Sportbike Gear Reviews

Read sportbike gear reviews at Motorcycle USA for objective evaluations of the latest sportbike gear and accessories. From sportbike helmets and track tires to riding jackets and sportbike boots and gloves.

Featured Sportbike Reviews

Z2 Track Days Novice School
Bell Custom-Fit Star Carbon Helmet Review

Friday, August 28, 2015

Bell’s Star Carbon helmet is already top-of-the-line, but becomes even more attractive when it’s custom-fit. Check out our review of the personalized lid here.


16-alpinestars-supertech-r
2016 Alpinestars Technical Motorcycle Road Gear Collection

Monday, August 24, 2015

A dominant force in the world of motorcycle protection, comfort, and of course, style, Alpinestars shows off its latest technical riding gear for the 2016 season.


RX-7X_HAYDEN_B-a
Arai Corsair-X Helmet First Look

Monday, August 10, 2015

Arai gets back to business introducing an all-new road racing motorcycle helmet with its Corsair-X.


“The Ragged Edge” EBR Documentary Review
“The Ragged Edge” EBR Documentary Review

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

“The Ragged Edge” is a documentary that focuses on the demise of Buell Motorcycles and the rise of EBR, offering insight into the obstacles Erik Buell and his employees faced during the recession.


Metzeler Sportec M7 RR Tire Review
Metzeler Sportec M7 RR Tire Review

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Replacing the Sportec M5 Interact, the new Metzeler Sportec M7 RR is designed to handle a variety of conditions. Rains in Southern Spain gave us the chance to put the new rubber to the test in the wet.


MotoUSA 2015 Sport Motorcycle Tire Shootout
2015 Sport Motorcycle Tire Shootout

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

MotoUSA puts 11 sets of the leading sport motorcycle tires to the test during a two-day evaluation at The Fastest Road in the West, Willow Springs Raceway.


Arai Defiant Chopper Helmet/Pro Shade Review
Arai Defiant Chopper Helmet/Pro Shade Review

Thursday, September 4, 2014

After wearing it during the summer riding season, we post our findings on the Arai Defiant Chopper Helmet along with the company’s Pro Shade System in this motorcycle helmet review.


Bell Star Carbon Race Day Helmet Review
Bell Star Carbon Race Day Helmet Review

Friday, September 20, 2013

We’ve ridden to Sturgis and tested many motorcycles in the last few months, all while wearing a Bell Star Carbon Helmet. Here’s our review of Bell’s top-shelf motorcycle helmet.


Arai RX-7 GP Corsair Helmet Review
Arai RX-7 GP Corsair Helmet Review

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Our man Melling reviews the only lid that cradles his precious grey matter, the high-end top-line motorcycle helmet worn by a host of MotoGP and World SBK riders – the Arai RX-7 GP.


Back01
Joe Rocket Speedmaster Back Protector Review

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Joe Rocket brings the back protector to the people with their Speedmaster, an affordable, comfortable, long lasting piece of rider safety gear.


Dunlop Sportmax D211 GP-A Race Tire Review
Dunlop Sportmax D211 GP-A Race Tire Review

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Find out how Dunlop’s AMA-spec D211 GP-A road race tires perform in our annual middleweight sportbike shootout.


Alpinestars GPX Glove Review
Alpinestars GPX Glove Review

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

For the last few weeks we have been putting miles on a pair of Alpinestars GPX Gloves. Read on to see what we think about these short-cuffed sportbike gloves.


MotoGP 10/11 Video Game Review
MotoGP 10/11 Video Game Review

Friday, May 27, 2011

Motorcycle USA sits down with the latest MotoGP game to hit our desk, MotoGP 10/11 for Playstation 3. So get those leathers on and get ready to ride in our MotoGP 10/11 video game review.


2010 Street Motorcycle Tire Comparison
2010 Street Motorcycle Tire Comparison

Monday, November 1, 2010

We review 10 different performance oriented motorcycle tires for your street or sportbike. Find out which tire comes out on top in this motorcycle tire shootout comparison test.


Arai RX7 GP Helmet Review
Arai RX7 GP Helmet Review

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Arai has raised the safety bar with the all new RX7 GP helmet, which offers extreme comfort and a 40% stronger construction than conventional glass fiber models.


Bell Vortex Striker Helmet Review
Bell Vortex Striker Helmet Review

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Can the Bell Vortex deliver quality performance at a palatable price point? Find out in our Bell Vortex Striker Helmet review.


Shoei RF-1100 Helmet Review
Shoei RF-1100 Helmet Review

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Sporting a redesigned shell and new M2010 Snell standard, the Shoei RF-1100 helmet builds off the success of its predecessor with sterling comfort and premium performance.


Shoei X-Twelve Helmet Review
Shoei X-Twelve Helmet Review

Friday, December 4, 2009

MotoUSA puts Shoei’s all-new X-Twelve helmet to the test. Can it be better than the already awesome X-Eleven? We find out…


Vemar VSRE Diadem Helmet Review
Vemar VSRE Diadem Helmet Review

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Italian motorcycle helmet manufacturer Vemar sent us one of its Diadem lids to review, just in time for a recent sport-touring trip up the Oregon coast.


2009 DOT Race Motorcycle Tire Shootout
2009 DOT Race Motorcycle Tire Shootout

Monday, November 2, 2009

Motorcycle USA puts the latest and greatest DOT race rubber to the test to see who makes the best sticky tires these days in our 2009 DOT Race Motorcycle Tire Shootout.


Icon Airframe Motorcycle Helmet Review
Icon Airframe Motorcycle Helmet Review

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

When it comes to motorcycle gear, you never skimp on the helmet. Check out Motorcycle USA’s review of the Icon Airframe Helmet.


Joe Rocket Science Helmet Review
Joe Rocket Science Helmet Review

Friday, June 20, 2008

With an aggressive, aerodyamic design and insane graphics, the Joe Rocket Rocket Science Helmet has seen its share of action over six months of testing.


Icon Mainframe Hooligan Helmet Review
Icon Mainframe Hooligan Helmet Review

Tuesday, July 18, 2006

Ken sounds off after wearing his Icon Mainframe Hooligan helmet during much of our 2006 season of bike tests.


Scorpion EXO-700 Raider Helmet Review
Scorpion EXO-700 Raider Helmet Review

Friday, December 9, 2005

Can a $200 helmet satisfy those who are accustomed to high-end lids? Three testers give their impressions.


Shoei X-11 Helmet Review
Shoei X-11 Helmet Review

Friday, August 12, 2005

MCUSA President and self-proclaimed “Arai guy”, Don Becklin, was reluctant to make the switch over to Shoei helmets, but the X-11 made the transition smooth.


Shoei RF-1000 Helmet Review
Shoei RF-1000 Helmet Review

Friday, October 1, 2004

Shoei has been protecting the brains of motorcycle riders for 40 years and their latest lids combine that experience with the latest in state-of-the-art helmet building technology to bring us the RF-1000.


Icon Alliance Helmet Review
Icon Alliance Helmet Review

Thursday, September 23, 2004

Cheap is good for the wallet, but is cheap good for the head? We rate one of Icon’s inexpensive skid lids to find out.


Fly Sportbike Stand Review
Fly Sportbike Stand Review

Monday, October 27, 2003

The Fly Sport Bike Stand is an amalgamation of craftsmanship and lightweight durability.


Suomy Gunwind Helmet Review
Suomy Gunwind Helmet Review

Monday, September 9, 2002

Upon first impression, the Italian helmet looks great and its paint finish and quality of materials is superb.