A trip around the US

Posted at 6/2/2014 2:15:24 PM

BigShawn

BigShawn Profile Photo

A trip around the US

Hey guys, I'm looking to motorcycle a road trip around the US. I live in California, and I was wondering if you guys have any recommendations of what motorcycle I should buy etc. I'm looking for

Probably a standard
Can drive long distances (possibly with windshield)
Light (due to the fact im a newbie)
Reasonably Comfortable
Not too expensive (under 3k. I dont care about looks)
Can add a somewhat large storage accessory (to carry luggage)
Safe (probably most important)
Probably 250cc (if 125cc could ride long distances/highway then ill go with that)-

I am 5'8 and weigh 140 pounds. I have two months before I go on my trip so I plan on gaining experience riding during that time. I'm traveling alone.

If you guys have any other advice for me, let me know, much appreciated.

Posted at 6/3/2014 1:14:27 AM

Richard47

Profile Photo Richard47

• Motorcycle Pro

I'm thinking you might be rushing things a bit. You would do better to take some training before you start riding. You could save yourself a lot of grief if you become a competent rider before setting off.

Oh, and knowing how to maintain a bike in good condition would be a good thing too. Bikes aren't like cars that need a service only every two years, they tend to need a bit of regular attention.

Edited by Richard47 at 6/3/2014 1:15:11 AM

Old git on an old bike.

Posted at 6/3/2014 9:55:19 AM

Easy Rider

Profile Photo Easy Rider

• Motorcycle Rider
  • Bike: 2010 Vulcan 900 Custom

BigShawn said:I have two months before I go on my trip so I plan on gaining experience riding during that time. I'm traveling alone.

If you guys have any other advice for me, let me know, much appreciated.

Not enough time before a long trip like that.
Not NEAR enough.

A used 250 would be an excellent starter bike but is not really good for road trips. I did a 1200 mile round trip with my GZ 250 but would not do that again.