Dirt Bike Gear Reviews

Read dirt bike gear reviews at Motorcycle USA where editors get down and dirty testing the latest dirt bike gear and off-road accessories in the OHV market. Find reviews on off-road helmets and dirt bike tires, as well as dirt bike riding gear and motocross boots.

Featured Dirt Bike Reviews

OGIO Flight Vest Review
OGIO Flight Vest Review

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

The Ogio Flight Vest not only holds a water system but it is a great way to ditch the tool belt and carry everything you need in a comfortable vest.


JUNOJUMPR Review
JUNOJUMPR Review

Thursday, February 12, 2015

The JUNOJUMPR is a small, portable and powerful way to jump start you motorcycle, or even your car.


Bike Master Parts Washer Review
Bike Master Parts Washer Review

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Cleaning parts doesn’t have to include the kitchen sink or a bucket. The Bike Master Parts Washer makes life easier.


Motion Pro Grip Glue Review
Motion Pro Grip Glue Review

Monday, February 9, 2015

Installing grips doesn’t have to be a sticky situation or take a long time. Motion Pro grip glue makes the task easier.


Airoh Aviator 2.1 Carbon Quick Review
Airoh Aviator 2.1 Carbon Quick Review

Monday, March 17, 2014

The Airoh Aviator 2.1 Carbon Helmet is a premium-spec, feather-light off-road helmet new to the American market.


“12 O’Clock Boys” Review & Director Interview
“12 O’Clock Boys” Review & Director Interview

Friday, January 31, 2014

“12 O’clock Boys” is a film by Lotfy Nathan that follows a pack of urban dirt bike riders in Baltimore, seen through the eyes of a preteen named Pug who desperately wants to join the ranks.


“Off Road Essentials” DVD Review
“Off Road Essentials” DVD Review

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

“Off Road Essentials” becomes more than just a how-to off-road technique video thanks to amazing cinematography and beautiful editing.


Oakley Airbrake MX Goggle Review
Oakley Airbrake MX Goggle Review

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Oakley’s Airbrake MX Goggle is the most expensive eye protection for off-road riding. Is it worth its $160 price? Find out now in this review.


KLIM Off-Road Gear Review
KLIM Off-Road Gear Review

Thursday, September 19, 2013

MotoUSA tested KLIM’s Mojave-line of gear and its F4 helmet during the 2014 Kawasaky Teryx4 first ride.


MUD FIM MX Championship Xbox 360 Review
MUD FIM MX Championship Xbox 360 Review

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

The outdoor nationals are well underway, but that doesn’t mean you have to just sit by and watch. The latest off-road game “MUD” puts you in the saddle so you can kick up some roost of your own.


The Place Beyond the Pines Movie Review
The Place Beyond the Pines Movie Review

Friday, March 15, 2013

Check out MotoUSA’s review on new feature movie, The Place Beyond the Pines, a film filled with intense motorcycle stunts, bank robberies and much more.


Vemar VRX9 Off-Road Helmet Review
Vemar VRX9 Off-Road Helmet Review

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Vemar’s latest off-road helmet is the VRX9. Read on to see how the high-end helmet performed.


Sidi Crossfire 2 SRS Review
Sidi Crossfire 2 SRS Review

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Sidi’s newest and most expensive boot is the Crossfire 2 SRS. Is the lofty price tag worth it? Read on to find out.


Fox Shox Digital Pump Review
Fox Shox Digital Pump Review

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Find out what we thought about Fox Racing Shox’s High Pressure Digital Pump as we use it on our 2013 Honda CRF450R and Kawasaki KX450F.


Decal Girl Electronic Skins Review
Decal Girl Electronic Skins Review

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Decal Girl recently obtained a license to sell Kawasaki branded skins and features 13 different Team Green graphic styles for just about any electronic item you may have.


2013 Troy Lee Designs GP Air Gear Review
2013 Troy Lee Designs GP Air Gear Review

Thursday, August 9, 2012

MotoUSA tests the 2013 Troy Lee Designs GP Air Jersey and Pants as the temperature rises above 100 degrees in Southern California.


Nitro Circus: The Movie 3D Review
Nitro Circus: The Movie 3D Review

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

MotoUSA got a sneak-peek of Nitro Circus: The Movie 3D early this week before it hits the theaters.


Sidi SR-MX Enduro Sole Review
Sidi SR-MX Enduro Sole Review

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

The Sidi Crossfire SR boots are one of our favorites, but they’re not perfect. The Sidi Enduro Soles give our Off-Road Editor the grip he’s been looking for.


Klim F4 Helmet Review
Klim F4 Helmet Review

Thursday, July 19, 2012

MotoUSA reviews the redesigned Klim F4 Helmet. Read on to see what we thought of this premium off-road lid.


MotoOptics Blitz Goggle Review
MotoOptics Blitz Goggle Review

Thursday, July 12, 2012

We put MotoOptics Blitz goggle to the test out on the track and on the trails. Check out the review to find out what we think about them.


