Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

World Supersport Magny-Cours Results 2012

Sunday, October 7, 2012
Jules Cluzel of PTR Honda taking pole position in World Supersport at Moscow Raceway.
Jules Cluzel took home the win at Magny-Cours in front of his home crowd. He finished the season second overall.
PTR Honda’s Jules Cluzel earned his fourth win of the season in front of his home crowd at Magny-Cours, beating out his PTR teammate Sam Lowes by 1.591 seconds. MSD R-N Racing Team India’s Dan Linfoot took his best finish of the season in third in dramatic fashion after being knocked off his bike during a pass attempt by eventual fourth-place finisher Kenan Sofuoglu of Kawasaki Lorenzini.

Linfoot was able to restart after the incident, finishing in fourth but after an official review Sofuoglu was penalized 25 seconds, giving the British rider the advantage. Sofuoglu came off the start strong, holding the lead through the opening laps, but fell back on Lap 4 when Cluzel took over the front. The Turkish rider slotted into fourth and held steady until the final lap when he attempted to pass Linfoot. Lowes was steady in second from Lap 10 forward, avoiding the turmoil behind him by building a gap of over 27 seconds on the Kawasaki rider.

Kawasaki Intermoto Step’s Fabien Foret finished in fifth, followed by Alex Baldolini of Power Team by Suriano. Lowes’ teammate Mathew Scholtz took seventh with Bike Service R.T.’s Andrea Antonelli trailing in eighth. PRORACE’s Gabor Talmacsi and Rivamoto Junior Team’s Jed Metcher took ninth and 10th respectively.

Sofuoglu had the championship all sealed up after his performance in the previous round at Portimao, and Cluzel solidified his position in second. Lowes ends the season in third, beating out Foret by just one point.

World Supersport Magny-Cours Results 2012:
1. Jules Cluzel (Honda)
2. Sam Lowes (Honda)
3. Dan Linfoot (Kawasaki)
4. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki)
5. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki)
6. Alex Baldolini (Triumph)
7. Mathew Scholtz (Honda)
8. Andrea Antonelli (Yamaha)
9. Gabor Talmacsi (Honda)
10. Jed Metcher (Yamaha)
11. Florian Marino (Kawasaki)
12. Balzas Nemeth (Honda)
13. Imre Toth (Honda)
14. Sheridan Morais (Kawasaki)
15. Massimo Roccoli (Yamaha)

World Supersport Championship Points 2012:
1. Kenan Sofuoglu, 231
2. Jules Cluze, 210
3. Sam Lowes, 172
4. Fabien Foret, 171
5. Broc Parkes, 135
6. Sheridan Morais, 96
7. Alex Baldolini, 96
8. Ronan Quarmby, 84
9. Vittorio Iannuzzo, 60
10. Andrea Antonelli, 60

2012 WorldSBK Magny-Cours Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
World Superbike Point Standings

Login or sign up to comment.