Cruiser Gear Reviews

Read cruiser gear reviews at Motorcycle USA, with editors delivering frank and honest opinions about the newest cruiser gear and custom motorcycle accessories. From cruiser helmets and riding gear to the aftermarket custom motorcycle accessories so common to the cruiser clan, check them all out at MotoUSA.

Featured Motorcycle Cruiser Gear Reviews

Ron Finch That’s All You Get DVD Review
Ron Finch That’s All You Get DVD Review

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

We review Danny Grinnell’s docu-movie about the larger-than-life custom bike builder called ‘Ron Finch That’s All You Get.’


Icon 1000 Roughshod Pants Review
Icon 1000 Roughshod Pants Review

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Icon looks to run roughshod over its competition with its 1000 Collection. We test a pair of their premium leather riding pants, the Icon 1000 Roughshod Pants, to see if they live up to billing.


O.N.E. Reaper Hoodie Leather Jacket Review
O.N.E. Reaper Hoodie Leather Jacket Review

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Made to order out of some of the most supple leather around, we review the O.N.E. Reaper Hoodie motorcycle jacket.


Speed and Strength Rage Jeans Review
Speed and Strength Rage Jeans Review

Thursday, June 20, 2013

It’s summer time, and a set of Kevlar-reinforced denim riding jeans are a valuable addition to any gear bag. We review Speed and Strength’s Rage with the Machine Jeans.


AGV Sport Element Vintage Jacket Review
AGV Sport Element Vintage Jacket Review

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

MotoUSA puts the AGV Sport Element Vintage Leather Jacket to the test for a review of AGV’s sharp-looking cruiser-style motorcycle jacket.


Bell Rogue Helmet Review
Bell Rogue Helmet Review

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Not a half-shell nor a full-face, Bell’s category-defying Rogue Helmet created quite the stir when it launched. We review Bell’s latest cruiser motorcycle helmet.


Roland Sands Design Mission Jacket Review
Roland Sands Design Mission Jacket Review

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Wanting to see if Roland Sands apparel is as rugged as the bikes he builds, we put the leather RSD Mission Jacket to the test.


Lunasee ASL1000 Active Side Lighting Review
Lunasee ASL1000 Active Side Lighting Review

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

MotoUSA tests the Lunasee ASL1000 Active Side Lighting safety system on its black-as-night 2012 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom project bike to make it more visible in the dark.


Kawasaki Vulcan 900: Vance&Hines Slash Pipes
Kawasaki Vulcan 900: Vance&Hines Slash Pipes

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Looking to give our 2012 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom more power and attitude, we threw on a set of Vance & Hines Slash Staggered Pipes which gave us more of both.


TCX X-Street Waterproof Shoes Review
TCX X-Street Waterproof Shoes Review

Friday, October 5, 2012

We’ve been testing out a pair of TCX X-Street Waterproof Shoes in vintage leather over the past couple of months for our review of these motorcycle riding shoes from TCX.


Ohlins HD 159 Shock for Harley Tourers Review
Ohlins HD 159 Shock for Harley Tourers Review

Thursday, September 6, 2012

We hitched a leg over a 2009 Harley-Davidson equipped with Ohlins HD 159 shocks during our recent trip to Sturgis to bring back a review of these shocks made for Harley touring motorcycles.


Icon 1000 Shorty Jacket Review
Icon 1000 Shorty Jacket Review

Thursday, June 21, 2012

With temperatures rising, the Icon 1000 Shorty Jacket provides a happy median between a big, bulky biker jacket and a vest.


Hogslayer The Unapproachable Legend Review
Hogslayer The Unapproachable Legend Review

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

We review Jim Cutting’s documentary called ‘Hogslayer The Unapproachable Legend,’ a movie about a drag bike with twin Norton engines that dominated the quarter-mile scene in the ’70s.


