Motorcycle Helmet Reviews

MotoUSA delivers the latest in-depth motorcycle helmet reviews & product peeks.

Featured Motorcycle Helmet Reviews

Airoh Aviator 2.1 Carbon Quick Review
Airoh Aviator 2.1 Carbon Quick Review

Monday, March 17, 2014

The Airoh Aviator 2.1 Carbon Helmet is a premium-spec, feather-light off-road helmet new to the American market.


Bell Star Carbon Race Day Helmet Review
Bell Star Carbon Race Day Helmet Review

Friday, September 20, 2013

We’ve ridden to Sturgis and tested many motorcycles in the last few months, all while wearing a Bell Star Carbon Helmet. Here’s our review of Bell’s top-shelf motorcycle helmet.


Bell Rogue Helmet Review
Bell Rogue Helmet Review

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Not a half-shell nor a full-face, Bell’s category-defying Rogue Helmet created quite the stir when it launched. We review Bell’s latest cruiser motorcycle helmet.


Vemar VRX9 Off-Road Helmet Review
Vemar VRX9 Off-Road Helmet Review

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Vemar’s latest off-road helmet is the VRX9. Read on to see how the high-end helmet performed.


Roof Boxer V8 Helmet Review
Roof Boxer V8 Helmet Review

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

A guest editor contributes this review of a new name and helmet concept to most American riders, offering up an evaluation of the unconventional Roof Boxer V8 modular helmet.


Klim F4 Helmet Review
Klim F4 Helmet Review

Thursday, July 19, 2012

MotoUSA reviews the redesigned Klim F4 Helmet. Read on to see what we thought of this premium off-road lid.


Arai RX-7 GP Corsair Helmet Review
Arai RX-7 GP Corsair Helmet Review

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Our man Melling reviews the only lid that cradles his precious grey matter, the high-end top-line motorcycle helmet worn by a host of MotoGP and World SBK riders – the Arai RX-7 GP.


Icon Women’s Street Angel Helmet Review
Icon Women’s Street Angel Helmet Review

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Motorcycle USA puts Icon’s Women’s Airframe Street Angel Helmet to the test to see if this ladies full-face helmet performs as good as it looks.


Scorpion VX-34 Helmet Review
Scorpion VX-34 Helmet Review

Friday, October 21, 2011

We ride with the Scorpion VX-34 dirt bike helmet to see how the new off-road lid performs.


Bell Custom 500 Skratch Deluxe Helmet Review
Bell Custom 500 Skratch Deluxe Helmet Review

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Bell enlisted the services of hot rod enthusiast and pinstriper extraordinaire, Skratch, to help out on the design of its cool three-quarters motorcycle helmet, the Bell Custom 500 Skratch Deluxe LE.


AGV AX-8 Dual Helmet Review
AGV AX-8 Dual Helmet Review

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

We ride with the new AGV AX-8 Dual helmet. This hybrid street bike helmet/dirt bike helmet offers something for everyone. Hear our testing thoughts in this product review.


Bell Moto-9 Stunt Helmet Review
Bell Moto-9 Stunt Helmet Review

Thursday, June 30, 2011

We’ve spent a couple months inside the new Bell Moto-9 helmet on dirt bikes, ATVs, side-by-sides and even adventure touring motorcycles. See what life is like with Bell’s newest dirt bike helmet.


Icon Alliance Redeemer Helmet Review
Icon Alliance Redeemer Helmet Review

Thursday, May 26, 2011

The Icon Alliance Redeemer Helmet has been protecting our head for the last few months, providing us ample time to review the merits of this full-face motorcycle helmet.


AGV Diesel Mowie Helmet Review
AGV Diesel Mowie Helmet Review

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

MotoUSA put the Diesel-designed AGV Mowie Helmet through its paces over the last few weeks while pounding out miles on scooters. Read on find out what we thought of this funky scooter lid.


Bell RS-1 Helmet Review
Bell RS-1 Helmet Review

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Bell Helmet’s RS-1 Helmet is the newest addition to the lineup for the historic helmet company. Read more about this mid-priced helmet in this Bell RS-1 Helmet Review.