Yamaha PDX-11 Speaker System Review
Yamaha PDX-11 Speaker System Review

Monday, June 18, 2012

We took advantage of Yamaha’s musical side to spruce up our garage when it’s time to wrench on dirt bikes and ATVs.


EVS CTR Cooling Vest Review
EVS CTR Cooling Vest Review

Thursday, June 14, 2012

The EVS CTR Cooling Vest helps you stay cool when you’re riding off-road during the warm summer motorcycling season.


What !s DVD Video Review
What !s DVD Video Review

Thursday, May 3, 2012

We plopped down and took a ride though the latest feature film from Red Tide Pictures, an off-road epic called What !s.


DRD Exhaust Crash Damage Repair Program
DRD Exhaust Crash Damage Repair Program

Thursday, March 15, 2012

We bought a used bike with a sweet Dubach Racing Development exhaust pipe. Then we crashed the beans out of it and had to take advantage of the DRD Exhaust Crash Damage Program.


EVS Revolution 5 Roost Guard Review
EVS Revolution 5 Roost Guard Review

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Looking for affordable dirt bike racing roost protection with comfort and freedom of movement? EVS safety gear has the answer with its Revolution 5 Roost Guard.


Two Bros. Racing V.A.L.E. M-7 Exhaust Review
Two Bros. Racing V.A.L.E. M-7 Exhaust Review

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

MCUSA leaves stock exhaust in the dust by switching to the Two Brothers Racing V.A.L.E. M-7 system, which features more grunt with less weight.


Fox Racing Instinct Boot Review
Fox Racing Instinct Boot Review

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

We review Fox’s latest Instinct off-road motorcycle riding boot developed by racing legend Ricky Carmichael.


Mishimoto X-Braced Radiator Review
Mishimoto X-Braced Radiator Review

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

We put Mishimoto’s strength and cooling claims to the test by swapping out our previous unit with a patented X-Braced radiator.


Pro Moto Billet Spark Arrestor End Cap Review
Pro Moto Billet Spark Arrestor End Cap Review

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Making your dirt bike legal for off-road riding can be an expensive hassle. Pro Moto Billet makes a simple spark arrestor for stock exhausts and also lowers decibels.


JT Racing Classic Gear Review
JT Racing Classic Gear Review

Thursday, November 10, 2011

We take a step back in time with JT Racing’s new set of retro-themed motocross gear. The racing apparel blends iconic styling with modern technology.


Scorpion VX-34 Helmet Review
Scorpion VX-34 Helmet Review

Friday, October 21, 2011

We ride with the Scorpion VX-34 dirt bike helmet to see how the new off-road lid performs.


Fly Racing Patrol Zone Gear Review
Fly Racing Patrol Zone Gear Review

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

We test a set of Fly Racing gear for dual sport, adventure and ATV riding. The Patrol Zone pants and jacket are convertible outerwear with extreme venting.


EVS Sports LP01 Riding Pant Review
EVS Sports LP01 Riding Pant Review

Thursday, September 22, 2011

EVS Sports’ Riding Pant is an affordable and effective way to help stay cool and comfortable when you’re riding or racing your dirt bike.


2012-Thor-Motocross-Phase-Slab-Jersey-Purple
Thor Motocross Phase Gear Review

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Thor Motocross’ Phase Gear is an affordable option for riders on a budget, but we found that the features and quality are anything but budget. Take a look at what we thought of this jersey and pant combo.


Spy Optic Klutch Goggle Review
Spy Optic Klutch Goggle Review

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Spy has some of the coolest looking goggles on the market. We put a pair of Klutch goggles to the test to see if they perform as well.


EVS R4 Neck Brace Prototype Review
EVS R4 Neck Brace Prototype Review

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

We got our hands on a prototype of the EVS R4 neck brace for a first test before you can buy it. Check out what we think of the newest brace in EVS line-up.


Yoshimura RS-4 Comp Slip-On Exhaust Review
Yoshimura RS-4 Comp Slip-On Exhaust Review

Thursday, July 7, 2011

We test Yoshimura’s latest RS-4 slip-on style exhaust for the new generation Yamaha YZ450F dirt bike. Find out how this muffler performs in this gear review.


Bell Moto-9 Stunt Helmet Review
Bell Moto-9 Stunt Helmet Review

Thursday, June 30, 2011

We’ve spent a couple months inside the new Bell Moto-9 helmet on dirt bikes, ATVs, side-by-sides and even adventure touring motorcycles. See what life is like with Bell’s newest dirt bike helmet.


2011 Scott 250 Boots Review
2011 Scott 250 Boots Review

Thursday, May 12, 2011

We spend several months riding in the new Scott 250 entry-level motocross boots. Find out if these affordable kicks are right for your budget.


Grip Studs Dirt Bike Tire Studs Review
Grip Studs Dirt Bike Tire Studs Review

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Grip Studs has the solution to winter dirt bike riding with removable tire studs that increase traction in icy, muddy and snowy conditions.


2011 Scott 450 Series Gear Review
2011 Scott 450 Series Gear Review

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

After months of wearing the Scott 450 Series motocross apparel, we’ve found some important traits about this new offering for dirt bike and ATV riders.