Harley-Davidson Sportster Exhaust Shootout
Harley-Davidson Sportster Exhaust Shootout

Monday, May 28, 2012

Motorcycle USA samples a quartet of aftermarket slip-on exhausts on the shop Harley-Davidson Sportster. See where they rank in our first motorcycle exhaust pipe shootout.


Akrapovic Slip-On Mufflers Comparison Review
Akrapovic Slip-On Mufflers Comparison Review

Monday, May 28, 2012

Motorcycle USA reviews and tests the Akrapovic Slip-On Mufflers in this cruiser exhaust shootout.


Screamin’ Eagle Slip-On Comparison Review
Screamin’ Eagle Slip-On Comparison Review

Monday, May 28, 2012

Motorcycle USA reviews and tests the Screamin’ Eagle Slip-On Shorty Dual Mufflers in this cruiser exhaust shootout.


BUB 7 Slip-On Muffler Set Comparison Review
BUB 7 Slip-On Muffler Set Comparison Review

Monday, May 28, 2012

Motorcycle USA reviews and tests the BUB 7 Slip-On Mufflers in this cruiser exhaust shootout.


Vance & Hines Slip-On Comparison Review
Vance & Hines Slip-On Comparison Review

Monday, May 28, 2012

Motorcycle USA reviews and tests the Vance & Hines Slip-On Twin Slash pipes in this cruiser exhaust shootout.


Bassani Firepower Series Slip-On Comparison Review
Bassani Firepower Series Slip-On Comparison Review

Monday, May 28, 2012

Motorcycle USA reviews and tests the Bassani Firepower Series Slip-On pipes in this cruiser exhaust shootout.


Icon Elsinore Motorcycle Boots Review
Icon Elsinore Motorcycle Boots Review

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Blending motocross styling in a motorcycle boot built for the street, we’ve been wearing the Icon Elsinore Boots over the last few months to see how they handle the abuse of miles in the saddle.


Icon 1000 Chapter Jacket Review
Icon 1000 Chapter Jacket Review

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Icon recently brought out a stylish new series of gear for its limited edition 1000 collection. We’ve been testing the Icon 1000 Chapter Jacket over the last couple of months. Here’s our findings.


Icon Women’s Street Angel Helmet Review
Icon Women’s Street Angel Helmet Review

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Motorcycle USA puts Icon’s Women’s Airframe Street Angel Helmet to the test to see if this ladies full-face helmet performs as good as it looks.


Icon Brawnson Sidewinder Jacket Review
Icon Brawnson Sidewinder Jacket Review

Thursday, January 19, 2012

After putting the Icon Brawnson Sidewinder Jacket to the test over the last few months we’re ready to offer up this motorcycle jacket reveiw.


Icon Brawnson Textile Overpants Review
Icon Brawnson Textile Overpants Review

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

New to Icon’s 2011 fall collection are the Brawnson Textile Overpants. We offer up this review of the latest motorcycle riding pants coming out of Slabtown.


Oakley Ducati Wind Jacket Sunglass Review
Oakley Ducati Wind Jacket Sunglass Review

Thursday, September 22, 2011

N3L Optics, a company that specializes in sport performance sunglasses, sent us over a set of Oakley Ducati Wind Jackets to review.


Bell Custom 500 Skratch Deluxe Helmet Review
Bell Custom 500 Skratch Deluxe Helmet Review

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Bell enlisted the services of hot rod enthusiast and pinstriper extraordinaire, Skratch, to help out on the design of its cool three-quarters motorcycle helmet, the Bell Custom 500 Skratch Deluxe LE.


Icon Alliance Redeemer Helmet Review
Icon Alliance Redeemer Helmet Review

Thursday, May 26, 2011

The Icon Alliance Redeemer Helmet has been protecting our head for the last few months, providing us ample time to review the merits of this full-face motorcycle helmet.


Icon Patrol Waterproof Overpants Review
Icon Patrol Waterproof Overpants Review

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Trying to ride in Oregon year-round requires a little assistance. We enlisted the services of Icon’s Patrol Waterproof Overpants in our battle against the elements and came away with these impressions.