Shoei Qwest Helmet Review
Shoei Qwest Helmet Review

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

The Shoei Qwest helmet is quiet, comfortable and perhaps the best value in the premium Shoei helmet line. Read more in this Shoei Qwest Helmet review.


Scott Airborne Grid Helmet Review
Scott Airborne Grid Helmet Review

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

We put the new Scott Airborne Grid helmet to use with motocross and off-road testing and even hit the deck in this dirt bike helmet review.


Shift Agent Double Bypass Helmet Review
Shift Agent Double Bypass Helmet Review

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Shift Racing offers the most delicious and affordable dirt bike protection with the Agent Double Bypass helmet.


Arai RX7 GP Helmet Review
Arai RX7 GP Helmet Review

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Arai has raised the safety bar with the all new RX7 GP helmet, which offers extreme comfort and a 40% stronger construction than conventional glass fiber models.


Bell Vortex Striker Helmet Review
Bell Vortex Striker Helmet Review

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Can the Bell Vortex deliver quality performance at a palatable price point? Find out in our Bell Vortex Striker Helmet review.


Bell Custom 500 Helmet Review
Bell Custom 500 Helmet Review

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

The retro look is in style, only sometimes we have to sacrifice comfort and protection to get it. Not with the Bell Custom 500. We have a look at the latest retro-themed lid from the originators.


2010 Scorpion EXO VX-24 AMPT Helmet Review
2010 Scorpion EXO VX-24 AMPT Helmet Review

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Scorpion introduces AirFit technology into this dirt bike helmet. The 2010 EXO VX-24 offers affordable motorcycle protection with some unique features for dirt bike riders.


Vemar VFX7 Helmet Review
Vemar VFX7 Helmet Review

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Vemar dirt bike helmets are gaining popularity in America. Our desert tester samples the high-end VFX7 off-road helmet.


Icon Variant Etched Helmet Review
Icon Variant Etched Helmet Review

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

MotoUSA tests Icon’s latest motorcycle lid, the Icon Variant Etched Helmet, with its large visor and sheild.


H-D 3/4 Helmet with Sun Shield Review
H-D 3/4 Helmet with Sun Shield Review

Friday, December 18, 2009

We sample the Harley-Davidson 3/4 Helmet with a retractable Sun Shield – no need for two faceshields on this motorcycle helmet.


Shoei RF-1100 Helmet Review
Shoei RF-1100 Helmet Review

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Sporting a redesigned shell and new M2010 Snell standard, the Shoei RF-1100 helmet builds off the success of its predecessor with sterling comfort and premium performance.


Shoei X-Twelve Helmet Review
Shoei X-Twelve Helmet Review

Friday, December 4, 2009

MotoUSA puts Shoei’s all-new X-Twelve helmet to the test. Can it be better than the already awesome X-Eleven? We find out…


Vemar VSRE Diadem Helmet Review
Vemar VSRE Diadem Helmet Review

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Italian motorcycle helmet manufacturer Vemar sent us one of its Diadem lids to review, just in time for a recent sport-touring trip up the Oregon coast.


2010 Thor Force Composite Helmet Review
2010 Thor Force Composite Helmet Review

Friday, October 16, 2009

We test the new 2010 Thor Force Composite Helmet and find the good and bad traits of this mid-price dirt bike helmet.


Bell Drifter RSD Skulls Helmet Review
Bell Drifter RSD Skulls Helmet Review

Thursday, July 30, 2009

Bell Powersports got custom builder Roland Sands to to design a couple of motorcycle helmets, including the Drifter RSD Skulls half-shell.


HJC AC-X3 Titan MC-5 Helmet Review
HJC AC-X3 Titan MC-5 Helmet Review

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Carbon fiber is being used more and more in dirt bike helmets. We grabbed the one which might have the most, the HJC AC-XC Titan MC-5 helmet and wore it through the winter months.


Icon Airframe Death or Glory Helmet Review
Icon Airframe Death or Glory Helmet Review

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

We got first crack at Icon’s Airframe Death or Glory Helmet and have put the new lid through the paces riding Victorys in New Orleans, Harleys in Daytona, and Vulcans in San Francisco.


