Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

World Supersport Phillip Island Results 2013

Saturday, February 23, 2013

MAHI Racing Team India’s Kenan Sofuoglu edged out Yakhnich Motorsport’s Sam Lowes for the World Supersport win at Phillip Island. The two were locked in a back-and-forth battle for the entire race, exchanging the lead numerous times over the 15-lap contest. Sofuoglu gained the upper hand four laps from the finish, earning the 32nd win of his career. Pata Honda World Supersport’s Michael van der Mark rounded out the podium.

“It all worked out very well in the end,” said Sofuoglu. “Sam Lowes did a good job all weekend and it was not easy to catch him, but we kept working to find the way to save the tire for 15 laps and in the morning warm-up I did not give up. This morning I told mechanics we should do it in the warm-up and show everyone we could do it in the race. Warm-up was good and also the race - the last three or four laps especially. The plan was to give it everything and the lap times was almost at qualification pace for those last three laps. I was happy because the team were working very well and the bike also.”

Sofuoglu’s teammate, Fabien Foret, grabbed fourth, followed by Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres riders David Salom and Luca Scassa in fifth and sixth respectively. Team Goeleven’s Andrea Antonelli finished seventh with Van der Mark’s teammate, Lorenzo Zanetti in ninth and Team Pata by Martini’s Massimo Roccoli rounded out the top-10.

Sofuoglu now leads the overall points battle by five over Lowes after Phillip Island, with Van der Mark third, an additional four points back.

World Supersport Phillip Island Results 2013:
1. Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki)
2. Sam Lowes (Yamaha)
3. Michael van der Mark (Honda)
4. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki)
5. David Salom (Kawasaki)
6. Luca Scassa (Kawasaki)
7. Andrea Antonelli (Kawasaki)
8. Lorenzo Zanetti (Honda)
9. Massimo Roccoli (Yamaha)
10. Jack Kennedy (Honda)
11. Vladimir Ivanov (Kawasaki)
12. Luca Marconi (Honda)
13. Roberto Tamburini (Suzuki)
14. Mathew Scholtz (Suzuki)
15. Alex Baldolini (Honda)

World Supersport Championship Points 2013:
1. Kenan Sofuoglu, 25
2. Sam Lowes, 20
3. Michael van der Mark, 16
4. Fabien Foret, 13
5. David Salom, 11
6. Luca Scassa, 10
7. Andrea Antonelli, 9
8. Lorenzo Zanetti, 8
9. Massimo Roccoli, 7
10. Jack Kennedy, 6

2013 World Superbike Season Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
2013 World SBK Phillip Island Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
World Superbike Point Standings

Login or sign up to comment.