Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

2012 World Superbike Entry List Confirmed

Wednesday, January 18, 2012
World Superbike has released its provisional entry lists for the 2012 season. Notably absent from the 24-rider SBK grid is Noriyuki Haga. This year’s entry list also lacks two former champs and Haga rivals, Troy Corser and James Toseland, both having retired in 2011. Prominent additions to the SBK ranks include 2011 World Supersport champ Chaz Davies on a ParkinGO Aprilia and former MotoGP competitor Hiroshi Aoyama on the Honda World Superbike Team. Another addition, and the only American in the premier class, John Hopkins will campaign 2012 for Crescent Suzuki.
Leon Haslam  #91  had the lead at the start of Race 1  but ended up losing it on Lap 7 to Jakub Smrz. - Donington
The World Superbike grid will include 24 riders in the premier class, including prominent additions like World Supersport champ Chaz Davies and American John Hopkins.

A pair of American up-and-comers make their debut in the Supersport ranks. Patrick Jacobsen will ride the PTR Honda, meanwhile Josh Day races a Kawasaki ZX-6R for Team GOELEVEN. Supersport also will have a trio of Russian riders this season: Vladimir Leonov, Eduard Blokhin and Oleg Pozdneev. World Superbike will hold its first-ever races in Russia when it visits Moscow for Round 11 on August 26th.

2012 World Superbike Provisional Entry List
3 Max Biaggi (Aprilia Racing)
58 Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing)
7 Carlos Checa (Althea Ducati)
34 Davide Giugliano (Althea Ducati)
50 Sylvain Guintoli (Effenbert Liberty Ducati)
96 Jakub Smrz (Effenbert Liberty Ducati)
33 Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad)
91 Leon Haslam (BMW Motorrad)
4 Hiroshi Aoyama (Honda World Superbike)
65 Jonathan Rea (Honda World Superbike)
84 Michel Fabrizio (BMW Motorrad Italia)
86 Ayrton Badovini (BMW Motorrad Italia)
78 Lorenzo Zanetti (PATA Ducati)
17 Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki Racing)
66 Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing)
36 Leandro Mercado (Pedercini Kawasaki)
44 David Salom (Pedercini Kawasaki)
21 John Hopkins (Crescent Suzuki)
Leon Camier (Crescent Suzuki)
Mark Aitchison (Grillini Progea BMW)
121 Maxime Berger (Liberty Racing - Team Effenbert Ducati)
19 Chaz Davies (ParkinGO Aprilia)
35 Raffaele De Rosa (Pro Ride Honda)
59 Niccolò Canepa (Ducati Roma)

2012 World Supersport Provisional Entry List
23 Broc Parkes (Ten Kate Honda)
9 Patrick Jacobsen (PTR Honda)
34 Ronan Quarmby (PTR Honda)
32 Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki DeltaFin Lorenzini)
54 Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki DeltaFin Lorenzini)
11 Sam Lowes (Bogdanka PTR Honda)
20 Mathew Scholtz (Bogdanka PTR Honda)
55 Massimo Roccoli(Bike Service by WTR TEN 10 Yamaha)
98 Romain Lanusse (Kawasaki Intermoto Step)
99 Fabien Foret (Kawasaki Intermoto Step)
10 Imre Toth (Racing Team Toth Honda)
38 Balazs Nemeth (Racing Team Toth Honda)
31 Vittorio Iannuzzo (Suriano Racing Triumph)
69 Ondrej Jezek (SMS Racing Honda)
27 Thomas Caiani (KUJA Racing Honda)
24 Eduard Blokhin (RivaMoto Yamaha)
73 Oleg Pozdneev (RivaMoto Yamaha)
19 Pawel Szkopek (Bogdanka Racing Honda)
95 Robert Muresan (East European Racing Honda)
119 Janos Chrobak (East European Racing Honda)
52 Lucas Pesek (PRORACE Honda)
40 Martin Jessopp (Riders PTR Honda)
71 Thomas Berghammer (Team Berghammer Honda)
64 Joshua Day (Team GOELEVEN Kawasaki)
8 Andrea Antonelli (Team Lorini Honda)
22 Roberto Tamburini (Team Lorini Honda)
33 Yves Polzer (Team MRC Austria Yamaha)
13 Dino Lombardi (Team PATA by Martini Yamaha)
3 Jed Metcher (Team RivaMoto Yamaha)
28 Giacomo Micheli (VFT Racing Yamaha)
61 Fabio Menghi (VFT Racing Yamaha)
65 Vladimir Leonov (Yakhnich Motorsport Yamaha)
2011 World Superbike Season Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
World Superbike Racer Bios
Tom Sykes
Tom Sykes earned his first World Superbike championship title in 2013 and he returns with Kawasaki in 2014 to try for the top-spot once again. Read more on the Tom Sykes bio page.
Leon Haslam
Son of the legendary Ron Haslam, Leon Haslam is poised to make his own mark on motorcycle racing history as a leading contender for the World Superbike Championship. Read more on the Leon Haslam bio page for career highlights, pictures, and news.
Eugene Laverty
Following a successful stint in World Supersport which included back-to-back runner-up finishes, Eugene Laverty is quickly building a reputation in the premier world championship. Learn more about the Irishman on the Eugene Laverty bio page.
Jonathan Rea
One of the numerous crossovers to World SBK from the British Superbike series, Jonathan Rea will be leading the Pata Honda charge once again in 2014. Learn more about Jonathan Rea on the Jonathan Rea bio page.

Login or sign up to comment.

iowaboynca   January 18, 2012 05:31 PM
Wouldn't it be great if there was a Motorcycle-USA.com sponsored privateer squad on last year's Yamaha R1's with Haga and Adam Waheed as riders? C'mon I can see it happen...