Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

AMA Pro SuperBike Laguna Seca Results 2014

Sunday, July 13, 2014
Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes took his fourth consecutive AMA Pro SuperBike race win of 2014 at Laguna Seca. Hayes’ teammate, Cameron Beaubier finished in second-place followed by Yoshimura Suzuki’s Roger Hayden in third.

Hayes wasn’t quickest off the line, but he got past Hayden’s teammate, Martin Cardenas, within the opening lap and  held the front through the remainder of the race for the win. Beaubier was back in fourth early on but got past both Suzuki riders to challenge for the lead, but was never able to get close enough to mount a serious bid for the front. The contest was called at 19 laps due to a red flag, which was thrown after Mobibuf/Irnie Racing’s Marcel Irnie crashed out of the contest.

"What a beautiful day," said Hayes. "I can promise you it's never as easy as it looks. The last few laps I was actually having a pretty hard time. I was just trying to stay focused which can be pretty hard to do when you're riding by yourself. Cameron had a little carrot out there in front of him. I didn't have much to look at. I was more running like a scared rabbit, looking at the pit board. It's a little bit of a different game."

"I think I rode OK," said Beaubier. "I got a pretty rough start and was behind Rog and Martin and was able to pass them. But by that time Josh already had a second or two. I put my head down and started clicking off the laps. Overall, I'm pretty happy to get out of here with second place, especially after the weekend I had at Barber, throwing a couple bikes down the road. It's good to get some confidence back heading to Mid-Ohio."

Cardenas lost sight of the leaders as the race wore on, finishing fourth over 11 seconds behind the leader. KTM/HMC Racing’s Chris Fillmore took sixth followed by ADR Motorsports’ David Anthony in sixth and Team AMSOIL Hero’s Cory West in seventh. Proto-Tech Spain’s Bernat Martinez finished eighth while Hayden’s teammate, Chris Clark, and Porter Racing’s Sebastiao Ferreira took ninth and 10th, respectively.

Hayes leaves with a 40 point lead over the second-place rider in the overall standings, Beaubier. Hayden sits third followed by Anthony in fourth and Clark in fifth.

AMA Pro SuperBike Laguna Seca Results 2014
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
3. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
4. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)
5. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
6. David Anthony (Suzuki)
7. Cory West (EBR)
8. Bernat Martinez (Yamaha)
9. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
10. Sebastiao Ferriera (Kawasaki)
11. Kevin Pinkstaff (Kawasaki)
12. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki)
13. Matthew Orange (BMW)
14. Jake Holden (Ducati)
15. Marcel Irnie (BMW)

AMA Pro SuperBike Championship Points 2014
1. Josh Hayes, 175
2. Cameron Beaubier, 135
3. Roger Hayden, 134
4. David Anthony, 131
5. Chris Clark, 117
6. Martin Cardenas, 108
7. Chris Fillmore, 85
8. Cory West, 79
9. Bernat Martinez, 61
10. Trent Gibson, 55

2014 AMA Pro Road Racing Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Road Racing Championship Points
AMA Superbike
AMA Pro Road Racing Riders
Josh Hayes
Josh Hayes is a dedicated road racer who started in 1994 and won the AMA Superbike Championship in 2010. Read more about Hayes' racing career on the Josh Hayes bio page.
Blake Young
Riding since the age of four, Blake Young has become an important fixture in the AMA Pro Road Racing Series and is still searching for his first title after coming just shy in 2011.
Roger Hayden
Learn more about Roger Hayden on Motorcycle USA's Roger Hayden bio page for career highlights, pictures, and news.

Login or sign up to comment.