FMF Soft Touch Tie Downs Review
FMF Soft Touch Tie Downs Review

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

We put FMF Racing’s soft touch tie downs to the test and run them through endless use, hauling both dirt and street bikes in the Motorcycle-USA.com Sprinter van.


Fly Racing Evolution Gear Review
Fly Racing Evolution Gear Review

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Fly Racing offers the Evolution line of motocross gear to bring top-shelf racing apparel to the masses. We use the Fly arrangement through multiple tests to see how well it performs.


TLD CP 5900 Chest Protector Review
TLD CP 5900 Chest Protector Review

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Troy Lee Designs has teamed with Shock Doctor to create the perfect blend of comfort and protection with the CP 5900 chest protector.


Nail’d Xbox 360 Video Game Review
Nail’d Xbox 360 Video Game Review

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

We’re keeping our thumb muscles in shape during the motorcycle off-season with the latest off-road racing video game, Nail’d for the xbox 360, PS3 and PC.


FIM Motocross of Nations 2010 DVD Review
FIM Motocross of Nations 2010 DVD Review

Monday, December 20, 2010

Feel bad about missing action from the 2010 MXoN? We have just the cure for those in need of reliving the event with the release of a new DVD recap of the 64th Motocross des Nations.


Scott Airborne Grid Helmet Review
Scott Airborne Grid Helmet Review

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

We put the new Scott Airborne Grid helmet to use with motocross and off-road testing and even hit the deck in this dirt bike helmet review.


EKS Brand Goggle Review
EKS Brand Goggle Review

Thursday, December 2, 2010

We test EKS Brand off-road and dirt bike riding goggles in this motorcycle gear review.


Troy Lee Designs Blais Jacket Review
Troy Lee Designs Blais Jacket Review

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Troy Lee Designs offers a modern off-road jacket with neck brace compatibility. We rode with it through muddy woods and dusty deserts in this dirt bike jacket review.


2011 Thor Motocross Flux Review
2011 Thor Motocross Flux Review

Thursday, November 18, 2010

We review Thor’s hybrid Flux off road and motocross riding apparel.


DirtWise with Shane Watts Vol 2 DVD Review
DirtWise with Shane Watts Vol 2 DVD Review

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Shane Watts covers the dirt bike techniques needed to master difficult off-road racing and trail riding scenarios with Volume 2 of his DirtWise instructional DVDS.


Shift Agent Double Bypass Helmet Review
Shift Agent Double Bypass Helmet Review

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Shift Racing offers the most delicious and affordable dirt bike protection with the Agent Double Bypass helmet.


Cycra Probend CRM Handguard Review
Cycra Probend CRM Handguard Review

Thursday, October 14, 2010

We can’t get enough protection for our dirt bikes, so we installed a set of Cycra Probend Center Reach Mount handguards.


Dunlop MX71 Dirt Bike Tire Review
Dunlop MX71 Dirt Bike Tire Review

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Dunlop completes the Geomax line with the MX71 hard-terrain tire. We test the new Dunlop dirt bike tire at Glen Helen.


FMF Step Up Bike Stand Review
FMF Step Up Bike Stand Review

Friday, October 1, 2010

Tired of hoisting your bike at the end of a long ride? Try the FMF Step Up Bike Stand. It does all the heavy lifting for you.


Fox Proframe Protector Review
Fox Proframe Protector Review

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Fox Racing brings another level of rider chest protection from crashing and high-velocity roost with the new Proframe Protector.


LeoVince Carbon Fiber Parts Review
LeoVince Carbon Fiber Parts Review

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

LeoVince has expanded its carbon fiber expertise into bodywork for your modern motocross dirt bike.


Alpinestars Tech 2 Boot Review
Alpinestars Tech 2 Boot Review

Thursday, August 12, 2010

We evaluate Alpinestars versatile and affordable Tech 2 footwear in this motorcycle boot product review.


Sidi Adventure Rain Boot Review
Sidi Adventure Rain Boot Review

Thursday, August 5, 2010

Sidi Adventure Rain boots offer a blend between protection and comfort that street or dual sport riders will appreciate. And they’re waterproof on top of that.


Yamaha GYTR Power Tuner Review
Yamaha GYTR Power Tuner Review

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

The Yamaha GYTR Power Tuner allows you to modify the engine power characteristics of the YZ450F motocross bike and we test it in this dirt bike product review.


Klim Adventure Rally Suit Review
Klim Adventure Rally Suit Review

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Klim introduced an Adventure Rally jacket and pant that offers the most advanced materials and design. But how does it perform? You’d be surprised.


Fluidyne Powersports Radiator Review
Fluidyne Powersports Radiator Review

Thursday, July 8, 2010

Don’t let the heat of summer sap your bike’s energy. Fluidyne radiators offer more capacity and better cooling efficiency. Read the review to see how.


Leo Vince X3 Full System Exhaust Review
Leo Vince X3 Full System Exhaust Review

Sunday, May 30, 2010

The Leo Vince exhaust changes our Honda CRF450R’s power curve and sound levels to suit our tester, but is it worth the money?


