Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

World Supersport Assen Results 2012

Sunday, April 22, 2012
Lorenzo Lanzi claimed victory in the Assen Supersport race.
Lorenzo Lanzi is batting 1000 in World Supersport in 2012, the veteran Italian rider claimed victory at Assen.
Prorace Honda’s Lorenzo Lanzi claimed the Assen World Supersport victory during a wet race at the Dutch circuit. Former Supersport champion Kenan Sofuoglu joined the Italian on the Assen podium, along with Vladimir Leonov – the Ykhnich Racing Yamaha rider the first Russion to claim a Supersport rostrum.

The 31-year-old Lanzi excelled in his first Honda Supersport debut. The former SBK winning rider survived the wet conditions, passing Sofuoglu on Lap 8 and lapping backmarkers en route to the SS win. The victory also puts Lanzi sixth in the title fight, despite missing the two opening races.

Key championship riders faltered in the wet conditions. Pole position starter Sam Lowes crashed out while leading the race. The British rider drops to third in the points. The points leader arriving at Assen, Fabien Foret, also netted zero points with a DNF. Foret now shares the points lead with Sofuoglu at 45 apiece.

Ten Kate’s Broc Parkes led the opening lap, surrendering the position to Lowes. The Australian would go on to finish fourth in his team’s home SS race. American PJ Jacobsen scored points in his Supersport debut, the last rider lapped by Lanzi in 13th. Fellow AMA Pro Racing alumn Josh Day was one of 14 riders unable to finish the incident-filled race.

2012 World Supersport Assen Results:
American PJ Jacobsen makes his World Supersport debut at Assen.
American PJ Jacobsen scored points in his World Supersport debut, finishing 13th on the Bogdanka Honda PTR.
1. Lorenzo Lanzi (Honda)
2. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki)
3. Vladimir Leonov (Yamaha)
4. Broc Parkes (Honda)
5. Alex Baldolini (Triumph)
6. Jules Cluzel (Honda)
7. Andrea Antonelli (Honda)
8. Twan Van Poppel (Yamaha)
9. Roberto Tamburini (Honda)
10. Stuart Voskamp (Suzuki)
11. Romain Lanusse (Kawasaki)
12. Thomas Caiani (Honda)
13. Patrick Jacobsen (Honda)
14. Luca Marconi (Yamaha)
15. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki)
DNF Sam Lowes (Honda)
DNF Ronan Quarmby (Honda)
DNF Mathew Scholtz (Honda)
PTR Honda rider Sam Lowes in action at Assen.
Sam Lowes tossed away the points lead with a DNF at Assen.
DNF Fabien Foret (Kawasaki)
DNF Joshua Day (Kawasaki)

2012 World Supersport Points:
1. Kenan Sofuoglu, 45
2. Fabien Foret, 45
3. Sam Lowes, 31
4. Broc Parkes, 29
5. Vladimir Leonov, 26
6. Lorenzo Lanzi, 25
7. Ronan Quarmby, 25
8. Alex Baldolini, 24
9. Jules Cluzel, 23
10. Roberto Tamburini, 20
2012 World Superbike Assen Photos
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
World Superbike Racer Bios
Tom Sykes
Tom Sykes earned his first World Superbike championship title in 2013 and he returns with Kawasaki in 2014 to try for the top-spot once again. Read more on the Tom Sykes bio page.

Login or sign up to comment.