Shoei Multitec Modular Helmet Review
Shoei Multitec Modular Helmet Review

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Motorcycle USA tests the convenience of the flip-up motorcycle helmet when it reviews the Shoei Multitec Modular Helmet.


Icon Airframe Motorcycle Helmet Review
Icon Airframe Motorcycle Helmet Review

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

When it comes to motorcycle gear, you never skimp on the helmet. Check out Motorcycle USA’s review of the Icon Airframe Helmet.


Shoei VFX-W Off-Road Helmet Review
Shoei VFX-W Off-Road Helmet Review

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Shoei releases its all-new VFX-W off-road motorcycle helmet. Follow along as MotoUSA gives it a test.


Product Review H-D Carbon Kevlar Half Helmet
Product Review H-D Carbon Kevlar Half Helmet

Friday, November 28, 2008

Harley-Davidson set us up with one of the lightest motorcycle helmets we’ve encountered, the 1.75-lb Carbon Kevlar Half Helmet.


Joe Rocket Science Helmet Review
Joe Rocket Science Helmet Review

Friday, June 20, 2008

With an aggressive, aerodyamic design and insane graphics, the Joe Rocket Rocket Science Helmet has seen its share of action over six months of testing.


Shoei Hornet DS Helmet Review
Shoei Hornet DS Helmet Review

Monday, March 24, 2008

Shoei’s new dual-sport motorcycle helmet has a ton of features to satisfy on/off-road riders whether they prefer street or dirt for their biggest grins.


O’Neal 907 Helmet Review
O’Neal 907 Helmet Review

Friday, December 29, 2006

Our dirt rider/writer, JC Hilderbrand, travelled all the way to Costa Rica with the O’Neal 907 Helmet in his gearbag. So, what did he think about it?


Z1R Rail Fuel Helmet Review
Z1R Rail Fuel Helmet Review

Friday, October 20, 2006

The Rail Fuel is one of four different models of off-road head protection from Z1R. We put it through all the special situations you’ll find while playing in the dirt.


Icon Mainframe Hooligan Helmet Review
Icon Mainframe Hooligan Helmet Review

Tuesday, July 18, 2006

Ken sounds off after wearing his Icon Mainframe Hooligan helmet during much of our 2006 season of bike tests.


Scorpion VX-17 Helmet Review
Scorpion VX-17 Helmet Review

Wednesday, May 31, 2006

Manufacturers like have been figuring out how to break the rules by making good helmets that weigh less than their price tags.


Trail Tech Helmet Lights Review
Trail Tech Helmet Lights Review

Thursday, February 23, 2006

If you had to lose one of your five senses, which would it be? We don’t know for sure which we’d choose, but we do know that it wouldn’t be sight.


Scorpion EXO-700 Raider Helmet Review
Scorpion EXO-700 Raider Helmet Review

Friday, December 9, 2005

Can a $200 helmet satisfy those who are accustomed to high-end lids? Three testers give their impressions.


Shoei X-11 Helmet Review
Shoei X-11 Helmet Review

Friday, August 12, 2005

MCUSA President and self-proclaimed “Arai guy”, Don Becklin, was reluctant to make the switch over to Shoei helmets, but the X-11 made the transition smooth.


Shoei RF-1000 Helmet Review
Shoei RF-1000 Helmet Review

Friday, October 1, 2004

Shoei has been protecting the brains of motorcycle riders for 40 years and their latest lids combine that experience with the latest in state-of-the-art helmet building technology to bring us the RF-1000.


Icon Alliance Helmet Review
Icon Alliance Helmet Review

Thursday, September 23, 2004

Cheap is good for the wallet, but is cheap good for the head? We rate one of Icon’s inexpensive skid lids to find out.


No Fear Optimal Helmet Review
No Fear Optimal Helmet Review

Thursday, May 6, 2004

So you’re not a brain surgeon? Doesn’t matter, you still need to protect your brain so you can solve the puzzles underneath the beer caps.


Suomy Gunwind Helmet Review
Suomy Gunwind Helmet Review

Monday, September 9, 2002

Upon first impression, the Italian helmet looks great and its paint finish and quality of materials is superb.