Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

World Supersport Silverstone Results 2012

Sunday, August 5, 2012
Jules Cluzel took the World Supersport win at Silverstone.
Jules Cluzel took the win with a final lap pass by PTR teammate Sam Lowes in World Supersport at Silverstone.
Wet conditions plagued the start of World Supersport at Silverstone, forcing a restart after light rain started to fall during the opening laps. Bogdanka PTR’s Mathew Sholtz lowsided prior to the restart after another rider collided with him. Once the contest got underway, PTR Honda’s Jules Cluzel took the early lead but lost it on the third lap to teammate Sam Lowes. Lowes maintained the front until the last lap, when Cluzel slipped past to take the win. Lowes was a mere 0.157 behind in second and Ten Kate Racing’s Broc Parkes rounded out the podium.

“That was a hard race but I had my race plan I wanted to do and I stuck to it,” said Cluzel afterward. “I drafted Sam on the last lap but then he came back at me on the final corner and we touched, it was very close. I am pleased to win and also very happy to enjoy racing here and the feeling I have with my PTR Honda.”

Cluzel’s teammate Ronan Quarmby held to fourth and was followed by current championship points leader Kenan Sofuoglu of Kawasaki Lorenzini in fifth. Brno winner Fabien Foret of Kawasaki Intermoto Step came across the finish in sixth and was followed by Sofuoglu’s teammate Sheridan Morais in seventh. Power Team by Suriano’s Alex Baldolini finished in eighth with Bike Service R.T.’s Andrea Antonelli and Prorace’s Gabor Talmacsi taking ninth and tenth respectively.

Sofuoglu remains the points leader, with Lowes trailing in second by 14. Cluzel is up to third overall, 28 off the lead, knocking Foret down to fourth. Parkes and Morais both held steady in fifth and sixth respectively.

World Supersport Silverstone Results 2012:
1. Jules Cluzel (Honda)
2. Sam Lowes (Honda)
3. Broc Parkes (Honda)
4. Ronan Quarmby (Honda)
5. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki)
6. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki)
7. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki)
8. Alex Baldolini (Triumph)
9. Andrea Antonelli (Yamaha)
10. Gabor Talmacsi (Honda)
11. Mathew Scholtz (Honda)
12. Roberto Tamburini (Honda)
13. Vittorio Iannuzzo (Triumph)
14. Romain Lanusse (Kawasaki)
15. Raffaele De Rosa (Honda)

World Supersport Championship Points:
1. Kenan Sofuoglu, 148
2. Sam Lowes, 134
3. Jules Cluzel, 120
4. Fabien Foret, 118
5. Broc Parkes, 98
6. Sheridan Morais, 71
7. Ronan Quarmby, 67
8. Alex Baldolini, 62
9. Vittorio Iannuzzo, 51
10. Roberto Tamburini, 43
2012 World Superbike Silverstone
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
World Superbike Point Standings

Login or sign up to comment.