Icon Overlord Long Gloves Review
Icon Overlord Long Gloves Review

Thursday, April 21, 2011

We’ve put the Icon Overlord Long Gloves to the test over the last few months,from 35-degree morning rides through the Sonoran Desert to an 80-degree run to the Florida Keys.


Prodigal Father, Pagan Son Book Review
Prodigal Father, Pagan Son Book Review

Thursday, April 7, 2011

Prodigal Father, Pagan Son is a hard-hitting tale of a boy who grows up inside the world of the Pagans Motorcycle Club after being born the son of the president of the Philadelphia chapter.


Icon Overlord Prime Leather Jacket Review
Icon Overlord Prime Leather Jacket Review

Thursday, March 17, 2011

We’ve been putting the Icon Overlord Prime Leather Jacket to the test over the last couple of months to see how it stands up to everyday abuse.


Shop Class as Soulcraft Book Review
Shop Class as Soulcraft Book Review

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

The philosopher mechanic speaks in Shop Class as Soulcraft, a thoughtful examination of the value of work and the manual trades in our modern world.


Tour Master Custom Midweight Gloves Review
Tour Master Custom Midweight Gloves Review

Thursday, January 13, 2011

We put the Tour Master Custom Midweight Gloves to the test; to find out if these Custom Midweight gloves will keep your hands toasty on those winter rides.


Icon Super Duty 4 Boot Review
Icon Super Duty 4 Boot Review

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Do the Icon Super Duty 4 Boots have the durability and ruggedness to live up to the expectations of the cruiser lifestyle? We test a pair in this motorcycle boot review.


The Devil Can Ride – Motorcycle Book Review
The Devil Can Ride – Motorcycle Book Review

Thursday, December 23, 2010

We pore through the pages of The Devil Can Ride – The World’s Best Motorcycle Writing, a compilation of moto stories from the likes of Hunter S. Thompson and T.E. Lawrence.


O.N.E. Outlaw Motorcycle Vest Review
O.N.E. Outlaw Motorcycle Vest Review

Thursday, December 9, 2010

The guys at O.N.E. sent over a handcrafted Outlaw motorcycle vest tailor-made to our specifications for this cruiser gear review.


The Harbortown Bobber Motorcycle DVD Review
The Harbortown Bobber Motorcycle DVD Review

Thursday, November 25, 2010

We review the indie motorcycle documentary, The Harbortown Bobber,a movie that brings the characters responsible for the restoration of Scott Di Lalla’s 1969 Triumph to life.


AGV Sport Assault Kevlar Cargo Pants Review
AGV Sport Assault Kevlar Cargo Pants Review

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Kevlar and camou – it’s not just for hunting season anymore. We put AGV Sport’s Assault Kevlar Cargo Pants to the test over a summer’s worth of rallies and rides.


Let’s Ride Sonny Barger’s Guide Book Review
Let’s Ride Sonny Barger’s Guide Book Review

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

We recently poured through the pages of Let’s Ride Sonny Barger’s Guide to Motorcycling and came away with a newfound respect for the former Hells Angels leader for his comprehensive, well-written introduction to the world of motorcycling.


Shift Racing Bullet Gloves Review
Shift Racing Bullet Gloves Review

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Our test pair of Shift Racing’s black leather, gauntlet-style Bullet Gloves have seen a lot of miles, accompanying us to Laconia, Sturgis and numerous motorcycle intros in addition to being our go-to set for daily riding.


Bell Custom 500 Helmet Review
Bell Custom 500 Helmet Review

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

The retro look is in style, only sometimes we have to sacrifice comfort and protection to get it. Not with the Bell Custom 500. We have a look at the latest retro-themed lid from the originators.


AGV Sport Moda Ladies Leather Jacket Review
AGV Sport Moda Ladies Leather Jacket Review

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

The AGV Sport Moda Ladies Perforated Leather Jacket combines attractive styling and a snug fit in a riding jacket that breathes well on hot summer days but is warm enough to wear into the cool night.


