike Championship in 2010. Read more about Hayes' racing career on the Josh Hayes bio page.
Blake Young
Riding since the age of four, Blake Young has become an important fixture in the AMA Pro Road Racing Series and is still searching for his first title after coming just shy in 2011.
Roger Hayden
Learn more about Roger Hayden on Motorcycle USA's Roger Hayden bio page for career highlights, pictures, and news.

Login or sign up to comment.