2010 Scott A-Series Gear Review
2010 Scott A-Series Gear Review

Sunday, May 30, 2010

Scott joined the motocross apparel wars for 2010 and the A-series line is proving to be one of our favorites.


2010 Scorpion EXO VX-24 AMPT Helmet Review
2010 Scorpion EXO VX-24 AMPT Helmet Review

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Scorpion introduces AirFit technology into this dirt bike helmet. The 2010 EXO VX-24 offers affordable motorcycle protection with some unique features for dirt bike riders.


Vemar VFX7 Helmet Review
Vemar VFX7 Helmet Review

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Vemar dirt bike helmets are gaining popularity in America. Our desert tester samples the high-end VFX7 off-road helmet.


Kenda K781 Triple Tire Review
Kenda K781 Triple Tire Review

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

We put the Kenda dirt bike tire to the test in a variety of riding conditions to see if it lives up to the marketing hype.


MX vs. ATV Reflex Game Review
MX vs. ATV Reflex Game Review

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Just in time for the holiday season, THQ and Rainbow Studios deliver the latest installment in the MX vs. ATV series – MX vs. ATV Reflex.


AMA Motocross Championship Review 2009 DVD
AMA Motocross Championship Review 2009 DVD

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Recap the exciting 2009 Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Championships with this two-disc DVD review from Duke Video.


Acerbis Wave MX10 Dirt Bike Gear Review
Acerbis Wave MX10 Dirt Bike Gear Review

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Acerbis motocross gear is pretty rare due to limited availability, but it’s worth the effort to get a set as we found out during our Wave MX10 gear review.


Polisport Folding Bike Stand Review
Polisport Folding Bike Stand Review

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Bike stands are often the last thing you have room for in a tightly packed truck. Polisport offers a folding bike stand that makes getting things loaded up for race day much easier.


Gaerne SG12 Dirt Bike Boot Review
Gaerne SG12 Dirt Bike Boot Review

Friday, November 6, 2009

We used the SG12 boots from Gaerne for motocross and off-road competition, plus countless fun rides. These dirt bike boots are some of the best available.


2010 Thor Force Composite Helmet Review
2010 Thor Force Composite Helmet Review

Friday, October 16, 2009

We test the new 2010 Thor Force Composite Helmet and find the good and bad traits of this mid-price dirt bike helmet.


2010 Troy Lee Designs GP Air Gear Review
2010 Troy Lee Designs GP Air Gear Review

Monday, September 28, 2009

Hot temps aren’t over yet and we’ve been wearing the ventilated Stars and Stripes GP Air gear from Troy Lee Designs to stay cool.


Dirtwise with Shane Watts Vol 1 DVD Review
Dirtwise with Shane Watts Vol 1 DVD Review

Friday, September 25, 2009

Shane Watts is no stranger to hauling tail. Dirtwise with Shane Watts Volume 1 – Mud, Sand and Rough Ground is the first of a four-part DVD series that helps get us mortals up to speed.


Thor Motocross Flux Off-Road Gear Review
Thor Motocross Flux Off-Road Gear Review

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Thor releases its new premium Flux line off off-road motorcycle and motocross riding gear. Find out how it performs in this motocross apparel product review.


DiRT 2 Xbox 360 Video Game Review
DiRT 2 Xbox 360 Video Game Review

Friday, September 4, 2009

We take a look at DiRT 2, the latest off-road racing game for the Xbox 360, and see if we have the skills to keep up with four-time Rally America champ Travis Pastrana.


ASV Inventions Solo Sag Scale Review
ASV Inventions Solo Sag Scale Review

Thursday, August 20, 2009

Looking for an easier way to measure motocross motorcycle rear suspension sag? The ASV Solo Sag Scale is it. Check it out in this off-road motorcycle product review.


Giant Loop Saddlebags Review
Giant Loop Saddlebags Review

Friday, July 24, 2009

Motorcycle USA’s off-road editor tests some Giant Loop Saddlebags out in the dirt. See how the motorcycle luggage fared in our saddlebag review.


MSR Racing Max Air Product Review
MSR Racing Max Air Product Review

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

MSR Racing set us up with a full set of Max Air vented motorcycle gear and a Velocity X helmet to stay cool in the heat.


Kawasaki Fuel Injection Calibration Kit
Kawasaki Fuel Injection Calibration Kit

Monday, May 4, 2009

Computers and dirt bikes come together with the new Kawasaki Fuel Injection Calibration Kit for the 2009 Kawasaki KX450F motocross motorcycle. Find out how your fuel-injected Kawasaki motocrosser can benefit.


HJC AC-X3 Titan MC-5 Helmet Review
HJC AC-X3 Titan MC-5 Helmet Review

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Carbon fiber is being used more and more in dirt bike helmets. We grabbed the one which might have the most, the HJC AC-XC Titan MC-5 helmet and wore it through the winter months.