Sidi On Road Gore-Tex Boots Review
Sidi On Road Gore-Tex Boots Review

Thursday, July 15, 2010

Sidi sent over a pair of its On Road Gore-Tex Boots so we quickly set out to test their reputation as a durable set of waterproof, all-purpose motorcycle riding boots.


AGV Sport Pella Perforated Jacket Review
AGV Sport Pella Perforated Jacket Review

Friday, June 25, 2010

We put the AGV Sport Pella Perforated Leather Jacket in our gear bag on our way to Laconia Motorcycle Week where we tested it through sun, wind and rain.


Indian Larry Chopper Shaman Review
Indian Larry Chopper Shaman Review

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Motorcycle USA catches up on some reading with the moving biography of one of the most enigmatic characters the motorcycle industry has ever seen, Indian Larry Chopper Shaman.


Shift Racing Havoc Pants Review
Shift Racing Havoc Pants Review

Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Motorcycle USA has been putting Shift’s Havoc Pants, a leather/textile combination, to the test including daily riding and several cruiser motorcycle intros.


SHIFT Woody Fur-Lined Hoody Review
SHIFT Woody Fur-Lined Hoody Review

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

It was freakin’ freezing in Cincy for the V-Twin Expo. Luckily, the SHIFT Woody Fur Lined Hoody helped me combat the cold.


Custom Motorcycles Book Review
Custom Motorcycles Book Review

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Spanish photographer Miguel Tres provides insight into biker culture and lifestyle through his photography in the book Custom Motorcycles.


H-D 3/4 Helmet with Sun Shield Review
H-D 3/4 Helmet with Sun Shield Review

Friday, December 18, 2009

We sample the Harley-Davidson 3/4 Helmet with a retractable Sun Shield – no need for two faceshields on this motorcycle helmet.


Today’s Top Custom Bike Builders Review
Today’s Top Custom Bike Builders Review

Thursday, December 10, 2009

Motorcycle USA reviews S&S Cycle presents Today’s Top Custom Bike Builders, a book that showcases the 50 custom motorcycles built in honor of S&S Cycle’s 50th anniversary and features the photography of Michael Lichter.


Tour Master Synergy Heated Pant Liner Review
Tour Master Synergy Heated Pant Liner Review

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Jack Frost is coming but we’re not ready to garage the bike just yet, so we’ve plugged in Tour Master’s Synergy Heated Pant Liner to keep us toasty in the saddle.


2009 Tour Master Coaster II Jacket Review
2009 Tour Master Coaster II Jacket Review

Thursday, October 22, 2009

We’ve ridden with the Tour Master Coaster II Leather Jacket through the Mojave Desert and rainy Pacific Northwest. How does it fare?


Free to Wander Motorcycle Movie Review
Free to Wander Motorcycle Movie Review

Friday, September 18, 2009

Free to Wander is a motorcycle documentary about guys who not only live to ride, but ride what they build, highlighted by interviews with custom builders Keino, Paul Wideman, and Paul Cox.


Alpinestars 365 Gore-Tex Gloves Review
Alpinestars 365 Gore-Tex Gloves Review

Friday, September 11, 2009

We’ve twisted the throttle countless times in the last six months testing the merits of Alpinestars 365 Gore-Tex Gloves.


Icon PDX Rain Jacket and Bibs Review
Icon PDX Rain Jacket and Bibs Review

Friday, August 28, 2009

Never get caught out unprepared in the rain again. Put a set of Icon’s PDX Rain Gear in your gear bag and you’ll be set to ride through the storm.


Bell Drifter RSD Skulls Helmet Review
Bell Drifter RSD Skulls Helmet Review

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Bell Powersports got custom builder Roland Sands to to design a couple of motorcycle helmets, including the Drifter RSD Skulls half-shell.


