Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

AMA Pro Laguna Seca SuperSport Results 2013

Saturday, July 20, 2013
California Superbike School’s Joe Roberts returned to the AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport grid at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, frustrating the field with his presence on track. Roberts, who has now run just three AMA Pro races in his career, won the SuperSport contest at Laguna Seca and remains undefeated in the series. Adding to the young rider’s achievement is that fact that it was his first time ever racing at the track. RoadRace Factory’s Tomas Puerta fought hard to keep Roberts from the win, but the Yamaha rider fell just one-tenth of a second short at the finish, ending in the runner-up spot. National Guard’s Corey Alexander rounded out the podium.

Puerta and Roberts led the way through the initial laps, but midway into the race Houston Superbikes’ Travis Ohge went down, forcing a red flag. Once the track was clear, riders lined up for the restart with nine laps to go. Roberts started from pole position on the restart, followed by Puerta in second, Baby Appleseed’s Jeffery Tigert in third and Alexander in fourth.

Puerta drove off the line to assume the early lead after Ohge’s incident, but Roberts was right on his tail. Alexander moved into third-place soon after and the three riders proceeded to gap the field as they swapped position for the race win. Roberts found his way past Puerta a few laps into the restart, and was able to hold there until the final moments when Puerta finally answered back. Alexander was pressuring hard from third, but couldn’t make a pass for better position stick as the battle between Roberts and Puerta intensified.

Entering the final lap Puerta held the lead and looked to be playing solid defense against Roberts, but the California Superbike School ace made a bold move entering the corkscrew for the lead. Puerta didn’t give an inch though and his frustration with Roberts’ move was palpable. The Yamaha rider pushed back hard in the following turns and briefly regained the front, but Roberts out ran him coming off the final turn for the win.

Tigert ended in fourth followed by MotoSport.com’s Stefano Mesa in fifth. BP Racing’s Sebastio Ferreira took sixth followed by Jon Block Group Sports’ Wyatt Farris in seventh.

Puerta maintains his lead in the SuperSport West division, followed by Tigert in second overall and Ferreira in third.

AMA Pro SuperSport Laguna Seca 2013 podium with Joe Roberts  center  in first  Tomas Puerta  left  in second and Corey Alexander  right  in third.
AMA Pro SuperSport Laguna Seca 2013 podium with Joe Roberts (center) in first, Tomas Puerta (left) in second and Corey Alexander (right) in third.
AMA Pro SuperSport Laguna Seca Results 2013:
1. Joe Roberts (Honda)
2. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
3. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
4. Jeffrey Tigert (Yamaha)
5. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
6. Sebastiao Ferreira (Yamaha)
7. Wyatt Farris (Yamaha)
8. Charles Weaver (Yamaha)
9. Ryan Matter (Yamaha)
10. Cameron Gish (Yamaha)
11. Devon McDonough (Yamaha)
12. Brandon Cleland (Triumph)
13. Andrew DiBrino (Yamaha)
14. Erick Sanchez (Yamaha)
15. Tomas Montano (Triumph)

AMA Pro SuperSport West Points 2013:
1. Tomas Puerta, 113
2. Jeffrey Tigert, 73
3. Sebastiao Ferreira, 67
4. David Sadowski Jr., 56
5. Wyatt Farris, 53
6. Charles Weaver, 51
7. Travis Ohge, 43
8. Ryan Matter, 37
9. Joe Roberts, 32
10. Matthew Sadowski, 18
2013 AMA Pro Laguna Seca Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Road Racing Championship Points
AMA SuperSport West

Login or sign up to comment.