Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Thunder Valley 250 Motocross Results 2013

Saturday, May 25, 2013
Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen maintained his perfect record in the 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, taking the win in 250 Moto 1 at Thunder Valley. GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac gave chase for the entire moto and pressured for the front late in the contest, but a final lap incident left him over seven seconds back in second-place. MyPlash Yamaha’s Cooper Webb earned his first professional podium in third.

Tomac’s teammate, Zach Osborne, flew ahead of Roczen to grab the Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot, but Roczen was quick to find a line to the front. The KTM ace proceeded to build a slight gap on the field through the remaining laps of competition, but Tomac was a beast in the final minutes and started nipping at Roczen’s rear tire as they entered the last laps. The two riders fought hard until the final lap when Tomac lost traction coming out of a turn, going down and losing any chance of grabbing the win. Webb was over 40 seconds back in third, so Tomac had plenty of time to remount and finish in the runner-up position.

Webb charged thought the pack and made a move on Roczen’s teammate, Marvin Musquin, with eight minutes remaining for third. Musquin held steady in fourth, followed by Rockstar Suzuki’s Jason Anderson in fifth. Osborne, who crashed after losing the lead to Rozen and fell back to ninth, fought his way back to finish in sixth. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos earned seventh-place followed by Webb’s teammate, Jeremy Martin, in eighth.

Davalos’ teammate, Blake Baggett, was frustrated from the start after falling outside the top-20, but BB battled back throughout the moto and eventually made ninth-place before the checkers.

Tomac put an end to Roczen’s moto win streak in Moto 2, taking the checkers over 20 seconds ahead of Osborne, who pushed past Roczen in the final laps to finish second. Roczen was strong in the runner-up spot until Osborne cut in front of him in the last turns, relegating the KTM rider to third-place.

Martin flew off the line for the holeshot but lost the lead within the opening corners to Osborne. Tomac and Roczen were powering up the ranks as well and the Honda rider wasted no time in getting the best of his teammate, moving to the lead early and never looking back.

While Tomac ran a lonely race out front, Roczen did well to fend off pressure until the latter stages of competition. Osborne took his best finish yet of the season after he moved past Roczen.

Musquin ended Moto 2 in fourth followed by Baggett in fifth. Baggett got a better start in Moto 2 but struggled to make the top-five as he continues to suffer pain from an injured wrist.

Martin crossed the finish in sixth, followed by Tomac’s teammate, Justin Bogle, in seventh and Wharton in eighth.
Thanks to Tomac’s Moto 2 win, he places first in the overall rankings with Roczen in second. Osborne made the overall podium in third with his 6-2 showing, followed by Musquin in fourth.

Roczen retains the overall points lead, but Tomac has closed in and now sits just six points adrift of the lead. Musquin moved into third-place overall, two points ahead of Baggett, who slipped to fourth.

Thunder Valley 250 Motocross Results 2013:
1. Eli Tomac (Honda) 2-1
2. Ken Roczen (KTM) 1-3
3. Zach Osborne (Honda) 6-2
4. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 4-4
5. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki) 9-5
6. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha) 8-6
7. Martin Davalos (Kawasaki) 7-10
8. Jason Anderson (Suzuki) 5-12
9. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) 3-17
10. Justin Bogle (Honda) 13-7
11. Blake Wharton (Suzuki) 14-8
12. Justin Hill (Kawasaki) 12-11
13. Dominic Izzi (Suzuki) 11-13
14. Cole Seely (Honda) 10-14
15. Dilan Epstein (Kawasaki) 15-15

250 Motocross Championship Points 2013:
1. Ken Roczen, 95
2. Eli Tomac, 89
3. Marvin Musquin, 72
4. Blake Baggett, 70
5. Zach Osborne, 65
6. Jeremy Martin, 50
7. Jason Anderson, 49
8. Cooper Webb, 43
9. Kyle Cunningham, 39
10. Justin Hill, 39

2013 Thunder Valley Motocross
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Motocross Championship Points
250 Motocross
AMA Motocross / Supercross Riders
Chad Reed
Learn everything you need to know about MX / SX champ Chad Reed. Check out Motorcycle USA's Chad Reed bio page for career highlights, pictures, and news.
James Stewart
A front runner from day one, James "Bubba" Stewart is one of the fastest supercross racers around. Check out Motorcycle USA's James Stewart bio for career highlights, full biography, interviews, and news.
Ryan Villopoto
Get to know supercross and motocross champion Ryan Villopoto in his full bio at Motorcycle-USA.com. Get full career highlights, a complete Villopoto bio, pictures, and the latest news.
Ryan Dungey
While still wet behind the ears Ryan Dungey, has managed to accomplish what many riders spend years chasing. Get to know Dungey in his full bio at Motorcycle-USA.com with career highlights, racer biography, pictures, and the latest news.
Trey Canard
Get to know Trey Canard in his full biography at Motorcycle-USA.com. Full career highlights, a complete Trey Canard racer bio, pictures, and the latest news.

Login or sign up to comment.