Nickelback Live at Sturgis 2006 Review
Nickelback Live at Sturgis 2006 Review

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Motorcycle USA threw in a copy of the Nickelback Live at Sturgis 2006 DVD to get in the mood for next week’s rally. Check out the DVD review.


Alpinestars Effex Gore-Tex Boots Review
Alpinestars Effex Gore-Tex Boots Review

Thursday, July 9, 2009

We’ve been testing a pair of Alpinestars Effex Gore-Tex Boots for the last few months, cruising down Daytona’s Main St., touring the wine country of California’s wine country, and riding the mountain to Big Bear.


Product Review Alpinestars ATL Leather Jacket
Product Review Alpinestars ATL Leather Jacket

Thursday, June 11, 2009

We added an Alpinestars ATL Leather Jacket to our gearbag and quickly proceeded to put it to the test over the last few months including a week-long road trip through the Mojave Desert.


Book Review The Ride of a Lifetime
Book Review The Ride of a Lifetime

Friday, May 29, 2009

The leader of the Orange County Choppers crew,Paul, Sr., offers business advice in this book on how he grew a family-run operation out of his garage and turned it into a multi-million dollar company.


Icon Arc Mesh Overpant Review
Icon Arc Mesh Overpant Review

Thursday, April 23, 2009

We got a pair of Icon’s Arc Mesh Overpants and proceeded to abuse them over the next few months to see if they passed the durability test.


Icon Airframe Death or Glory Helmet Review
Icon Airframe Death or Glory Helmet Review

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

We got first crack at Icon’s Airframe Death or Glory Helmet and have put the new lid through the paces riding Victorys in New Orleans, Harleys in Daytona, and Vulcans in San Francisco.


Icon Tarmac Ventilated Boots Review
Icon Tarmac Ventilated Boots Review

Thursday, March 19, 2009

We’ve been putting our Icon Tarmac Ventilated Boots to the test to see if these motorcycle boots are as durable as they are good-looking.


H-D Screamin’ Eagle Gear Bag Review
H-D Screamin’ Eagle Gear Bag Review

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Motorcycle USA provides its review of Harley-Davidson’s Screamin’ Eagle Nylon Equipment Bag after putting it to the test lugging it through airports around the country.


Risk Racing Magnetic LED Light-Mine Review
Risk Racing Magnetic LED Light-Mine Review

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

The Light-Mine is a handy gadget, with a wide-angle LED and 12 powerful magnets that allow you to stick it to any steel surface.


H-D Men’s Complete Leather Jacket Review
H-D Men’s Complete Leather Jacket Review

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

Harley-Davidson’s Motorclothes line is almost as popular as its motorcycles. Read on to see how H-D’s Men’s Complete Leather Jacket stood up to the last six months of testing.


Hell Ride DVD Review
Hell Ride DVD Review

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Motorcycle USA reviews this modern biker B-movie, with Larry Bishop’s Hell Ride.


Product Review Shift 967 Leather Jacket
Product Review Shift 967 Leather Jacket

Friday, December 5, 2008

Motorcycle USA put Shift Racing’s 967 Leather Jacket through a full season of bike tests and road trips and came away with these impressions.


Product Review H-D Carbon Kevlar Half Helmet
Product Review H-D Carbon Kevlar Half Helmet

Friday, November 28, 2008

Harley-Davidson set us up with one of the lightest motorcycle helmets we’ve encountered, the 1.75-lb Carbon Kevlar Half Helmet.


DVD Review Choppertown The Sinners
DVD Review Choppertown The Sinners

Friday, August 22, 2008

Watching “Choppertown The Sinners” is like turning the pages back on time, as Rico Fodrey and his So Cal Sinners crew follow a different drummmer.


Review Harley-Davidson Profile Goggle
Review Harley-Davidson Profile Goggle

Thursday, August 21, 2008

Harley-Davidson has put valuable R&D time in developing a line of stylish, high-quality eyewear for riders, including the versatile Profile Goggle which we’ve put to the test.


