Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Indianapolis Moto2 Results 2012

Sunday, August 19, 2012
Marc Marquez  93   Johann Zarco  5  and Alessandro Andreaozzi at Indy.
Marc Marquez schooled the competition in Sunday's Moto2 race from Indianapolis.
Spanish rider and soon-to-be MotoGP class racer Marc Marquez won the second race of the day at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the Honda-powered Moto2 series. Marquez won easily finishing the race almost six seconds ahead of Pol Espargaro.
"In the beginning I was a little surprised because I thought Pol and [Andrea] Iannone would be stronger," said Marquez. "But I saw that the race was quite slow. I tried to lead the race and try to make my rhythm that I make in the qualifying and practice and warm-up. From that was quite difficult in the middle of the race and in the end keep the same concentration, because when I was alone there in front, was quite difficult."

Julian Simon scored the final podium spot ahead of former MotoGP racer Mika Kallio and Thomas Luthi.

"I am really happy to be on the podium," Simon said. "I started the second part of the season very good. This is my idea for the second part, to stay in this line and continue. I change something in the team and also in the bike, so I want to say congratulations today to the team because it is very important for me to recover the good sensation in the bike because the first part was very difficult. Also, it was complicated after the broken leg, so for me this podium is like a victory. So I'm very happy."

Indianapolis Moto2 Results:
1. Marc Marquez (SUTER)
2. Pol Espargaro (KALEX)
3. Julian Simon (SUTER)
4. Mika Kallio (KALEX)
5. Thomas Luthi (SUTER)
6. Scott Redding (KALEX)
7. Dominique Aagerter Switzerland (SUTER)
8. Simone Corsi (FTR)
9. Andrea Iannone (SPEED UP)
10. Claudio Corti (KALEX)
11. Esteve Rabat (KALEX)
12. Johann Zarco (MOTOBI)
13. Nicolas Terol (SUTER)
14. Anthony West (SPEED UP)
15. Ricard Cardus (AJR)
16. Bradley Smith (TECH 3)
17. Takaaki Nakagami (KALEX)
18. Randy Krummenacher (KALEX)
19. Jordi Torres (SUTER)
20. Gino Rea (SUTER)

2012 MotoGP Indianapolis Photos
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
2012 Red Bull Indianapolis GP Photos
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow

Login or sign up to comment.