Protex Racing Luggage Product Review
Protex Racing Luggage Product Review

Friday, April 17, 2009

Hard luggage can be bulky and awkward, but soft gear bags can fall short in protecting your cargo. Protex Racing makes a gearbag that blends the two types of motorcycle luggage.


As the Gears Turn DVD Review
As the Gears Turn DVD Review

Thursday, April 9, 2009

Off-road racers are getting more media exposure and this video from Production 262 is a good example of why these guys deserve credit. As the Gears Turn is an inside look at KTM rider, Kurt Caselli.


2009 Airline Fox Gear Review
2009 Airline Fox Gear Review

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Fox Racing knows how to make high-quality gear that looks hot, but we’re worried about staying cool as warmer temps are on the horizon. Try the 2009 Fox Airline motocross gear.


Dunlop Geomax MX51/MX31 Motocross Tire
Dunlop Geomax MX51/MX31 Motocross Tire

Friday, February 20, 2009

Dunlop releases its successor to its wildly popular and versatile D756 soft-intermediate terrain tire. Meet the new Geomax MX51 motocross tire.


Firstgear Kilmanjaro Jacket and TPG Pants
Firstgear Kilmanjaro Jacket and TPG Pants

Thursday, February 19, 2009

After 2000 miles in the saddle during a sweltering summer, Firstgear’s Kilmanjaro 4.0 Jacket and TPG Escape Pants are reviewed.


Ogio 9800 Gear Bag Product Review
Ogio 9800 Gear Bag Product Review

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Motorcycle USA tests the massive Ogio 9800 MX gear bag. Read if this bag is right for you.


RK Race Kit Sprocket and Chain Review
RK Race Kit Sprocket and Chain Review

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Changing motorcycle sprockets and chains on your dirt bike is made simple by changing both with a RK Sprocket Kit.


Rekluse z-Start Pro Clutch Review
Rekluse z-Start Pro Clutch Review

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Automatic clutches are a hot aftermarket part for the dirt bike market and Rekluse makes one of the most unique. The Rekluse z-Start Pro has a manual override so it’s the best of both worlds.


Diamond Back Dual Sport Pannier Review
Diamond Back Dual Sport Pannier Review

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

We tested the Diamond Back Dual Sport pannier during our 2008 DR-Z400S test, and rode alongside a similar set mounted on a KLR650.


Shoei VFX-W Off-Road Helmet Review
Shoei VFX-W Off-Road Helmet Review

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Shoei releases its all-new VFX-W off-road motorcycle helmet. Follow along as MotoUSA gives it a test.


Pirelli MT 43 Pro Trials Tire Review
Pirelli MT 43 Pro Trials Tire Review

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Pirelli offers a trials tire that isn’t even aimed at competitive trials riding. This tire has a much wider range of purpose.


Thor Motocross Impact Rig SE Product Review
Thor Motocross Impact Rig SE Product Review

Monday, November 17, 2008

Thor Motocross offers full protection in the form of the Impact Rig SE. This underarmor provides hard and soft protection and plenty of ammenities.


FMF Powerline ATV Exhaust Review
FMF Powerline ATV Exhaust Review

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

We add an FMF exhaust to our 2008 Polaris Outlaw 525 IRS project ATV for performance and increased bling factor.


DVD Review Stefan Everts MX Training
DVD Review Stefan Everts MX Training

Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Stefan Everts is the foremost expert on proper sand-riding form. Class is in session.


DVD David Knight Iron Man of Enduro

Friday, July 18, 2008

The Duke Video crew chose the most dominant rider in today’s off-road scene to feature. David Knight is undeniably the best all-around rider for the time being, and truly is the Iron Man of Enduro.


Shift Faction MX Gear Review

Thursday, June 12, 2008

Fresh moto duds are the best. It’s tough to hide that smile when a fresh set of gear arrives, and even harder when the shipping label reads From: Shift Racing.


StormMasters Socks Review
StormMasters Socks Review

Tuesday, May 20, 2008

StormMasters, a New Zealand-based operation sacrificed two sets of off-road socks – the overworked, underappreciated footwear to our smelly gearbag.


AXO Air Cage Review
AXO Air Cage Review

Thursday, May 1, 2008

Riding dirt bikes is inherently dangerous and we strap on every piece of motorcycle gear we can get our hands on, including the AXO Air Cage.


Shoei Hornet DS Helmet Review
Shoei Hornet DS Helmet Review

Monday, March 24, 2008

Shoei’s new dual-sport motorcycle helmet has a ton of features to satisfy on/off-road riders whether they prefer street or dirt for their biggest grins.


Thor Phase MX Gear Review
Thor Phase MX Gear Review

Thursday, March 20, 2008

We spent months riding around in the Thor Phase motocross gear before coming to our conclusions.


Thor Core MX Gear Review
Thor Core MX Gear Review

Friday, March 14, 2008

We tested the latest motocross gear from Thor and if you’re a guy in the market for new motorcycle gear then you need to hear what we’ve got to say about the 2008 Core line.