Product Review Shift Torque Jeans

Wednesday, July 9, 2008

The Shift Racing Torque Jeans have everything a biker could ask for in a solid riding pant – rugged construction in a good-looking jean that fits as prescribed.


Product Review Joe Rocket Meteor Boot
Product Review Joe Rocket Meteor Boot

Friday, January 18, 2008

With almost 2500 riding miles and numerous bike tests to its credit, the Joe Rocket Meteor Boots have withstood the rigors of a busy riding schedule.


Product Review Affliction Shredded Jacket
Product Review Affliction Shredded Jacket

Friday, November 9, 2007

Want a cool, comfortable jacket that you can wear anywhere on any bike? Affliction has you covered with its Shredded jacket.


Book Review Biker’s Handbook
Book Review Biker’s Handbook

Friday, October 26, 2007

Motorcycle USA offers up its insight into the ‘Biker’s Handbook,’ written by American Thunder’s popular producer, Jay Barbieri.


Product Review Icon Accelerant Jacket
Product Review Icon Accelerant Jacket

Friday, September 28, 2007

The Icon Accelerant Jacket is rugged, heavy-duty and stylish and served us well during the summer’s press intro season.


Review Icon Field Armor Chukka Boots
Review Icon Field Armor Chukka Boots

Friday, September 21, 2007

Icon came through just in the nick of time for the summer press intro season with a sporty pair of Field Armor Chukka Boots.


Book Review Flat Out
Book Review Flat Out

Saturday, September 1, 2007

In 2006, Rocky Robinson was the planet’s fastest man on two wheels when he went 342 mph at Bonneville. He tells his land-speed racing story in the autobiographical Flat Out.


Product Review New Blood – DVD
Product Review New Blood – DVD

Friday, June 15, 2007

Roland Sands took a V-5 GP motor from Kenny Roberts and made something special with the KRV5 Tracker and this new DVD tells the story.


Product Review Shift Cammer Jacket
Product Review Shift Cammer Jacket

Thursday, May 31, 2007

MCUSA’s Hutch sported a Shift Racing Cammer Jacket while tooling around L.A. aboard Roland Sands’ Vintage custom and came back with these impressions.


Product Review Icon Standard Boot
Product Review Icon Standard Boot

Thursday, March 22, 2007

When shopping for motorcycle gear you don’t want to forget about the feet. We give the Icon Standard boot a test run.


Review The Wild Ones

Friday, January 19, 2007

This book, which tells the tales of the original Boozefighters, is an interesting look into the origins of biker culture.


Review The World’s Fastest Indian
Review The World’s Fastest Indian

Monday, June 12, 2006

There hasn’t been a great motorcycle movie since the iconic On Any Sunday. Well, this is a great one, and it even appeals to an audience that has little interest in motorcycles.


Review Tour Master Magnum Air Jacket
Review Tour Master Magnum Air Jacket

Thursday, May 11, 2006

A multi-season leather jacket impresses our cruiser correspondent with its versatility.


Product Review Mad Maps
Product Review Mad Maps

Tuesday, December 14, 2004

Get the inside scoop on some of the best rides America has to offer with the help of the map designed specifically for touring minded individuals.


Product Review Street Wavez
Product Review Street Wavez

Tuesday, February 24, 2004

The Street Wavez license plate holder allows you to say anything you want to trailing motorists, and we mean anything.


Product Review Roadhouse VTX Slip-Ons
Product Review Roadhouse VTX Slip-Ons

Monday, October 27, 2003

Want some deep V-Twin rumble with your new Honda VTX1300? Roadhouse might have the pipes for you.


Product Review Sherms Gorilla Clutch
Product Review Sherms Gorilla Clutch

Friday, October 3, 2003

After our project Kawasaki Mean Streak was waxed at the drag strip by the Sherms Meanie, we figured we would follow the age-old motto: If you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em.