Drag site icon to your taskbar to pin site. Learn More

AMA SuperBike Mid-Ohio Race 2 Results 2014

Sunday, July 20, 2014
Monster Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes took the AMA Pro SuperBike Race 2 win at Mid-Ohio, crossing the line in a photo finish just 0.001 seconds ahead of his teammate, Cameron Beaubier. Yoshimura Suzuki’s Roger Hayden finished in third.


Hayes and Beaubier rocketed off the start, claiming the number one and two spots, respectively, through the opening turns. Hayden and his teammate, Martin Cardenas slotted into third and fourth-place followed by KTM/HMC’s Chris Fillmore in fifth. Cardenas’ day ended early when he lost his bike during the early laps, causing him to slide off into the gravel and take a DNF for the race.

Hayes maintained his position at the head of the pack for the bulk of the race, with Beaubier keeping well within striking distance as the two broke away from the field. Hayden attempted to keep the two Graves riders in sight, but dropped pace significantly during the latter stages.

On Lap 12 of 16 Beaubier got past Hayes for the first time, and the Mississippi native settled into second until the final lap. A few corners from the line Hayes answered back and held off Beaubier through the final turns, but Beaubier got an impressive drive toward the line that made it too close to call at the checkers. Official scoring initially gave the win to Beaubier but upon review it was determined that Hayes held on to his advantage by miniscule margin.

Hayden took third over 21 seconds behind Hayes, followed by Fillmore in fourth and Hayden’s teammate, Chris Clark, in fifth. TOBC Racing’s Taylor Knapp finished in sixth followed by ADR Motorsports’ David Anthony in seventh.

Hayes leaves the penultimate round of the 2014 season with a 40-point lead over second-place rider, Beaubier. Hayden is third followed by Anthony in fourth and Clark in fifth.

AMA Pro Superbike Mid-Ohio Race 2 Results 2014
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
2. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
3. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
4. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
5. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
6. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki)
7. David Anthony (Suzuki)
8. Chris Ulrich (Honda)
9. Cory West (EBR)
10. Frankie Babuska (Suzuki)
11. Bernat Martinez (Yamaha)
12. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki)
13. Larry Pegram (EBR)
14. Matthew Orange (BMW)
15. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)

AMA Pro SuperBike Championship Points 2014
1. Josh Hayes, 230
2. Cameron Beaubier, 190
3. Roger Hayden, 176
4. David Anthony, 159
5. Chris Clark, 148
6. Martin Cardenas, 126
7. Chris Fillmore, 119
8. Cory West, 101
9. Bernat Martinez, 80
10. Larry Pegram, 71

2014 AMA Pro Road Racing Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Gallery
View Slideshow
AMA Road Racing Championship Points
AMA SuperBike

Login or sign up to comment.

cggunnersmate   July 21, 2014 06:14 AM
I have to say how sad it is that we're still in July, there's only 1 AMA race left in the season and it's also nearly a two month wait until the final race. AMA road racing is in such a sad state it's truly pathetic and I feel for all the young AMA riders that are hoping to make a career at this. With virtually no media exposure or chances to get seen by the manufacturers and world level teams (aside from Laguna with WSBK) they really have little choice but to pack their bags and head to Britain or Spain and knock on doors like PJ Jacobson did. AMA used to be one of/if not the main feeder series to the world championship level. Now it's glorified club racing. I wouldn't even call it that really, some of the club series probably have more race weekends than AMA. I'm shocked to say but I actually hope DORNA comes in and either takes over like they did the Spanish CEV series or starts a new series (maybe partner will John Ulrich and his Pro-Am series he put togethr in just a couple months). Spain, where the economy is in the crapper and has been for years with unemployment somewhere around 30% from what I hear and yet their CEV series doing well and is probably the best route into GP.