Sidi Discovery Rain Boots
Sidi Discovery Rain Boots

Friday, February 22, 2008

As Motorcycle USA ventures into the ATV realm, the need for a boot tailored for four-wheeled off roading quickly became apparent. Sidi’s Discovery Rain Boots came to our rescue.


Maxxis Maxxcross Tires Review
Maxxis Maxxcross Tires Review

Friday, January 4, 2008

Pulling duty on the trails systems of the Northwest and then a brief stint at the Las Vegas EnduroCross guided our tire selection to the new Maxxcross IT rear and Maxxcross SX front.


Troy Lee Designs Gear Review
Troy Lee Designs Gear Review

Friday, December 21, 2007

MotoUSA tester Alvin Zalamea got hooked up with a sweet set of Troy Lee Designs gear for the RM-Z250 intro and now dishes the dirt on his new duds.


DeCal Works Graphic Application System
DeCal Works Graphic Application System

Friday, December 14, 2007

Every dirt bike winds up looking like crap. DeCal Works sent out a sample of their Graphic Application System to help spruce up one of our steeds quick and easy.


DRD SA Exhaust Review
DRD SA Exhaust Review

Friday, December 7, 2007

Our 2007 Honda CRF450X Project Bike needed some updates, Dr. sent us the SA Exhaust.


Motor Guard MX Review
Motor Guard MX Review

Friday, September 7, 2007

Everybody has a different idea of how much water can get into the airbox while washing. Mile High Designs settles the dispute with a simple piece of hardware.


PODMX Knee Braces Review
PODMX Knee Braces Review

Friday, August 31, 2007

None of us are getting any younger, and as the bumps, bruises and debilitating injuries common to our sport continue to rack up, the need for greater protection accumulates as well.


Oxtar TCX-Pro Boots Review
Oxtar TCX-Pro Boots Review

Friday, August 24, 2007

We figured that since guys like Kevin Windham and Cyril Despres buckle up a set of Oxtar TCX-Pro boots, it couldn’t hurt if we did as well.


Team Hawg Racing MX Scissor Stand
Team Hawg Racing MX Scissor Stand

Saturday, August 18, 2007

Everyone who owns a bike has found themselves hunched over a ravaged machine, stooped to all-time lows in the workshop. The Team Hawg Racing Trackside Pro takes care of that.


Sidi Crossfire SR Review
Sidi Crossfire SR Review

Friday, August 3, 2007

At the top of the high-dollar motocross boot spectrum is Sidi with its immensely popular Crossfire SR model. The $425 pricetag is quite the kicker and the worth every cent.


Shift XC Jacket & Profile Chest Protector

Friday, July 20, 2007

Shift XC Jacket and Profile Chest Protector to help ease the pain of pelting roost and stinging trailside brush.


dB Dawg
dB Dawg

Friday, July 6, 2007

Ignition Products offers off-roaders a quick, easy way to manage their noise output without breaking the bank.


Spy Alloy Goggle Review
Spy Alloy Goggle Review

Friday, June 29, 2007

Spy dropped off a pair of its mid-line goggles, the Alloy. Not only did they spice up our look, but the protection and fit were just what we needed.


EVS Web Knee Brace
EVS Web Knee Brace

Friday, June 22, 2007

Where once there was a healthy, robust knee now lies a crumpled joint in disarray. That was all before we picked up a set of EVS Web Braces to hold everything together.


Shift Strike Gear Review
Shift Strike Gear Review

Friday, June 8, 2007

As the summer continues to build steam, we choose to let it off our shoulders in classic Jeff Emig style – with Shift Racing.


Trooper & Kombat Helmets
Trooper & Kombat Helmets

Friday, May 25, 2007

In our ongoing attempts at ultimate coolness, we noted the sweet-looking One Industries helmets and soon had the top-shelf Trooper lid and price-point Kombat in the mail.


Game Review PS3’s MotorStorm
Game Review PS3’s MotorStorm

Friday, May 18, 2007

For our Payday Product Review, Sony sent us to the brutal badlands of Monument Valley where we experienced the thrill that is MotorStorm. Rally racing will never be the same.


Fly 208 Evolution Gear
Fly 208 Evolution Gear

Friday, May 11, 2007

None of us got any faster as a direct result of wearing the Evolution gear, but we both looked the part..


Fly 805 Gear Review
Fly 805 Gear Review

Friday, May 11, 2007

We didn’t want to shirk on quality, so Fly Racing 805 lineup which offers top-notch features we appreciated in our test of the 208 Evolution gear.


Fly Racing Deflectors Review
Fly Racing Deflectors Review

Friday, April 27, 2007

We get some protection for our fragile, effeminate bodies with Fly’s latest batch of chest protectors – the Air Strike and Convertible Deflectors.


Moose XCR Racewear Review
Moose XCR Racewear Review

Friday, April 6, 2007

We had everything except the hard protection from the off-road heavy-hitters, and the only real problem we have is trying to get out more often and enjoy our orange ensemble.


Scott Genius Boot Review
Scott Genius Boot Review

Friday, March 9, 2007

Scott has re-entered the boot market with a brand-new concept on protective footwear. The resulting product is Genius. No, really, they call it the Genius Boot.


