What should I get as a starter bike?

Posted at 8/18/2014 1:14:47 PM

dtemple1110

dtemple1110 Profile Photo

What should I get as a starter bike?

I'm looking for a new hobby, and getting my motorcycle license and a bike is the way I decided to go. SO, here's some info about me. I'm tiny, or so they tell me. And I'm a girl, only 5'0", and I weigh 112 lbs. I hope my size isn't an issue, cause you guys look like you're having a good time out there on the road. ALSO as you can tell, I have no riding experience. However, I know for sure that I don't want a sports bike. So, what would you recommend? Any advice would be appreciated.

Edited by dtemple1110 at 8/18/2014 1:16:08 PM

Posted at 8/18/2014 3:52:06 PM

thesoapster

Profile Photo thesoapster

• MCUSA Moderator
  • Bike: 2009 YZF-R1

Welcome.

Look up the MSF Basic Rider Course. That will teach you the basics (classroom and on a closed course) and get you headed in the right direction. If you still want to do it afterward, obtain your endorsement/license, then it's time to shop. Get good gear (we have threads on it, or if you have other questions you cannot find answers to you can always ask) and look for a used bike of smaller size. You may not want a sport bike (understandable and a good policy for starting out), though there are a couple sport standards that are quite friendly to ride. The only reason I would recommend something like that over a small cruiser is they are lighter. You may find that they are too tall, though, so a smaller cruiser could be the way to go as they have very low seat heights.

Your region is quite beautiful this time of year (I just got back from Seattle), so I understand the urge! I kept thinking, "If only I had my bike out here with me..." :)

Posted at 8/19/2014 1:39:39 AM

Richard47

Profile Photo Richard47

• Motorcycle Pro