Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Barber SuperSport Race 1 Results 2013

Saturday, June 22, 2013
California SuperBike School’s Joe Roberts dropped in at Barber Motorsports Park for his AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport debut is proving to be a serious contender on track. Roberts has been the fastest rider in the class all weekend, topping the timesheet in Friday practice and then in both qualifying sessions. He capped it off with the Race 1 win, coming across the finish over eight seconds ahead of RoadRace Factory’s Tomas Puerta. Another newcomer, TOBC Racing’s Nick McFadden, proved to be able to keep pace with the regulars in the class, earning the final step on the podium.

Roberts has been a competitor in the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup, but he recently turned 16 and became eligible for AMA Pro racing. He wasted no time once Race 1 was under way, pushing to the front of the pack in the opening laps. Team 95’s Hayden Gillim trailed in second and Puerta held to third. CTR Racing’s Miles Thornton settled into fourth-place and McFadden was fifth, and in the early portion of the race competition was close in the lead pack, with just fractions of a second separating the riders in the top-five.

Roberts proceeded to leave the field behind as he stretched a gap that grew bit-by-bit through every lap. Behind, riders traded positions in a frantic back-and-forth battle for a spot on the rostrum.

Gillim ended the day in fourth-place with Thornton trailing in fifth. National Guard’s Corey Alexander trailed Thornton by over 10 seconds at the finish, taking sixth-place followed by Meen Motorsports’ Wyatt Farris in seventh.

In SuperSport East points, Motosport.com’s Stefano Mesa continues to lead. Alexander crept closer to the top spot, now sitting four points shy of Mesa’s 108 current total. Gillim is third followed by Harv’s Harley-Davidson’s Travis Wyman in fourth.

AMA SuperSport Barber Race 1 Results 2013:
1. Joe Roberts (Honda)
2. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
3. Nick McFadden (Suzuki)
4. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)
5. Miles Thornton (Yamaha)
6. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
7. Wyatt Farris (Yamaha)
8. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
9. Sebastiao Ferreira (Yamaha)
10. Charles Weaver (Yamaha)
11. Curtis Murray (Suzuki)
12. Ryan Matter (Yamaha)
13. David Sadowski Jr. (Yamaha)
14. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)
15. Conner Blevins (Kawasaki)

SuperSport East Points 2013:
1. Stefano Mesa, 108
2. Corey Alexander, 104
3. Hayden Gillim, 61
4. Travis Wyman, 54
5. Miles Thornton, 51
6. Conner Blevins, 45
7. Devon McDonough, 28
8. Mark Miller Jr., 27
9. Ricardo Valdez, 24
10. Nick McFadden, 21
2013 AMA Pro Racing Barber Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Pro Road Racing Riders
Josh Hayes
Josh Hayes is a dedicated road racer who started in 1994 and won the AMA Superbike Championship in 2010. Read more about Hayes' racing career on the Josh Hayes bio page.
Blake Young
Riding since the age of four, Blake Young has become an important fixture in the AMA Pro Road Racing Series and is still searching for his first title after coming just shy in 2011.
Roger Hayden
Learn more about Roger Hayden on Motorcycle USA's Roger Hayden bio page for career highlights, pictures, and news.

Login or sign up to comment.