O’Neal Hardwear Gear Review
O’Neal Hardwear Gear Review

Friday, February 23, 2007

After watching a rejuvenated Tim Ferry smoke the US Open track in a wicked set of 2007 O’Neal Hardwear gear we had to get a set of our own. For months we beat these duds like a red-headed stepchild.


Scott No Sweat Xi Goggles Review
Scott No Sweat Xi Goggles Review

Friday, January 26, 2007

After a rock punched a hole through JC’s first set of No Sweat Goggles, Scott USA’s reps were kind enough to hook him up with the latest No Sweat Xi Goggles.


Works Connection Skid Plate Review
Works Connection Skid Plate Review

Friday, January 5, 2007

If nothing else, four years of college taught me one very important lesson – always, I mean always, use protection.


O’Neal 907 Helmet Review
O’Neal 907 Helmet Review

Friday, December 29, 2006

Our dirt rider/writer, JC Hilderbrand, travelled all the way to Costa Rica with the O’Neal 907 Helmet in his gearbag. So, what did he think about it?


Dust To Glory DVD Review
Dust To Glory DVD Review

Thursday, November 16, 2006

As the Baja 1000 gets underway this week, what better time to shine a light on one of the greatest racing films of all time – Dust To Glory.


O’Neal Element Gear Review
O’Neal Element Gear Review

Friday, November 10, 2006

Considering the price of top-level gear, fully restocking your gear bag can be one hell of a challenge financially. We recently put some budget-minded gear to the test in the form of O’Neal’s 2007 Element pant and jersey.


Z1R Rail Fuel Helmet Review
Z1R Rail Fuel Helmet Review

Friday, October 20, 2006

The Rail Fuel is one of four different models of off-road head protection from Z1R. We put it through all the special situations you’ll find while playing in the dirt.


Leo Vince Full-System X3 Exhaust Review
Leo Vince Full-System X3 Exhaust Review

Wednesday, October 4, 2006

We had nearly gone mad with anticipation by the time this full-system X3 exhaust arrived from Italy. Our temporary insanity was only heightened when we tore open the box and laid eyes on this work of art.


Moose Sahara Pant/M1 Jersey Review
Moose Sahara Pant/M1 Jersey Review

Friday, September 29, 2006

Our latest set of Moose racewear was mismatched in the model names but mated perfectly to the riding conditions we’ve experienced as summer turns to fall.


Monarch Pass Jacket & Pants Review
Monarch Pass Jacket & Pants Review

Monday, September 25, 2006

Both the Monarch Pass pant and jacket are durable outerwear designed to protect the rider from the harsh elements, particularly rain and cold.


A-Stars Tech 10 Boots Review
A-Stars Tech 10 Boots Review

Friday, August 25, 2006

Take a look at the starting line of any pro Motocross or Supercross event, and it’s readily apparent how popular the Alpinestars Tech 10 boots have become.


Acerbis Race Pack Review
Acerbis Race Pack Review

Thursday, July 20, 2006

Tired of being stuck on the trail without that crucial tool? Check out the Race Pack from Acerbis and make sure minor mechanicals never ruin another ride.


Scorpion VX-17 Helmet Review
Scorpion VX-17 Helmet Review

Wednesday, May 31, 2006

Manufacturers like have been figuring out how to break the rules by making good helmets that weigh less than their price tags.


TSS Custom Graphics Review
TSS Custom Graphics Review

Wednesday, April 26, 2006

There comes a time in every bike’s life when stock graphics become faded and chipped, the plastic scratched and the overall sex appeal bottoms out somewhere near the Rosie O’Donnell level.


TSS Graphics Ordering
TSS Graphics Ordering

Wednesday, April 26, 2006

A follow up to the TSS Custom Graphics review and our opinion on the ordering process.


Trail Tech Helmet Lights Review
Trail Tech Helmet Lights Review

Thursday, February 23, 2006

If you had to lose one of your five senses, which would it be? We don’t know for sure which we’d choose, but we do know that it wouldn’t be sight.


Alloy All Terrain Jacket Review
Alloy All Terrain Jacket Review

Tuesday, January 17, 2006

Your riding gear can be the most important factor in determining a good ride from a bad, or even if you go riding at all.


ASV F3 Series Levers Review
ASV F3 Series Levers Review

Wednesday, December 28, 2005

All of these products are universal and will fit most bikes. To top everything off, the F3 Series levers come with a 3-year guarantee against breakage.


Maxxis IT-Desert Tires Review
Maxxis IT-Desert Tires Review

Friday, December 16, 2005

Not only are we appreciative of Maxxis’ support, but they’ve made believers out of us as to the quality of their products


Scott No Sweat IV Goggle Review
Scott No Sweat IV Goggle Review

Tuesday, October 25, 2005

We tested the No Sweat IVs in the Nevada heat. Well, it wasn’t very hot, but there were some big rocks…


CamelBak Hydration Systems
CamelBak Hydration Systems

Thursday, September 29, 2005

With our upcoming desert races in Nevada and Baja, Mexico we hooked up with CamelBak to avoid suffering a miserable, thirsty death.


