Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

Harley-Davidson Road America Results 2014

Sunday, June 1, 2014
KWR’s Kyle Wyman scored the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series race win at Road America by a fraction of a second ahead of Ruthless Racing’s Danny Eslick. Suburban Motors’ Ben Carlson rounded out the podium.

Wyman and Josh Chisum Racing’s Tyler O’Hara drove to the head of the pack off the start but soon lost the lead to defending series champion Steve Rapp, Carlson’s teammate. Rapp started to pull away slightly after gaining the front as O’Hara battled with Wyman, Eslick and Carlson for second-place. Rapp’s command of the field would be short-lived though, as three laps in he tucked the front and crashed out of competition.

Following Rapp’s off, riders behind shuffled a bit as O’Hara lost significant ground, falling a number of seconds behind the front runners to fourth. Wyman, Eslick and Carlson kept tight and swapped position at nearly every corner through the remaining laps, each taking a turn at the lead. Toward the end O’Hara pinned the throttle and in the midst of the final lap caught back up with the leaders, making for a four-way battle to the line.

Eslick maintained the early lead on the final lap, though Wyman moved past a few turns in. Wyman held there through the remainder of the lap with the other three riders tucked-in close behind, waiting to attempt a draft pass just before the line. Eslick was in the best position to challenge for the lead in second-place and tried hard down the start/finish straight to pass Wyman, but fell 0.033 seconds short at the checkers. Carlson finished by a similar margin ahead of O’Hara, who takes fourth.

Folsom Harley-Davidson’s Gage McAllister captured fifth followed by Thunder Roads Magazine’s Ryan Kerr in sixth and Chili Pepper Racing’s Hayden Schultz in seventh.

O’Hara leads in the overall standings followed by McAllister in second and Eslick in third. Carlson sits fourth while Wyman is back in sixth. Wyman physically crossed the line in the season opener at Daytona in first, and was awarded the win for a period after the race until AMA officials disqualified him from the race for having “non-compliant” engine components.

Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Road America Results 2014
1. Kyle Wyman
2. Danny Eslick
3. Ben Carlson
4. Tyler O’Hara
5. Gage McAllister
6. Ryan Kerr
7. Hayden Schultz
8. Eric Stump
9. Nick Hansen
10. Josh Chisum
11. David Estok
12. Brice Cooper
13. Darren James
14. Ricky Parker
15. Shelina Moreda

AMA Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series Points 2014
1. Tyler O’Hara, 48
2. Gage McAllister, 41
3. Danny Eslick, 40
4. Ben Carlson, 39
5. Nick Hansen, 33
6. Kyle Wyman, 30
7. Eric Stump, 29
8. Hayden Schultz, 28
9. Ryan Kerr, 25
10. David Estok, 21

2014 AMA Pro Road Racing Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Pro Road Racing Riders
Josh Hayes
Josh Hayes is a dedicated road racer who started in 1994 and won the AMA Superbike Championship in 2010. Read more about Hayes' racing career on the Josh Hayes bio page.
Blake Young
Riding since the age of four, Blake Young has become an important fixture in the AMA Pro Road Racing Series and is still searching for his first title after coming just shy in 2011.
Roger Hayden
Learn more about Roger Hayden on Motorcycle USA's Roger Hayden bio page for career highlights, pictures, and news.

Login or sign up to comment.