Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

AMA SuperBike Barber Race 2 Results 2014

Sunday, June 22, 2014
Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes scored the AMA Pro SuperBike Race 2 win at Barber by a comfortable margin, crossing the line over seven seconds ahead of Yoshimura Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas in second. Hayes’ teammate, Cameron Beaubier, claimed the final step on the podium.

Hayes wasted no time, rocketing off the start into the early lead, building a gap on the field within the opening laps. Behind, Cardenas and his teammate, Roger Hayden, settled into second and third while Beaubier put himself into fourth. Beaubier had some trouble early on, losing one position to ADR Motorsports’ David Anthony during the initial stages and losing sight of the Yoshimura Suzuki duo. Anthony and Beaubier swapped positions a handful of times during the early portion of the race before Beaubier found his groove and pulled away.

By that time Hayes was in another time zone while Cardenas and Hayden were pacing in podium position. Beaubier started to up the pace mid-way through the contest and during the final laps had closed a four-plus second gap to run directly behind Hayden. The Yamaha ace quickly passed Hayden and then set his sights on Cardenas, challenging for second during the latter stages. Beaubier made a slight mistake which forced him a little wide, allowing Cardenas to pull away and from there Beaubier maintained a steady pace rather than try to close the gap in the brief time left before the finish.

Hayden, meanwhile, lost steam toward the end and was eventually passed by Anthony, who finished fourth. Hayden’s teammate, Chris Clark, finished in sixth followed by GEICO Motorcycle’s Chris Ulrich in seventh and Team AMSOIL Hero’s Cory West in eighth.

Hayes moves into the outright points lead ahead of Anthony, who jumps from fourth to second. Hayden falls to third and Beaubier is now fourth.

AMA Pro SuperBike Barber Race 2 Results 2014
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)
3. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
4. David Anthony (Suzuki)
5. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
6. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
7. Chris Ulrich (Honda)
8. Cory West (EBR)
9. Larry Pegram (EBR)
10. Sean Dwyer (Suzuki)
11. Trent Gibson (Kawasaki)
12. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki)
13. Frankie Babuska (Suzuki)
14. Reese Wacker (Suzuki)
15. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
16. Bernat Martinez (Yamaha)

AMA Pro SuperBike Championship Points 2014
1. Josh Hayes, 145
2. David Anthony, 116
3. Roger Hayden, 113
4. Cameron Beaubier, 110
5. Chris Clark, 105
6. Martin Cardenas, 90
7. Chris Fillmore, 69
8. Cory West, 65
9. Trent Gibson, 55
10. Larry Pegram, 50

2014 AMA Pro Road Racing Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Road Racing Championship Points
AMA Superbike

Login or sign up to comment.

cggunnersmate   July 2, 2014 06:54 AM
How sad is it that this is race weekend #3 complete and the season is already halfway done. Here's hoping John Ulrich's series takes off, Dorna comes in with their own series or merges with Ulrich and pushes out or takes over the mess that is AMA road racing. Dorna could do what they did with the Spanish CEV series and make a great feeder series for GP and WSBK. Right now American riders have to pack their bags and head to Europe and knock on doors of race teams to have a chance of getting into GP or SBK. Usually through BSB or CEV.