O’Neal’s 2005 Hardwear Jersey Review

Tuesday, September 27, 2005

O’Neal’s 2005 Hardwear jersey combines great styling and a handful of performance-enhancing features to give racers and casual riders alike a sleek, comfortable addition to their riding gear.


OtterBox PDA/GPS Protection Review
OtterBox PDA/GPS Protection Review

Tuesday, August 30, 2005

OtterBox expands its line of indestructible products to cover your navigational assistants on the road.


Supermoto DVD Review
Supermoto DVD Review

Wednesday, December 22, 2004

Looking for a way to satisfy that need for supermoto speed? Supermoto in the USA does an adequate job.


Pirelli MT450 Tires Review
Pirelli MT450 Tires Review

Wednesday, October 13, 2004

Looking for a tire that can increase traction and hold up to the rigors of hardpack? Look no further than the Pirelli MT450.


Fox 360 Gear Review
Fox 360 Gear Review

Friday, June 25, 2004

Fox may have some of the best gear in motocross, but how do the Fox 360° pants and SFX jersey combo handle the rumble and tumble riding styles of the unsponsored?


Alloy SX1 Gear Review
Alloy SX1 Gear Review

Thursday, June 17, 2004

We recently put some of Alloy’s ’04 gear to the test to see how it holds up to the different riding environments of Southern Oregon.


No Fear Optimal Helmet Review
No Fear Optimal Helmet Review

Thursday, May 6, 2004

So you’re not a brain surgeon? Doesn’t matter, you still need to protect your brain so you can solve the puzzles underneath the beer caps.


Steahly Flywheel Weights Review
Steahly Flywheel Weights Review

Monday, April 19, 2004

The 2004 CRF450R hits hard on the bottom, maybe a little too hard? Steahly Off Road flywheel weights might be the answer.


No Fear Attack Gear Review
No Fear Attack Gear Review

Thursday, April 15, 2004

No Fear’s new and innovative design makes the Attack Pant and Jersey combo stand out in a crowd.


Sportz Tailgate Tent II Review
Sportz Tailgate Tent II Review

Monday, April 12, 2004

Seeking shelter from wind, rain and the cold, hard ground? Look no further than Sportz’ innovative Truck Tent II.


Bed Buddy Review
Bed Buddy Review

Saturday, April 3, 2004

The Bed Buddy Pro LT by CCR Sport is the latest in motorcycle transportation technology. This simple little piece of steel is worth its weight in gold.


MX Unleashed Video Game Review
MX Unleashed Video Game Review

Wednesday, February 18, 2004

THQ has finally brought consumers the MX game they have been asking for since the beginning-bikes that behave like real bikes.


Fox Forma Pro Boots Review
Fox Forma Pro Boots Review

Tuesday, January 6, 2004

After 18 months of rigorous on-track testing, Fox has emerged with what is being touted as the greatest MX boot ever, the Forma Pro/Forma Pro Stewart.


Fly 805 Boots Review
Fly 805 Boots Review

Thursday, November 6, 2003

Looking for an inexpensive boot that exudes quality? Look no further than the Fly 805 boot.


Tech 8 Boots Review
Tech 8 Boots Review

Tuesday, October 28, 2003

You can’t swing a dead cat in a motocross paddock without hitting a pair of Alpinestars Tech 8 boots. We test them and find out why.


Pirelli MT32 Tires Review
Pirelli MT32 Tires Review

Friday, October 17, 2003

Traction, durability and price are usually the most important factors when shopping for an off-road tire.


Core 5 Gear Review
Core 5 Gear Review

Monday, July 14, 2003

There are a few brands that consistently put out quality gear and one of those is Thor Motocross Gear.


FMF SST Exhaust Review
FMF SST Exhaust Review

Monday, April 14, 2003

It’s no secret that stock exhaust systems are usually a compromise between performance, durability, and sound levels.


Team 2 Boots Review
Team 2 Boots Review

Tuesday, April 8, 2003

Looking for a pair of boots that protect but won’t break the bank? Enter the Answer Team 2 Boot.


ASV Levers Review
ASV Levers Review

Tuesday, February 11, 2003

Looking for a truly unique way to save money and make your bike even more trick? ASV Inventions has the answer.


MX 2002 Featuring Ricky Carmichael Review
MX 2002 Featuring Ricky Carmichael Review

Friday, January 11, 2002

MX 2002 has landed on our desk and we can’t say no to a challange so we dive right in to see what THQ’s motocross video game has to offer. Must be good to have the GOAT himself, Ricky Carmichael, on the cover. Read our impressions in our MX 2002 Review.


EA Sports Supercross 2001 Video Game Review
EA Sports Supercross 2001 Video Game Review

Friday, December 15, 2000

EA Sports heard our cries for improvements, and answered them with a revised SX title for the Playstation console. Does EA resolve all the issues of the previous Supercross title? Read our full EA Sports Supercross 2001 Playstation Video game review for details.