Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

SuperBike Barber Race 2 Results 2012

Sunday, June 24, 2012
Josh Hayes has a commanding points lead in SuperBike.
Josh Hayes took the win in Race 2 at Barber, giving him eight total wins so far this season.
Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes earned his fifth-straight AMA Pro National Guard Superbike win in Race 2 at Barber Motorsports Park. Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Young took second almost five seconds behind and Hayes’ teammate Josh Herrin rounded out the podium. Team Amsoil’s Geoff May rode his EBR 1190RS into fourth followed by National Guard Jordan Suzuki’s Roger Hayden in fifth. Herrin challanged his teammate for the lead early on but slipped off track on Lap 4 and down to ninth.

"I got a decent start and slotted in right behind Josh," Hayes said. "I eased up inside of him in Turn 4 and got in there. At that point I just tried to get back into a rhythm. Things were going pretty good -- at one point I opened up a second on Josh and was kind of holding it there for a couple laps. When I saw that he took it back, I said, 'okay, don't deviate from your game plan,' because I was doing a good pace and not making mistakes. I wanted to keep up a good steady pace and see what happened and then I came around and saw a three-second gap. It's so hot and so slippery -- there was the mistake I was waiting to see if it would happen."

While Hayes was again uncatchable out front, the battle for second ended in a close battle between Young and Herrin. Young started outside the top five and clawed his way up to third in the first half of the race, but was unable to overcome Herrin as he contended with Hayes for the lead. Herrin made up the postion he lost after going off track and returned to duke it out with Young for second during the last half of the race. Herrin also posted the fastest lap of Race 2 during his impressive comeback.

Blake Young  79  holding second place in Race 2 at Barber.
Young (79) ahead of Herrin (2), but the Yamaha rider would try hard to get past Young before Race 2 was finished.
It was a crazy race. I just made way too many mistakes in the race today and lost too many positions due to it," said Herrin. "That's the first time I've had any close moments on the 1000 all year, but luckily I was able to recover from it and come back from way back. That felt really good and I have a lot of motivation."

May was unable to move past fourth during the race and at one point had slipped to sixth. Hayden and Jordan Suzuki's Ben Bostrom traded positions with the EBR rider throughout, all three riders hoping to get close enough for a chance at a podium finish. Bostrom came out of the start in the top three but started falling back mid-race once Herrin got past during his charge from behind. Motorcycle-Superstore.com/Attack Performance's Steve Rapp improved his performance from a ninth place finish in Race 1 to seventh in Race 2, sitting as high as sixth before the checkers.

Hayes' eighth win of the season extended his points lead over Young to 37. Herrin remains in third and has 86 points to make up before catching up to Young. May and Hayden are separated by just one point between fourth and fifth and Foremost Insurance's Larry Pegram trails Hayden by seven in sixth-place.

SuperBike Race 2 podium with Josh Hayes  center  in first  Blake Young  left  in second and Josh Herrin  right  in third.
SuperBike Race 2 podium with Josh Hayes (center) in first, Blake Young (left) in second and Josh Herrin (right) in third.
AMA SuperBike Barber Race 2 Results:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. Blake Young (Suzuki)
3. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
4. Geoff May (EBR)
5. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
6. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki)
7. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki)
8. Larry Pegram (BMW)
9. David Anthony (Suzuki)
10. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki)
11. Stefan Nebel (KTM)
12. Trent Gibson (Suzuki)
13. Jason Farrell (Kawasaki)
14. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki)
15. Tim Bemisderfer (Suzuki)

AMA Pro SuperBike Points:
1. Josh Hayes, 320
2. Blake Young, 283
3. Josh Herrin, 197
4. Geoff May, 159
5. Roger Hayden, 158
6. Larry Pegram, 151
7. Ben Bostrom, 126
8. Chris Clark, 124
9. Danny Eslick, 121
10. Steve Rapp, 115
2012 AMA Pro Racing Barber Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Road Racing Championship Points
AMA Superbike
Daytona Sportbike
AMA Pro Supersport West

Login or sign up to comment.

AnthonyD   June 25, 2012 11:15 AM
Just give Hayes the trophy already.