Posted at 3/27/2012 11:07:35 AM

morrisont

morrisont Profile Photo

• Motorcycle Newbie

Safety Starting With the Bike

Hi Guys,
I am about to buy my first bike.
Short version:
What style of bike and engine size would you guys recommend for safety and practicality (dont care about cool-ness) if my top three priorities in order are:
1) SAFETY (<600cc so I dont kill myself?)
2) AFFORDABILITY (ideally <$1500, definitely <$3000)
3) STORAGE (to carry stuff on commute: backpack, whitecoat, shoes etc)?

Long version:
My whole life, everyone has always exclaimed how dangerous motorcycles are, and they're right. Being a medical student, I know how many organ donors we get thanks to motorcycles. Just sayin it like it is. But that said, Im still going to get a bike. So if I am going to soldier on in the face of reason, I at least want to make sure I do it as safely as possible.

I figure the gear is important, but probably buying the right bike is even more important. I know my tendency to "push it" and take risks (hell, read the above paragraph) so Im thinking its smart to buy a smaller bike that most people wouldn't (i.e. a 250 even though I might "outgrow" as everyone says). What does everyone think? I will have a car as a backup commuter and the commute is only about 10 mins on a not so crowded highway. I am intrigued by dual sports cause I like the idea of off-roading (though prob dont have time for it) and I live in SD so Im right near Baja. I also like the idea of touring up the coast and I prefer sitting up-right (not bent over on the old crotch-rockets). I am open to any style though if it fits the criteria below.

In short, what style of bike and engine size would you guys recommend for safety and practicality (dont care about cool-ness) if my top three priorities in order are:
1) SAFETY (<600cc so I dont kill myself?)
2) AFFORDABILITY (ideally <$1500, definitely <$3000)
3) STORAGE (to carry stuff on commute: backpack, whitecoat, shoes etc)?

Thanks!
Tyler