Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

SuperSport New Orleans Race 2 Results 2012

Sunday, October 7, 2012
Garrett Gerloff struggled in SuperSport Race 1  falling outside the top-10 after contending for a podium finish.
Garrett Gerloff took the AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport Race 2 win at New Orleans Motorsports Park.
Yamaha Extended Service’s Garrett Gerloff took home the AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport win in dominant fashion at New Orleans Motorsports Park. Gerloff beat out his closest competition, Road Race Factory’s Hayden Gillim, by over 11 seconds at the checkers. Celtic Racing’s James Rispoli rounded out the podium an additional 11 seconds back.

Gerloff got to the front early on and began building his gap on the field immediately. Rispoli and Gillim were in close competition through the opening laps, but Gillim was able to find a line past the Suzuki rider and once he slotted into second, he proceeded to build a gap of his own.

Gillim’s teammate Tomas Puerta finished in fourth, followed by Castrol Triumph’s Dustin Dominguez in fifth. Dominguez powered through the field to the fifth spot, but had to chip away at a gap on fourth that was close to five seconds at one point. By the finish, Dominguez trailed Puerta by 1.926 seconds.

Harv’s Harley-Davidson’s Travis Wyman, fresh from his XR1200 race, finished sixth in SuperSport followed by Best Book 1’s Ryan Kerr in seventh. Eyeball NYC’s Miles Thornton took eighth with Suzuki’s Elena Myers and Kneedragger.com’s Stefano Mesa taking ninth and tenth respectively.

Rispoli clinched the SuperSport West and Overall division titles after Race 1 at New Orleans, and Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki’s Jake Lewis led the East Division. Dominguez claimed second overall in the East, with Puerta third and Mesa in fourth. Gillim took second behind Rispoli in Western division points and Myers finished the season in third.

AMA Pro SuperSport New Orleans Race 2 Results 2012:
1. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
2. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)
3. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
4. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
5. Dustin Dominguez (Triumph)
6. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)
7. Ryan Kerr (Kawasaki)
8. Miles Thornton (Yamaha)
9. Elena Myers (Suzuki)
10. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
11. Jake Lewis (Suzuki)
12. Frankie Gillim (Honda)
13. Ryan Matter (Yamaha)
14. Colter Dimick (Yamaha)
15. Tyler Linders (Yamaha)

AMA Pro SuperSport West Championship Points 2012:
1. James Rispoli, 318
2. Hayden Gillim, 276
3. Elena Myers, 197
4. Ryan Matter, 124
5. Tyler Linders, 99
6. Travis Ohge, 94
7. Sebastiao Ferreira, 90
8. Garrett Willis, 68
9. Colter Dimick, 65
10. Devon McDonough, 58

AMA Pro SuperSport East Championship Points 2012:
1. Jake Lewis, 256
2. Dustin Dominguez, 245
3. Tomas Puerta, 231
4. Stefano Mesa, 223
5. Corey Alexander, 161
6. Travis Wyman, 153
7. Miles Thornton, 121
8. Ryan Kerr, 119
9. Eric Stump, 63
10. Frankie Gillim, 59

2012 AMA Pro New Orleans Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Pro Road Racing Riders
Josh Hayes
Josh Hayes is a dedicated road racer who started in 1994 and won the AMA Superbike Championship in 2010. Read more about Hayes' racing career on the Josh Hayes bio page.
Blake Young
Riding since the age of four, Blake Young has become an important fixture in the AMA Pro Road Racing Series and is still searching for his first title after coming just shy in 2011.
Roger Hayden
Learn more about Roger Hayden on Motorcycle USA's Roger Hayden bio page for career highlights, pictures, and news.

Login or sign up to comment.