Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

AMA SuperBike Laguna Seca Results 2013

Sunday, September 29, 2013

Although Josh Hayes won the final American SuperBike race of the year it was Josh Herrin who finishes the season on top winning his first AMA championship of his career.

Herrin did it easily with a second place result ahead of Larry Pegram who finished in front of Chris Filmore after his KTM RC8R stopped running on at the final turn, on the final lap.

“I’m just pumped that it is over and I did it,” said the newly crowned champ. “I am going to have some exciting news tonight. I am about to sign my contract for next year. So two of the most exciting things in my life are happening right now.”

Herrin, who spent much of the weekend with his manager by his side is expected to remain with the Monster Graves Yamaha team.

It was a lonely race for the Yamaha duo after Yoshimura Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas crashed out of second place on Lap 2 after applying early pressure to Hayes. Filmore and Pegram battled for almost the entire duration of the race. Although Pegram’s R1 accelerated better off the corners Filmore was able to make up ground during braking—especially at Turn 2. After being overtaken early in the race the KTM rider shadowed his adversary and was finally able to make a pass toward the end of the race. It appeared that he was going to give the Orange Brigade a much needed podium result, that is until, his bike stopped running. Not wanting to give up he pushed his bike uphill manual-style and crossed the line in seventh.

“I ran out of fuel,” said Filmore. “We knew that we had been cutting it pretty close so we topped off on the grid because we knew it was going to be an issue. I guess we need a bigger fuel tank or it needs to stop drinking so much fuel.“

Fourth place went to Cory West on the Erik Buell Racing entry with teammate Aaron Yates behind him. The other orange bike ridden by Taylor Knapp finished sixth with Australian David Anthony finishing eighth.

American SuperBike Laguna Seca Race Results:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
3. Larry Pegram (Yamaha)
4. Corey West (Buell)
5. Aaron Yates (Buell)
6. Taylor Knapp (KTM)
7. Chris Filmore (KTM)
8. David Anthony (Suzuki)
9. Trent Gibson (Suzuki)
10. Kevin Pinkstaff (Kawasaki)
11. Mathew Orange (BMW)
12. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki)

2013 AMA Pro Road Racing Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Superbike Laguna Seca Photos
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow

Login or sign up to comment.